We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, not 100% perfect but not far off”
Review of Les Plumes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Les Plumes Hotel
Ranked #190 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel has a good location, very convenient for the metro system
and close enough to walk to from Gare du nord although be aware that
around the train station it's not the "nicest" of areas so I would
avoid it during the night!

Anyway, back to the hotel. It's small & quirky. The staff on reception
were very polite and always said hello and wished us a good day. They
were also very chatty to our 3.5 year old son which was nice.

Our room was of a good size! Yes, we've stopped in bigger but we've
also stopped in much smaller. For Paris, the room size was good and
they way they had made the most of the space was clever.

All the furnishing were new and clean! The shower was great! My son
found the colour changing lights amazing!

The bed was comfortable, my son co-sleeps with us so were used to
sharing our bed with him. If you have children and don't want to share
your bed then I'm not sure you would comfortably fit a child's bed in
the room as well, not with luggage etc.

The cleaning staff did a great job and the room was always spotlessly
cleaned every day however, I was late going out the one day (my
husband was working) and the cleaner knocked on my door to say she
won't be cleaning my room as it's late. I was literally just going out
the room and when we returned she had cleaned which was a nice
surprise.

Now our problems, the wifi, it was extremely slow!! This is an issue
for us as we need reliable Internet which is a decent speed for work
purposes and we were unable to use Skype as it was just too slow.

Another smaller problem we had was an issue with our fridge. We guess
that a previous guest had put something extremely smelly in there like
cheese as the smell was like something had died in there! We asked
them twice to clean it and they did but it still smelt. They couldn't
replace it as they didn't have any spare which was a shame.

The soaps & shower gel are lovely however they don't provide shampoo
so be prepared to take your own, failing that, there's a little
supermarket around the corner where you can grab supplies if you need
to. We travel very light. (This trip we took Just one backpack for all
3 of us for the 4 days) I like to choose hotels that I hope will save
us having to carry lots of stuff like shampoo so I find it frustrating
when they don't provide it!

We didn't eat the breakfast from the hotel, instead I sent my husband
out to grab coffees from Starbucks which is just around the corner
from the hotel and fresh croissants from the little bakery over the
road which is truly amazing and you must try!!!

Overall I would go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warbe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesplumeshotel, Assistant de Direction at Les Plumes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your stay on Trip Advisor. This is such a great motivation for our staff. We hope to see you next time and we wish you a Merry Christmas!

Best Regards,

Marc B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Upon our arrival we found the hotel easy to find and conveniently located next to Cadet metro. Although the immediate surrounding area was not busy at night Opera was only 10 minutes walk or a metro ride away. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The whole place smells fantastic and the design is charming. Our room was perfect; cute and romantic with everything we needed. It wasn't a big room but we didn't need anything huge for the two of us. The shower was spectacular. The bed was comfy although was not fixed to anything so it did tend to move around a bit. Room keeping staff were excellent and even when we slept in, still made the effort to swap towels and change the bins etc. The hotel overall was extremely clean. Breakfast was good and one morning we had it delivered to us in bed. The staff uniforms were quirky and added to the overall feel of the hotel. If you don't mind walking, all the attractions are within strolling distance. Perfect hotel, would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlotteLouiseCrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesplumeshotel, Assistant de Direction at Les Plumes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your really kind comment, it's always a pleasure for us. We hope to see you next time.

Kind Regards,

Marc B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at Les Plumes for a mini break and from beginning to end it was fantastic. The staff couldn't do enough to help us...The rooms were really funky and had everything you needed...the shower was a real winner... Hotel decor brilliant and easily walkable from gare du nord. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules29London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesplumeshotel, Assistant de Direction at Les Plumes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Plumes Hotel.
Thank you so much for your comment, don't hesitate to contact us if you are interested to come back to us.

Kind Regards,


Marc B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and had an excellent stay. The staff are excellent, very friendly and very helpful. It is very quirky but also very contemporary. Because it is quite small it has an honesty bar which we like a lot, you just help yourself to drinks and write your name in the book.

The hotel is extremely clean and has only been opened since April 2013 so everything feels brand new. The beds were very comfortable, the t.v in our room was great, new large very flat screen with excellent HD picture and easy to operate, and the shower was one of the best I've had, large rain shower with excellent power and easy temperature control, never had to wait for hot water it was instant and constant.

Location was excellent, we didn't really sight see however the metro is 30 seconds walk away and there are plenty of excellent shops bars, brasseries right there. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mooeyravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesplumeshotel, Assistant de Direction at Les Plumes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Madam,

All the staff are very proud to read a comment like yours.
We like to see you next time in Paris.

Kind Regards,


Marc B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The first impression of a place starts with the first communication. In my case; arranging a cab for five persons to the site of KOOZA, the new show from Cirque du Soleil. I was in contact with Yasmine, and a few friendly emails later the cab was arranged. Upon arrival, just a short stroll from Gare du Nord, a girl wearing a derby hat and a white shirt with black suspenders appeared to be that same Yasmine. She arranged all the cab transfers which gave me the opportunity to look around. The hotel is all about the great writers, and little details show you why the hotel is called Les Plumes (the feathers). Pencils are still in the shape of the old fashioned writing feathers and you will find books everywhere. Still, the hotel is far from old fashioned. Bright yellow and green colours are matching the striped wallpaper and the young staff goes above and beyond to help you and make sure your stay is as comfortable as it can get.

Although I was early, and the hotel was fully booked the night before, my room was ready, another plus!!

The rooms at Les Plumes are small, but quirky and filled with fun details. The colour in my shower changes every second (if you don't like it, you can turn it off) and there are quotes of writers everywhere. The telephone next to your bed brings you back to past times and upon entering the bathroom the first thing you see is a big moustache painted on your mirror. It's Movember here every day!

Breakfast is ok, not super fancy but there is yoghurt, fresh fruit, croissants, eggs and very decent coffee. What else do you need to kick-start your day in Paris with?!

All in all, Hotel Les Plumes is a great address should you be looking for a fun, quirky and romantic getaway in Paris.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evie-Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesplumeshotel, Assistant de Direction at Les Plumes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your kind comment. All the staff are very happy by this one.

We hope to see you next time with your vintage hat and the proper suit.

Kind Regards,


Marc B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just back from a brilliant 2 night stay at this hotel. Lovely friendly staff from the moment you enter until the time you leave. The room was really spacious, suprising considering all the reviews saying the rooms were small. Bathroom was brilliant, lovely powerful shower, The location was briliant, literally around the corner from the cadet metro line. lovely bistros/cafes near the hotel and a mcdonalds at the metro line if you are looking something cheap and cheerful. We had an amazing trip to paris, as we got engaged on the first night, and one of the lovely staff at the hotel kindly took our picture to capture the moment. We will definitely return to paris as it is such a lovely city with so much to do, 3 days wasnt enough! And we would love to stay in this hotel again and will be recommending to friends :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesplumeshotel, Assistant de Direction at Les Plumes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Madam,

We are so proud to receive a comment like yours. It's a pleasure to know that your trip in Paris and specialy in the Plumes Hotel was brilliant. We would be happy to see you again and to make discover you the others themes of the Hotel.

See you soon.

Kind Regards,

Marc B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I recently stated at this hotel to celebrate a wedding anniversary. We stayed in a standard room and we were very pleased with it. The bathroom was a good size, the shower excellent. Some comments say the rooms are small but I thought our room was plenty big enough. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and well worth paying for. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. All the staff were very friendly and willing to help. We came to this hotel on our tandem and this was well taken care of during our stay. If you are visiting Paris stay here!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gill0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesplumeshotel, Assistant de Direction at Les Plumes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Madam, Sir,

It was a pleasure to welcome you during your long trip in bicycle. We are very proud to receive some nice reviews. We hope to see you again, this time with a better weather.

Good luck if your trip is not over, All the team you support.

Kind Regards,

Marc B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#114 of 1,803 in Paris
1,315 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Arvor Saint Georges
Hotel Arvor Saint Georges
#241 of 1,803 in Paris
634 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Eugene en Ville
Hotel Eugene en Ville
#332 of 1,803 in Paris
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Monsieur Cadet Hotel & Spa
Monsieur Cadet Hotel & Spa
#238 of 1,803 in Paris
503 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#38 of 1,803 in Paris
1,494 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#92 of 1,803 in Paris
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Plumes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Plumes Hotel

Address: 10 rue Lamartine, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £95 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Plumes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Plumes Hotel Paris invites you on a fascinating journey through time, imbued with the romantic charm of 19th century Paris and on a discovery of the mythical couples who marked this period which yielded an abundance of masterpieces.In the footsteps of Paul Verlaine and Arthur Rimbaud, Victor Hugo and Juliette Drouet or George Sand and Alfred de Musset, you can soak up the typical atmosphere of a period guest house in which everything, from the staff’s uniforms to the stylish decorative details, draws you into the deliciously romantic atmosphere of that era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Plumes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing