We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well-done tribute that’s worth a visit.”

Memorial de la Shoah (Shoah Memorial)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.78*
and up
Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District
Ranked #43 of 1,120 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very well-done tribute that’s worth a visit.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a very moving memorial that presents a balanced view of France’s participation in World War II. The permanent exhibit documents both the Vichy government’s collaboration with the Nazis and honors the Righteous Among the Nations, those non-Jews who risked their lives to save others.
A very disturbing reminder that anti-semitism is alive and well is the tight security inside and out of this building. Also troubling to me was the apparent apathy of the current population. I asked several police officers on the nearby streets how to find this admittedly difficult location and they didn’t have a clue. Never heard of it.
The memorial is definitely worth an hour or so of your time in Paris for its sobering look at French history. Admission is free and it’s open late on Thursdays.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysOnLocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    200
    42
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
178 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I decided to visit the Memorial as way of paying my respect to the victims and learn a little bit about the history of the holocaust in France. It's a very, very low key memorial. Free entry. There are names on the memorial walls of those who died, a very small collection of the atrocity in Rwanda, an artificial flame, a multimedia room (which has a good timeline of the events leading up to the treatments of the Jews in France and the role played by the Vichy government), a collection of documents for avid readers and researchers, and a bookstore. I was expecting more of a collection of artefacts and a museum-like display but that wasn't the case. In spite of that, it's worth a quick stop over.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cristoph2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An understated tribute”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This little memorial is low keyed but all the more powerful for it. Be prepared for a moving experience of the unfortunate collaboration in France of the deportation of its citizens who happened to be Jewish.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank europhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellyn, IL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Everyone Should See This!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I read about this memorial and felt we had to see it both to pay respects and learn from the history. The security was very tight and it almost felt odd that there had to be so much of it since it wasn't anything I had ever experienced. There are walls outside the main entrance with the names of every vicitim engraved. Inside there is a welcome center where the attendants can answer questions to assist on your visit. There is a constant flame burning on a lower level honoring the victims. On the lowest level there is a mass of information detailing the personal lives of victims, resistant fighters and others who tried to help. It was so moving to read these bios. The saddest part was the memorial wall with photos of every child that was a victim. People of every race and creed should come to this memorial to learn, remember the victims and heroes and know that this type of injustice should never happen again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaBananna19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Memorial”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

How can one rate a Memorial. One goes to pays ones respect and to think......Being in Paris, walking the streets and feeling the history of the city, reading the sad tales of the occupants shipped out of the city during the second world war, I was really pleased to have a memorial to collect my thoughts. (I had not expected to feel as much of this cities history or for it to affect me so much, it was a surprise to me) .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vi0let17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Memorial de la Shoah (Shoah Memorial) also viewed

 

Been to Memorial de la Shoah (Shoah Memorial)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing