We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Residence Quintinie
Ranked #378 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The key points to consider are this isn't a hotel, its more like a small apartment/studio with someone manning a desk at the door during the day, there are no facilities to speak of and the accommodation was a bit grubby and in mild disrepair.

People tell me that accommodation in Paris will always disappoint so maybe I am just expecting too much.

Location - The hotel is located very close to the metro line 12 which has good links to most places, be careful on the metro line 12 as the train doors are lethal closing very rapidly and only open by pulling a lever, we saw a few people get trapped in these doors as they give you only a few seconds to get on/off. The hotel is situated on a square with a park which can get quite noisy, but it gets locked in the early evening so it wont bother your sleep. The area around the hotel is quite dirty with a lot of rubbish on the streets and they evidently don't have to clear up after their dogs like we do in the UK.

Hotel - The reception staff were great, very friendly and helpful. The front door slamming and the wooden starts can get quite annoying though. There aren't really any facilities in the hotel.

Room - We booked the Jaffar which was a good size. The bathroom was a decent size also. The Kitchen area wasn't much use, 2 electric rings with no writing on them so you had no idea which knob operated which ring or if it was on 1 or 5, no grill, oven or toaster was provided. The crockery was a mismatch of a few different plates, cups, glasses and cutlery all looked well past their prime. There was a microwave on top of an old cabinet which didn't look safe and there wasn't really anywhere to plug it in.

The general condition of the room was worse than we expected, issues included, missing paint / plaster, toilet seat broken, blinds broken, mold in the shower, window handles faulty and a sticking door.

If we had paid less I probably wouldn't have been that disappointed, but our last holiday in Rome cost about the same and the hotel was fantastic.

If you rented this studio to live in I would imagine it would only cost the same for a week as they charge for a night as essentially its a very small studio apartment.

We did enjoy our stay and didn't really let the issues bother us too much.

Room Tip: Read the reviews to understand what you are getting as this isnt really a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a fantastic trip. The hotel was easy to find. We were greeted by the maid as it was Bank Holiday but all paperwork was in place and check in went so smoothly. The room was fantastic and decorated all old and quaint, it had a fridge, microwave and 2 electric rings, a table with 2 chairs and en suite with an awesome powerful shower. The room was cleaned every day to a very high standard, with fresh towels. There was someone on the desk every day who were so friendly, recommending restaurants and how to get places, booking taxis and seeing to repairs immediately they were told a bulb had blown! The hotel overlooks a park at the front and a courtyard at the back, it is in a very quiet area. The breakfast was just beautiful. It was really a reasonable price. We didn't have to check out till 12 and then we were allowed to leave our luggage until time to leave Paris so we could make the most of our last day. I will be recommending to all friends and we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camperslastlunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Lovely room and great shower. Service was fine and the owner very accommodating. We stayed for one night and wished we had made it two as the room(studio) was lovely.
Only let down was the price/location we thought it was a bit expensive for where it was. However we would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB_MR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A very friendly and helpful hotel, with good English in a nice quiet area and only a 10 minuet walk from Gare Montparnasse and the Metro.
Room a good size and liked the kitchenette area, just one complaint... shower sealant is all mouldy and makes it look dirty.
Would stay again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Fantastically beautiful place to stay. Found the professional pictures to be of incredible likeness.
I selected the Camila room, however were given the 'Blue Room' upon arrival (sometimes called the 'Lavender', and sometimes referred to as the 'Jaffar'), however I paid the price for a Camila Studio on check out.
The owner was incredibly welcoming and understanding of our delayed arrival. He was keen to suggest various delicious Restaurants and Super Markets in the area as well as making sure that we enjoyed our stay.

This was our first Parisian experience, and found the area peaceful and incredibly accessible.

COULD NOT FAULT THE HOTEL WHATSOEVER, and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Location is ok, 5-10 mins walk from metro. Stayed one night in 'studio' it was more like a double bed with a kitchenette. Payed €128 which was very overpriced for room only and no breakfast. It was adequate but with more research better options are available.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrelandMaeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It was one of the most exhilarating experience to find this little piece gem in the midst of SO MANY options in Paris. Too many options sometimes blinds me and I was so thrilled that I made the right decision with this place. Well we wanted a safe neighborhood (prime concern) and we wanted a typical Parisian feel (a boutique feel). Also it had to be in our budget (which was tight). This place delivered more than our expectation. Its such a cute place and the people running it are so friendly.
The place is spic and span. The bathroom especially is so clean. Also the room was adequate for the 3 of us (hubby, teenage daughter & yours truly). The kitchen is so cute and well equipped, we even cooked a meal there, just for fun.
All in all it was a superb place :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Jaffar Suite which I think was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Citadines Austerlitz Paris
#875 of 1,803 in Paris
155 reviews
Citadines Didot Montparnasse
#839 of 1,803 in Paris
299 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Citadines Place d'Italie Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Albe Bastille
Hotel Albe Bastille
#698 of 1,803 in Paris
462 reviews
Trocadero
Citadines Trocadero Paris
Citadines Trocadero Paris
#923 of 1,803 in Paris
301 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel des 3 Poussins
Hotel des 3 Poussins
#296 of 1,803 in Paris
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Quintinie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Quintinie

Address: 5 rue la Quintinie, 75015 Paris, France (Formerly Quintinie' Square (quartier Tour Eiffel))
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £81 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Quintinie 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residence Quintinie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinie Square Quartier Tour Eiffel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing