We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice from the outside, horrible in the inside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavillon Opera Lafayette
Ranked #1,673 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 4 November 2012

If you like the smell of mold and so humid air that your hair will curl up, this is the hotel for you. I think that this hotel is actually very unhealthy so if you have asthma etc. don't book your room from here. The room was very small, on the floor (full of bumps and sloped) there was barely enough room for a suitcase. You were also able to hear all kinds of things from other rooms and corridor. Well, I guess this is what you get with a such low price, won't be definitely returning. Good things were the pleasant male person in the evening/night shifts and bug-free environment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

Small hotel, very intimate, friendly staff, delicious continental breakfast each day is the same (baguettes croissants, jam, honey, butter, milk, orange juice, coffee, water). Hotel location is fantastic, close to the metro stations, Central Station Gare de Nord and near some attractions (Mulan Rouge, Basilique du Sacre-Coeur). You can get to them on foot. It is not expensive, and if you book three months in advance, it can you make reservations at the price of EUR 60 for a double room without breakfast. Breakfast is 6 EUR per person. The rooms are small, but Paris is for sightseeing, not to sit in the room!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel because we knew we were not going to be STAYING in the hotel. It was included in a package we purchased with Eurostar to travel to Paris from London for a 3 day, 2 night stay. It was comfy enough just for that purpose and served us well as being close to everything we wanted to see during our short trip. We walked from the hotel to the station and would eat at the Patisserie de la tour d'auvergne (right down the street - they were SO nice!!) for breakfast enjoying the authentic quiche and then pick up a few treats too.

For the price, I have no complaints and we enjoyed our stay here complete with privacy and the staff was very friendly and accommodating to hold our luggage after we checked out (so we didn't have to pay more) so that we could make one last trek out to the Eiffel Tower without needing to pull our luggage around and would not take any tips after we came back thanking them for their service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KL-0713-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We were at the hotel with my mother for 3 nights in September 2011. We liked the hotel staff who were friendly and helpful. Especially male person in the evening / night shifts was very nice and helpful. Rooms were pretty worn out and we often woke up in the morning when someone used a hair dryer in the next room. We also heard all the talk from the room next door.

We did not expect anything amazing, so the hotel was ok. Breakfast was adequate and we think the location was great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leinonenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We were booked into this "hotel" for five nights. The staff person on duty the first night was pleasant but the day clerk (a woman) was rude and nasty when speaking to me. The room was a "double" for two, which consisted of two twin beds shoved together. One matress kept sliding off of the box spring while trying to slleep. The room itself was the size of a closet with no place to sit except on the bed, no place to open your suitcase and the floor slanted so you felt as if you were always leaning to the left. The bathroom was dark, the shower was moldy and the shower curtain had stains and mildew on it. It was a street room and all hours of the night there was noise and traffic which made it impossible to sleep. The wooden slats on the floor were gone outside the room by the elevator revealing concrete underneath. The carpet in my room had iron outlines where someone had tired to iron clothing. The only thing missing was a chalk outline on the floor. We were initially bookoed for a three person room. When we got there all of a sudden there are no three person accomodations and it is against policy to have three people in a two person bed...fire hazard they said, BUT...for 15 eruos extra the third person could stay in the room. I would rather sleep in an alley than ever stay here again. Please never go here!

Room Tip: stay with a name brand hotel chain like Best Western, Hilton etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Connie716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Complete idiots run this hotel. I had originally made a reservation to book my family here for the 8 thru 14 of July. After airline tickets were bought I sent several emails changing the date to the 13 because that is when they were leaving Paris. The hotel insisted that they pay thru the 14th because they failed to update their reservation after my emails and they sent an email 2 days before when I had no email access with the incorrect date thru the 14. My family only paid for the dates they actually spent the night so they made unauthorized charges to my card and refused to refund. So I am being charged for their error and stupidity. I feel like I was robbed. Mary Anne was rude and arrogant, no customer service skills at all and completely unreasonable. Also the hotel rooms themselves are dirty and my cousin got pink eye from the dirty pillowcase.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank myrlelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank isabelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TESTI, Responsable réception at Pavillon Opera Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#1,126 of 1,809 in Paris
408 reviews
Opéra / Bourse
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
#1,047 of 1,809 in Paris
642 reviews
Opéra / Bourse
Fiat Hotel
Fiat Hotel
#1,176 of 1,809 in Paris
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra / Bourse
Pavillon Opera Grands Boulevards
Batignolles-Monceau
Meridional Hotel
Meridional Hotel
#859 of 1,809 in Paris
281 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Royal Wagram
Royal Wagram
#986 of 1,809 in Paris
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon Opera Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon Opera Lafayette

Address: 23 rue de la Tour D Auvergne, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,673 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £48 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pavillon Opera Lafayette 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a small and calm street in the 18th arrondissement, close to Galeries Lafayette, Montmartre and the Opera Garnier, the Pavillon Opera Lafayette Hotel offers you 32 renovated rooms for your stay in Paris. Here, in the heart of our great city, the Pavillon Opera Lafayette offers a peaceful, friendly atmosphere and attractive surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Easy Market Spa, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pavillon Opera Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Opera Lafayette Paris
Pavillon Opera Lafayette Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing