We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal Aboukir
Ranked #1,313 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Great location - easy walk to Louvre, Notre Dame, etc. There is a great pedestrianised street of restaurants and cafes just around th corner. Staff friendly. Advanced booking/payment gave reasonable price for location. Room comfortable enough. Didn't have breakfast at the hotel. Would definitely go again if needed to stay in central Paris.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank chj440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal Aboukir
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

I've been in this hotel for three nights, the staff at the reception was nice and helpful. The room was standard (small, no light, micro bathroom) for Paris in the price category. Good placement in the city centre to reach all the main attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CrloMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the tail end of a European trip in July. We were in Paris over the Bastille Day weekend and booked well ahead because hotels become scarce and we needed 4 rooms. This hotel was reasonable priced but that is the only thing it had going for it. We arrived at the hotel and were unable to check in early despite the fact that we were clearly one of the very few groups staying in the hotels that weekend. We left our bags with the front desk person and decided to have lunch and come back. When we came back it took her no less than an hour to check us in and we were given our 4 rooms. One room was fine, one had mold growing on the ceiling, one had been cleaned with something that mad in uninhabitable at that point, and one was on a floor under construction so we couldn't actually get to it. They had men plastering and painting the walls and with the narrow hallways it was literally not an option to get through with suitcases. We were eventually able to get two of the rooms switched that night and a third switched for the second night.
The stairs were also being painted and we were not allowed to use them so the only option was the elevator. This would not be a problem except that it was a typical Europena lift and it was tiny. You could fit three people without any luggage or backpacks. With our group of 8 this made every outing a time consuming affair. In the end two people were given a free breakfast to "make up" for our trouble but even that resulted in more issues. When we checked out the clerk tried to charge us for them and it took a long conversation to get the bill figured out. We spent over $2,000 for three nights at this hotel and it was the worst money I have ever spent.
Because Comfort Inn leaves it up to each location to resolve complaints nothing was ever done and we were basically told that we got what we paid for. I would avoid this hotel at all costs in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brandy4777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel twice as very convenient for business however on both occasions no English channels available on television

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Mary229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

It gets three stars mainly because of the location and the price (good for Paris). Having said that, some would say the prostitutes are far friendlier than the staff. Only have three beds when you requested four? Well, that won't please the staff and is only just physically possible (to fit the fourth bed in the room). Still, the rooms are clean (ours wasn't quite like that in the advertising photo) and serviced well each day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

An admin error left me without a hotel for one night during a frequently occuring business trip to Paris. Wanting to stay in roughly the same area as I typically do I found this hotel for a decent rate (for Paris that is) and decided to give it a go for one night.

The hotel is quite quirky and is very much in the traditional Paris style. Unfortunately that tends to mean small, from the elevator which barely has room for one person plus luggage to the room itself which was small and anciently decorated (wallpaper peeling off the walls, chipped and damaged skirting boards, filthy/stained/worn carpet).

The bathroom was absolutely tiny and required some skill to get in, close the door and be able to negotiate the shower screen (which does not move) to actually get into the shower. I would not have contemplated using the bath due to the stains and marks all over it.

All in all whilst convenient for short notice availability this hotel is fine, but to stay for more than one night would be just too depressing. There are other hotels in the same area which for a slightly higher price offer far better quality, and therefore I will not be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The hotel was clean overall, the room was a bit small for four beds, they had to be smashed together and you could not adjust the air conditioning temp up or down. the bathroom was a closet, but worked adequately. The staff tried to be helpful but did not speak much english. The location is fine during the day, the night time it becomes an area of street walkers, not dangerous, just not so family friendly

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank PinkMFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Bonne Nouvelle
Hotel Bonne Nouvelle
#1,137 of 1,803 in Paris
38 reviews
Hotel Edgar
#715 of 1,803 in Paris
154 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Sainte-Marie
Hotel Sainte-Marie
#1,382 of 1,803 in Paris
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Appi Hotel
Appi Hotel
#1,628 of 1,803 in Paris
230 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel Bellevue et du Chariot d'Or
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
#835 of 1,803 in Paris
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Aboukir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Aboukir

Address: 106 rue d Aboukir, 75002 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,313 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £61 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Aboukir 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally located in Paris city center, just near the city's stock exchange district, in the heart of the fashion area, close to the Grands Boulevards, museums and theatres. The hotel has being recently renewed, all the rooms have been furnished with efficiency bathrooms, dryers, safe, minibar, LCD TV, satellite, direct line and free Internet access. Inside the place is a cocktail lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Royal Aboukir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Aboukir Paris
Royal Aboukir Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing