We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great private tours in and about Paris"”

The Americans in Paris
Ranked #73 of 541 Tours in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Type: City Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Private tours in France with a professional licensed english speaking guide Wine-tasting sessions with a French graduated Sommelier from the French Wine University Gastronimoic excursions, Familly tours, museums Evening entertainments and special events
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“"Great private tours in and about Paris"”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Steeve Calvo was our guide for a group of eight friends. Six had never been to Paris before so I wanted someone who could show them the sights and share the culture. Steeve was very knowledgeable and informative. He gave great tips for places to see and things to do in our spare time while in Paris. In addition to seeing Paris, we also did two daytrips to the countryside. His guiding and timing at each of the venues was perfect. He also managed to get us a table at a restaurant in Versailles when there was a long waiting line. One of the memorable events was a stop at a winery for a tour and private tasting. His English is excellent and he is more than accommodating. He makes it happen in a French way with an American touch. .Barbara M

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bmccall529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steeve C, Directeur général at The Americans in Paris, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
So glad you enyoyed the Tour Barbara. It was great meeting all of you !!!
Hope to see you next time in Paris for another tour. The restaurant boeuf à la mode is actually one of my best restaurant in Versailles. Thank you Steeve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Best Day of Honeymoon”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were hesitant to spend money on a trip because we hadn't planned on doing a tour in the first place, but now we can't imagine not having done it. It was the most amazing experience. You must go to see Mont Saint Michel. There is NOTHING like it in the whole world! And it was only what it was because of Steve. He's an incredible tour guide. We want to go back to France just to spend more time with him. :)

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Kristyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steeve C, Directeur général at The Americans in Paris, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you Kristyn. What a great couple you are ! I also had lots of fun with you guys in Mont Saint Michel despite of the weather !! That is the charm of Normandy country actually. Hope to see you next year in Versailles for your next movie.Keep in touch and I wish you lots of sucess. Steeve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A fabulous day in Champagne”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had found Steeve Calvo's The Americans in Paris on trip advisor and ll of the reviews were positive so we decided to give it a try (our other tours were booked by our travel agent). We were so thrilled that we made this decision. From the initial email he was delightful and helpful. He picked us up at our hotel and told us alot about what we were passing in Paris that we had not heard on two previous tours of the city! We had a beautiful drive to Champagne and he provided a wealth of information about the history, geography, culture and the specifics of the Champagne district and industry. He first brought us to a small, family Champagne maker and distributor and he knew everyone in the family. They even gave him the key to the buidings so that he could show us all aspects of production as well as the caves. He then brought us to Epernayh for a Champagne tasting . He insists that it is best to taste Champagne in the morning so we proceeded to share six (!) glasses of Champane. He taught us how to discriminate between champagnes and how to describe what we were drinking. (He is also a sommelier). We then had a terrific lunch at a Bistro he had previously nade reservations at (the place was packed with locals) and we then went on to a tour and tasting of a large house (Moet and Chandon) so that we could compare. He answered all of our questions about Champagne and Paris on our ride home. His breadth and depth of knowledge is remarkable as is his ability to communicate it in English.
Don't book a trip to Paris without scheduling a tour with Steeve.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DRELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steeve C, Directeur général at The Americans in Paris, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you so much Elissa for your positive review and the great lunch we had together in Epernay
I am so glad you enjoy the tour in Champagne with me. Happy clients is always the best recompense for a guide. Hope you enjoyed the best Chocolate shop in Paris
Hope to see you next time in France to visit another vineyard
Take care. Steeve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Paris City Tour”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We used Steeve for a full day tour of Paris as we were only going to be there for a few days and wanted to see as much as possible of Paris in a day. Steeve was able to show us a lot of Paris, so much more than what would have seen in a day without him. He has fantastic knowledge of the area. He was professional and polite. He showed us so many things and great places to eat. I would definitely use Steeve again for another tour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KatesTravels255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“USMC !”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We did seek refuge from French cooking by ducking into the American embassy for a burger...once. Too many French sauces for us.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Americans in Paris also viewed

 

Been to The Americans in Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing