We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style and Substance in the Marais” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gabriel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gabriel Paris
Ranked #269 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Style and Substance in the Marais”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Gabriel offers modern, stylish peaceful rooms, yet the hotel is only two minutes walk from the Place de la Republique!

The decor is funky, clean and modern, with excellent lighting - all unusual in this price bracket. The bathrooms are well designed with rain showers and hand-held sprays and the excellent lighting design is carried through from the bedroom itself.

My room was on the second floor at the front of the hotel with double windows overlooking the street. Any fear of a disturbed night's sleep were banished after a few minutes of being in the room - barely a whisper was audible from outside. This had less to do with the excellent sound proofing and more to do with the fact that the street itself has virtually no traffic, either motorised or pedestrian.

The buffet breakfast in the morning is excellent - typical of hotels of this size in Paris, but presented in a very stylish way. Bread and pastries are on offer, with fruit and yoghurts and ham and brie. Eggs are available to cook in a bain marie to your own specification and a Nespresso machine is on hand for coffee.

I would struggle to find any reason to fault this hotel and would certainly consider returning on my next trip to Paris.

Room Tip: The executive rooms offer more space for very little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffersonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel G, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your warm comment regarding your stay at Hotel Gabriel Paris.

Our team was glad to read that you enjoyed our new decor as well as the design of your room.
Indeed, noise is rarely an issue since the hotel is located in a quiet street and we have made sure our windows offer excellent soundproofing.

We were also happy you enjoyed the fresh breakfast products since we do our best to ensure our guests start off with a healthy and tasty breakfast.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon for another great Gabriel experience !

Yours sincerely,

Lise Bonhomme
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    268
    68
    21
    11
See reviews for
56
388
70
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I must say I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor but decided to book anyway as my trip was a last minute break from the 28th of February to the 2nd of March 2014.

We stayed in a deluxe room. Design was stylish, clean, modern and over all I was extremely happy with it. The rooms were of decent size and felt comfortable and cosy.

Booking accommodation for myself and my partner who is also a male can sometimes be a bit daunting.. but the staff member we checked in with was an extremely friendly and informative gentleman, in fact all 4 front desk staff members I met were very pleasant, the type of thing that really does make a difference. The included wifi was also handy in finding sights for the next day on the Hotels app we downloaded.

The hotel was also in very close relation to 2 metro stations as specified on their website, and in fact not more than about 40 minutes walk away from some of the great sights Paris has to offer.

I did not purchase breakfast as we preferred to find other local locations.

Undoubtably one of the nicest hotel breaks I've had due to it's comfort and staff.

Is strongly recommend!

Thanks you!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SJQuayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel G, Responsable Hébergement - Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

A warm thank you for taking the time to write your nice comment regarding your stay at Hotel Gabriel Paris.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your room and that our app was helpful.
We are always happy to welcome our guests in the best possible atmosphere and to ensure they have a wonderful stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for your next Parisian stay.

Yours sincerely,

Lise Bonhomme
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eenrum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the Gabriel in 2011 (see my review) and it was rather a wow-experience - the second time around last weekend was still good but less wow.

We chose this hotel (then and now) for its modern, sleek, light look and the ingeneous pod-like spaceship-ish rooms, just like advertised on the designhotels.com website. Much to our surprise, when we came in, we noticed that the lobby was recently filled with ebony-coloured furniture and an abundance of dark accessoiries. Filled being the operative word - an entire shop-full of furniture crammed in the lobby. Mind you - not ugly furniture, it was all great boudoir-style stuff, but because they kept the white science fiction counter, it combines two styles that are simply impossible to combine and that gives the hotel a strange and little "off" appearance. If you're going for the sleek modern style a la the Seven or Kube hotels (also in Paris), this is no longer it.

Even though the rooms didn't change as much as the lobby, our room had a few extra accessoiries and ill-matching paintings that negatively impact the initial great clean stylish appearance of the original design. Several covers of lighting strips were loose and on the floor, the shower curtain (which is a little impractical and behind the times thing anyway for a hotel) had a little mold, the bed had big chunks of veneer missing, the iPod dock isn't compatible with current iPod/iPhone devices and there was that overall sort of 'worn' look.

That said, we only paid EUR 160 for a 'glowing' room, which is great for Parisian standards, even more so in combination with a lot of positive things that, despite the above, we haven't lost sight of:
- the location is wonderful (very close to the subway, to lots of Vélib' stands and to indoor parking Alhambra);
- the staff is beyond helpful (when we arrived parking Alhambra was full and the guy at reception, without even knowing we were guests, went out of his way to give and print directions to a different parking and to explain where else we could park - thank you);
- the rooms are cleverly designed and especially the deluxe/glowing rooms are very decent sized for Parisian standards;
- quiet street, but even if it's not, the insulation is very good, I usually need earplugs in Paris but not at the Gabriel;
- the street feels safe and comfortable;
- apples on the bed is a nice touch;
- it's getting increasingly difficult to find a hotel that offers twin beds, and this one does;
- they're good-sized and the best beds I've slept on in Paris;
- breakfast was good, the food was obviously not taken out of plastic three minutes before like in so many other hotels, there were lots of fresh things and the woman taking car of the breakfast bar was friendly and fast;
- the hotel (room, hallways, lobby) was very clean;
- out bathroom was very spacious;
- I love the fact that the management takes the time to read Tripadvisor reviews;
- small details (like their wonderful own tableware and the cool napkins, and the attentive and attractively designed mini-guide to the neighbourhood) do make a difference;
- wifi worked like a charm (be aware that one wifi code works on whatever device you have, but only on one at a time);
- check-in and check-out were very friendly and very fast.

The deluxe room, or at least ours, only have a tub, not a shower, which to us is strange and inconvenient - there was a shower head on a chord you can pull out of the side of the tub, but that is less than a meter long and the other person would have to hold that up and spray you with it to give you somewhat of a shower. Might not be a big deal for some people, but just thought it's worth mentioning.

For this price, this is still one of the best Parisian hotels to stay at and in certain areas they easily outdo many similarly and higher prices hotels! We'd definitely go again, but just with slightly adjusted expectations.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChantalvanderEnde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel G, Responsable Hébergement - Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very detailed comment on your Parisian stay at Hotel Gabriel Paris.

We have indeed completely remodeled our lobby and breakfast area in order to offer our guests a more cosy and poetic ambiance filled with antiques as well as a very "British club" lounge area to sit and relax while helping yourself to the Honesty Bar.

We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your Glowing room with its confy bathroom and relaxing bathtub.

We thank you for your remarks concerning things we could improve and have taken the necessary actions.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Lise Bonhomme
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I am very disapointed by his hotel....Why don;t you put in front of your hotel or into your website that you don;t accept children?i am traing to make a reservation at your hotel and it is impossible to take my 4 years old boy!
It;s a pitty, becuase i really red things quaite good about you!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank golovatii a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel G, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Madam,

We thank you for choosing Hotel Gabriel Paris for your next Parisian stay.

We are very sorry to hear that your booking experience did not go as you expected. We regret that you did not give us a chance to clarify this misunderstanding before posting your comment on Tripadvisor.
We would be more than happy to assist you. Please contact the hotel directly at info@gabrielparis.com.

For your information, we do accept young children in our Glowing rooms, in which we can place a baby cot free of charge if asked for.

Please believe that we always do our utmost to ensure our guests have a wonderful Gabriel experience and we sure hope that we can make your experience with us memorable.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel Gabriel Paris, we stay at your disposal should you have any further requirements.
Yours sincerely,

Lise Bonhomme
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I arrived at the hotel late after a busy day in Paris for business. I purposely booked a more luxurious, but small, hotel in a bid to have a little sanctuary at the end of the day. If only to rest for a few hours.
Hotel Gabriel was just perfect. Beautiful hotel - with such clever and comfortable use of space - friendly and helpful staff and the best nights sleep ever. Breakfast was great too. I wll definitely return to Hotel Gabriel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachkandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel G, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Our team appreciates you taking the time to share your stay at Hotel Gabriel.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we are very pleased that your room and breakfast met your expectations.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Lise Bonhomme
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I booked one night at this hotel based on the comments on tripadvisor and I am happy with my stay.
My goal was to be closed to République and get an easy access to public transportation. Less than 5 minutes walk from the subway.
The hotel is nice, clean and quiet.
They have a 24h reception with friendly people to welcome you.
Indeed the room are tiny but very well organised. I liked it very much. The bathroom is cool, nice lights, and you can plug your ipod.
Bed is comfortable and quiet which is perfect for a good rest.
I was in a deluxe room.
Breakfast is automatically included. And I have to say that it was really delicious. The croissants and other viennoiseries were just fresh from the morning and tasted great. I ate 3 ahahah For tea drinkers well great news they have real tea to offer. Not the usual crap. And you can prepare your own eggs à la coque. Really it was a pleasure to start the day.
I went for a business trip and I will stay here again if I get the opportunity.
FYI just around the corner there is a very nice Korean restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Mag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel G, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your Parisian experience at Hotel Gabriel.

Our team is grateful for your very nice comments regarding your stay and we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and organic continental breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you again and send you our kindest regards.

Yours sincerely,

Lise Bonhomme
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is a 3 star hotel, no better, no worse. This was my tenth visit to Paris and I wanted to try a different hotel for a good price. I chose this hotel based on other Trip Advisor reviews. I am not sure if the reviews were made by travelers who are not very experienced or if they simply don't have the same standards that I do. We booked the "Glowing" Room, which basically means that it is a room the size of my closet at home, with a device on one side of the bed that plays whale sounds and glows orange. Great. The bed was not the double we were promised, but two very uncomfortable twin beds pushed together. While the bathroom was generously sized (and basically the same size as the bedroom), there was not one shelf, drawer or place to put anything. We had to move a stool in there so I could have a place for my toiletries and makeup. Although there was a giant tub, there was only a handheld shower that had a short cord that was not tall enough for me to hold over my head (I am only 5'3). The "breakfast buffet" was bread, jam, boiled eggs (that you had to make yourself) packaged cheese and yogurt. Not exactly a buffet. I don't mean to sound like a snob, if you are looking for value, then this is definitely an option. It is very clean. However, it is in the outermost outskirts of what could possibly be considered the Marais, and is actually on the edge of what could best be described as a "sketchy" neighborhood. Paris is a wonderful city with many hotel options, you can simply do MUCH better elsewhere. Keep looking and keep in mind that not all travelers have the same standards.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank lauren m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel G, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your Parisian experience with us.

We are very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations.

We would like to clarify that the hotel is located in the Haut-Marais, just minutes away from the heart of the Marais and right near to the trendy Place de la République and rue Oberkampf.

The size of the Glowing room (25 square meters) is quite typical of Parisian 1930's buildings like ours.

We regret that you did not enjoy our organic continental breakfast and its extensive choice of breads and viennoiseries, madeleines, chocolate chip cake, jam, butter, nutella, cheeses and yogurts, cereal, fresh fruits, dried fruits and fruit salad, eggs, fresh orange or grapefruit juice, coffee, tea or hot chocolate.

We were also very surprised to read that you did not enjoy the Night Cove that was set up in your room as many of our guests have given us great feedback on the quality of their sleep when using it.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future to change your mind and have the true Gabriel experience.

Yours sincerely,

Lise Bonhomme
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Angely Hotel
Angely Hotel
#480 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
MARAIS HOme Hotel
MARAIS HOme Hotel
#196 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Le 20 Prieure
Hotel Le 20 Prieure
#600 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Le Mareuil
Le Mareuil
#119 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
BEST WESTERN Hotel Marais Bastille
Bastille / Oberkampf
Ibis Paris Avenue de la Republique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabriel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabriel Paris

Property: Hotel Gabriel Paris
Address: 25 rue du grand Prieure, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Gabriel Paris Marais)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gabriel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened 23rd March, 2009, this new design hotel with a detox concept, near Place de la République, hotel with AC, lcd,shower. All rooms are white for a zen experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gabriel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing