We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased”
Review of Hotel Diana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Diana
Ranked #472 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sharpsburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I had a layover in Paris for one night, so booked a room at Hotel Diana. Very pleasant experience in a small hotel. Room was quite small, but adequate for one or two people. Appears to be recently updated - both room and bath were very nice. Double door/window opened onto a very pleasant street view.

Front desk staff were great. Location was great - a few blocks from Notra Dame and there were plenty of bakeries and cafes in the neighborhood for that great expresso and pastry.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob21782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    156
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
50
197
63
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We just returned from a week trip to Paris and stayed at Hotel Diana for 7 nights. We were a family of four so we had 2 rooms on the second floor. The rooms are small but they are very clean and tidy. The bathrooms were brand new and spotless. Didn’t use the TV, all channels were in French but we did take advantage of the free WIFI. The A/C worked perfectly, (it was 97 degrees one day)
I would strongly recommend the breakfast for 8 Euro. Besides the expected croissant, bread, coffee and delicious hot chocolate; it included yogurt, fresh fruit salad, dried fruits, cereal, juice and cheeses. One morning we went out for breakfast for a change of scenery. For 8.50 Euro we only got coffee, a croissant, bread and juice and it took twice as long.
The staff was very helpful and pleasant, everyone spoke English. The location was wonderful, short walk to the metro and Notre Dame, 30 minute walk to the Louvre; Boulevard St-Germain is one block away.
If I return to Paris I would without a doubt stay at Hotel Diana.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel42257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelands, Cape Town
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in May 2014 and found the location fantastic. The Latin Quarter is vibrant and we just loved staying there from where we could easily find our way around. Although small as expected, the room was spotlessly clean, tidy and well equipped with everything we needed. Reception was manned 24 hours per day and the staff were very helpful, friendly, spoke English fluently and willing to assist wherever they could. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

You don't normally expect too much from a two star hotel but we have been pleasantly surprised. The rooms whilst a little small are very clean and have everything you need, the bathroom are very spacious and everything was very clean. The reception staff were very friendly and only too happy to help. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank paxpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

After emailing a couple of hotels that were fully booked, I came across the great reviews for Hotel Diana and decided to give it a try. Much to my delight, they responded promptly that a double room was available. As mentioned in other reviews, they don't ask for a credit card to reserve your room - you just have to email them a week before your stay to confirm. My room was ready when I arrived and check-in was no problem at all.

The location is very convenient - blocks from Notre Dame and close to 2 metro lines and the RER. There are many cafes in the area, so I decided not to take advantage of the hotel breakfast.

My room was cozy, comfortable and clean, and the bathroom looked recently remodeled. I was a little nervous when I saw that my door was right next to the old clanky elevator, but I didn't find the noise to be a problem, and there was only one other room on my floor, so it wasn't like people were coming and going at all hours. My window faced out the back and I found the room to be pretty quiet.

There is a small safe in the room where you can store valuables, and the hotel has wi-fi available for guests. You leave your room key at the front desk when you go out, so you don't have to worry about losing it. The staff is very nice and speaks English (but they will patiently indulge you if you're like me and want to practice your terrible basic French).

Hotel Diana was a great find at a very fair price and I will happily stay there again the next time I'm in Paris!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper or bothered by street noise, ask for a room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BK_and_on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel and loved every minute. The location is fantastic, it was spotlessly clean and staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was so worthwhile at 8 Euros but due to our tight program, we only managed to have breakfast once at the hotel. The room itself wasn't as small as I envisaged (from previous reviews). It was just perfect and we will definitely be back. Thank you Madame Cheval and staff for a most enjoyable stay in the beautiful city of Paris.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marlene717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

As a woman traveling alone, this was a perfect place to stay -- Madame Cheval runs a tight ship! Friends recommended the Hotel Diana to me, so I knew not to worry when I made the reservation by email and the hotel did not take my credit card to reserve the room. I had asked for, and was booked into, a double room on a high floor with a city view, and the room had everything I needed and was perfectly quiet with the double windows closed at night. The bed was very comfortable, the room and modern bath were positively spotless, there was free wifi, and, as everyone comments in their reviews, you can't ask for a more perfect location. I walked everywhere -- although the metro is very close by, I only needed to take it on one of my five days in Paris. The hotel staff are exceedingly helpful and all speak English (so there was no need to dust off my high school French), but it was nice to hear as much French spoken among the hotel guests at breakfast as English. And I do recommend the breakfast, which you reserve the night before. I will definitely return to the Hotel Diana on my next trip to Paris!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marcia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#160 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#264 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Marignan
Hotel Marignan
#506 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Suez
Hotel de Suez
#498 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#320 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Quartier Latin
Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana

Property: Hotel Diana
Address: 73 rue Saint Jacques | 5 Arr, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#139 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#151 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#151 Family Hotel in Paris
#295 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Diana 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing