We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Price for best quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gabriel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gabriel Paris
Ranked #264 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Price for best quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Hi,

I was looking for budget price hotel in Paris and come across this on tripadviser and to be honest, this was one of nicest stay in paris for me. Very warm reception, good size room and bathroom and very cleaned and professional, Only thing hard was me for food as being pure vegetarian it bug me little but nice staff at hotel guide me to pure veg indian restaurant and was very please wit it.

Over all 9 out of 10 for me in price I paid. Hope this may help someone.

Room Tip: Best in price but do not expect honeymoon suit..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krunal039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel G, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Our team appreciates you taking the time to share your Parisian stay.
We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and continental breakfast.

Thank you very much for your warning regarding the prices of the taxi.
Although we have no control over this, it is important for us to be able to offer our guests the best Gabriel experience, without any bad surprises !

We certainly hope this did not impair yours and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Your sincerely,

Lise Bonhomme
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    268
    68
    21
    11
See reviews for
56
388
70
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Have just come back from 3 nights here, we loved the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the décor is stylish and the whole place is clean and there is a lovely smell of their own candles throughout. The hotel breakfast is a great added bonus for Paris, there is plenty to choose from and its available 7 till 11 so you can get up early for sightseeing or have a lazy brunch. The cheapest rooms are small (as are all Paris hotel rooms) but they don't feel small, they are designed in a clever way which gives you two wardrobes, a hidden fridge and TV. The rain shower is lovely after a hard day sightseeing.The hotel is only 4 direct stops from Gare de Nord, about 10 mins away. There are two metro stations within 4 minuets walk. The neighbourhood feels safe and there are lots of cafes and bars local but the heart of The Marais is a short walk away and full off life. Most sights are within walking distance but to be honest we walked to everything from the hotel. Paris as a whole feels safe but be aware of pickpockets, we saw this happening in a metro station near Montmartre, also be aware of the street tricksters and people trying to tie bracelets round your wrist in this area, they will then charge you to keep it. Overall i would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceysangster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel G, Directeur général at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to describe your Parisian stay and for your lovely comments regarding the location, the design and the rooms of the Hotel Gabriel Paris.

We always do our utmost to make our guests’ stay as memorable as possible, and we are always eager to improve our quality of service.
Also, our team thanks you for warning our future guest about the street tricksters down the Sacré Coeur.

We send you our best wishes and truly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back next year !

Yours sincerely,
Géraldine Thouvay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here end of November for 2 nights. We opted for the Glowing room on the 5th floor. I did a lot of research prior to this trip, this was the first time we were alone without the kids since our honeymoon so wanted it perfect.
I can pleasantly say it lived up to our expectations, was a lovely hotel, small and unique, elegantly furnished, quite individual, exactly what we were looking for.
The location was quite central, Republique metro station is just a few minutes walk, and Gard de Nord station only 4 stops away.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful. There is no restaurant but there are places to eat closeby. There is an option of breakfast in the room, i'd advise to not go for this as the selection supplied was very minimal. The next day we had breakfast downstairs, much better.

The beds are very comfortable, and you can see the thought gone into the room design, the LED lighting, coves, shelves etc.

Highly recommend for couples.

P Saleem

Room Tip: rooms facing the front of the hotel are nicer i thought, we had a balcony which added to the experia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel G, Directeur général at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

All our team really appreciates your lovely reviews about your romantic Parisian stay.

It was such a pleasure to host you and to read that the Hotel Gabriel Paris has met your expectations.

We sincerely wish to have the pleasure of welcoming you for another Gabriel's experience.

Best wishes !
Yours sincerely
Géraldine Thouvay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed here with partner for his first trip to Paris - he loved it! Great hotel based in the northeast part of the Marais and very easy access to Metro. All rooms in Paris are small but the design makes this feel larger than normal, with plenty of storage space and a very comfortable bed. Only downside is the shower door is poorly design and you do end up soaking the bathroom floor every time you have a shower, effectively turning the bathroom into a wet room.

We wanted to stay away from the main tourist area, but ended up walking from the hotel and were given great directions by the front desk. We didn't eat in the area as were seeing friends but was a busy area and would have been easy to find somewhere to eat. Walking down to the market on Sunday morning was a breeze, as was walking north along the canal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah3142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel G, Directeur général at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your Gabriel's experience.

We have taken good notes of your comments regarding the bathroom and the necessary adjustements are being taken.

Our team hopes that you had a nice trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you for another occasion.

Best wishes !
Yours sincerely,
Géraldine Thouvay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The good things:

- Excellent location.
It is, indeed, in the Marais, albeit the northeast corner. Super convenient immediate proximity of two metro stops, great little bistros and shops away from the tat of the main avenues & square (such as the highly recommended La Pharmacie, two doors down from the hotel, perfect dinner or lunch on hearty bistro fare in lovely old pharmacy; or the new-ish, gorgeous and seriously foodie Chez Moustache, about a 5min walk southwest of the hotel).

- Lovely design, well maintained, quiet and super-comfy.
Modern, white and bright, but not cold or dysfunctional, great little touches everywhere, great lighting, super-comfy beds & nice bedding, masses of hot water in beautiful shower/bath. Room very quiet, on 6th floor, with large windows looking onto Parisian roofscape - lovely.

- Simple but lovely breakfast in cute little lobby, with GREAT breads and croissants, butter, jams and small cheese/ham selection, but, crucially, with own egg boiler (perfect!) and make your own coffee Nespresso machine (bliss!!) Though the two people serving/assisting with breakfast need to be told not to bang and clang with such fretful passion when they go on about their business - it was like eating on a construction site!

The not-so-good things:

- Rooms are TINY TINY TINY, with hardly any storage.
Yes, this is Paris, all rooms are small, but we stayed at the supposedly biggest/best room (the Glowing series) and we still could not keep even one small suitcase open while walking around in the room (let alone two...), could not hang all our clothes in minuscule and very short (forget hanging a mid-length dress...) and had even less space for non-hanging clothing (no drawers, just couple of tiny shelves in wardrobe), or shoes. Just about OK for a weekend, and ideally in the summer (fewer garments).

The entire hotel is tiny - eg. lift can only fit one person with suitcase, or two people no luggage, and is incredibly slow, a real nightmare to try and catch when cleaners are working in the morning - but this would have matter less if the rooms where not so squashed. I don't dare imagine what the 'standard' sized rooms are like!

- Bathroom functionality:
Exactly zero space for washbag/cosmetic storage in the otherwise very generously sized bathroom - we had to move a stool from the room to use for this purpose. Also, crucially, whilst shower head is great and powerful, you cannot hang it up, but need to hand hold while standing in an otherwise gorgeous bathtub, but which also does not insulate from the room properly for water-splashing purposes, so shower out of the question... We enjoyed baths very much, though the products they give are rubbish - not the Korres they show in their pictures, unfortunately, but some synthetic-smelling unknown brand instead.

In summary, in the crazily overpriced/undersized Parisian hotel scene, this is a real find and it is likely we will be returning, as what it offers for what is charges is reasonable indeed. However, with a bit more consideration when designing it, this could have been a truly outstanding offering.

Room Tip: Glowing - don't even think about the smaller ones, unless you are solo. And make sure you ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrLexLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel G, Directeur général at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Our team would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us and for your nice reviews regarding the location, the design and our buffet breakfast.

It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed our restaurant recommandation, our team is always pleased to share the best places to be around the hotel.
Also, our rooms size are quite common for an old typical french Parisian building which has been renovated in 2009.
For your information, our hotel amenities we are offering are issued from the brand Algotherm and made of marine and vegetable origin.

We have taking good notes of your comments and we thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

It was a pleasure to host you at the hotel Gabriel Paris and we truly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Best wishes !
Yours sincerely,
Géraldine Thouvay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Perfect hotel, walking distance from the streets of Marais. Really helpful receptionist, Esther, who went out of her way to book restaurants for us. The bathroom in our Deluxe room had a funny smell at night, seemingly a drain issue rather than cleanliness of the Hotel itself.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VT2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel G, Directeur général at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

All our team truly thanks you for choosing the Hotel Gabriel Paris for your romantic Parisian stay and for your lovely comments.

We always do our utmost to make our guests’ stay as memorable as possible, and we are always eager to improve our quality of service.

We hope you had a nice trip back and we will be glad to have the opportunity to share another Gabriel experience with us.

Best wishes !

Yours sincerely,
Géraldine Thouvay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Nice hotel but it is NOT in the Marais. My partner booked the hotel because we specifically wanted to stay in the Marais. We went by the reviews and the name "Gabriel Paris Marias" assuming that this meant it was in the district called "Le Marais". Well the hotel is close but not actually in the Marais. It is a nice hotel for the money but I guess they think they will get more bookings by fooling people into thinking that it is someplace it is not. So if you are looking for a hotel in the Marais make sure the zip code is 75003 or 75004. The Zip for this place is 75011 the is NOT the Marias.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrenchNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel G, Directeur général at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your Parisian trip with us and we deeply regret that you were not satisfied regarding the location of the hotel.

Also, we would like to clarify the fact that the Hotel Gabriel Paris is nested in the heart of the Haut-Marais of Paris, between the freshly rebuilt Place de la République, and the famous Rue Oberkampf, in the so trendy 11th district of Paris.

Our team truly hopes to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon and sends you its best wishes.

Yours sincerely,
Géraldine Thouvay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Angely Hotel
Angely Hotel
#465 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
MARAIS HOme Hotel
MARAIS HOme Hotel
#193 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Le 20 Prieure
Hotel Le 20 Prieure
#612 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Le Mareuil
Le Mareuil
#123 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#103 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
BEST WESTERN Hotel Marais Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabriel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabriel Paris

Property: Hotel Gabriel Paris
Address: 25 rue du grand Prieure, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Gabriel Paris Marais)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gabriel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened 23rd March, 2009, this new design hotel with a detox concept, near Place de la République, hotel with AC, lcd,shower. All rooms are white for a zen experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Gabriel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing