We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not stay here: HORRIBLE!!!”
Review of Hotel Baby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Baby
Ranked #1,559 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“do not stay here: HORRIBLE!!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The pictures you see on the websites are nothing comparec to the real thing. We have to leave our key at the front desk when we leave the hotel... not very safe?! The bathroom is covered in black MOLT!!! Toilet paper is shoved into a hole in a 6 inch round hole in the wall ... When we mentioned it to the front desk, they said they where not aware of the issues. Well, i work at a hotel myself and i can tell you the bathroom does not get molt over night, or between us and previous guests. Just unacceptable!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jesss1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    81
    66
    41
    39
See reviews for
40
107
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I've looked at TripAdvisor for years; time to offer some limited help/opinions. My wife and I stayed here 3 nights mid-May 2013. I had read other reviews and knew about what to expect. If you don't expect too much, you won't be disappointed. This is not the Hilton or Marriott; closer to Motel 6.

The room was clean and made up daily; the bathroom was small with a small shower (typical). Our room had no view, which was OK since we spent no time there except to sleep. There was a nice flat panel TV with cable channels - none in English (but you could at least see the weather forecast and decide how to dress for the next day). The free WiFi worked very well, at least on the first floor. The on-duty manager (same guy all three days) spoke excellent English; was courteous; and was helpful (printed our airline boarding passes for free). We paid 6 euros each for a breakfast of coffee (or tea), juice, croissants and baguettes, butter & jam, Kellogg cereals -a little lower cost and much more convenient than close by McDonalds, Starbucks or restaurants.

The location is close to major Paris attractions - 20-minute walk to the Louvre or Galleries Laffite . A 5 minute walk to the Strasbourg-Saint-Denis metro station. Ten min walk to Les Halles RER station and train to CGD airport. The closest restaurant is a 3 minute walk. I would guess that there are 50 restaurants (inexpensive & expensive) within 15 minutes walking distance(including McDonalds, KFC & Starbucks if you crave "home cooking" - & many of pizza joints)

A little on the down side. Our room didn't quite look like the professional photos - but still it was OK (if you don't expect too much). As a few others have noted, this is the "red-light" area. Prostitutes are standing on the street. I guess I'm naïve, but I didn't expect to see the "working girls" at 8 am or on Sunday mornings. However, they won't bother you (after a few days, one was friendly enough to say good morning). As advertised, there is an elevator - however, it only operates between the first and fifth floor. There is a narrow, winding staircase between the ground and first floor, still (at age 74) we managed to get our suitcases to our room without too much difficulty. A few other reviewers complained about noise; we had no such problems during our stay.

Overall - good value for the money.

Room Tip: booking through the hotel's website may be a little less expensive than other websites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for a Paris sightseeing trip.The hotel is basic, but when you look at the price of other hotels in Paris, I don't see how you can expect anything else. Our room was small, looked nothing like the photographs and was extremely basic, not even a wardrobe, only a hanging rail on the wall. The bathroom and lift were both comical, you could not close the bathroom door if there was someone in there (no room) and only 1 skinny person could fit in the lift at any one time. We found this funny - along with the location. It is easy to commute around Paris from here, very close to a very well connected Metro stop and walking distance from the Notre Damme and river etc. Lots of shops nearby. Just be warned that there are streets and streets of prostitutes around the hotel, they don't come in, but you can watch them out of the window touting their wares. Clearly not suitable for young kids (unless you want an awkward conversation), but again this just added to the experience for us. I would come back again (not for a luxury experience), but for a budget stay- get a cheap deal on a last minute online site. It was clean, so fine for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

didnt expect much given the other ratings, however it was clean, great location near lots of great bakeries and walking distance to most tourist sights. also very close to gard du nord. the staff were friendly enough, it is quite noisy and in the red light district, however this is not a big issue. i would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Very cheap, small but clean. Basic hotel. 2 min away from halal food strip. Beside underground, safe. Some night ladies there during the day but they Dnt bother. It's a safe place. Lots of cheap shopping for ladies . We stayed there with family m had a great time we could eat food close by shop n very convinient

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed weekend of the 15/02/13 three night stay, please don't be put off this hotel ok its not the Ritz but it is not the worst either.
The hotel is located very close to Strasborg St Denis metro ideal for getting about for 1.70 euro buy multi tickets if you intend to use it more, a purchase of ten was a good saving check it out. The hotel itself is quaint, the room we had had four beds a good size and very warm. The linen was clean and fresh and the bed very good for sleeping in fact I slept very well. bathroom shower has some mould around the shower base the room is small but adequate, nothing to put me off 240 euro for three nights and three people including breakfast, make most of breakfast at 6 euro a bargain in Paris.
Yes, there are ladies of the night in the area, but they never bothered us. However watch your pockets, pick pockets do operate in the area and sorry to say was a victim but they only got my glasses, inconvenient to say the least. This happened in the restaurant right behind the big arch on the main street. The glasses were taken from my pocket while seated coat on chair back so beware.
The hotel does have excellent security the front door is maned 24hrs and a very welcome smile every time you come in staff were very helpful. The only one you need to look out for is the lift,small is not in it, a room at the top would be a drag having to use it all the time and its on the 1st floor anyway but its worth a lol, when you see it. All in all a great stay and hotel was fine, just watch out when your out and about, area is a little suspect and many homeless sleeping rough, but don't let it put you off. I am being very factual.

Cheers,

Tony

Room Tip: Ask for a room lower down, avoid the lift, have the breakfast 6e a bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank axeltramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
151 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in December and for 57 euros a night this place was great. You're really close to metro stations, restaurants and walking distance from the louvre. The staff is extremely helpful! You just have to realize that this isn't going to be a palace or anything. My room was very clean, the bathrooms looked like they had just been redone. There's a 24 hour concierge that mans the door. They have breakfast in the morning. The only downside to this hotel was that a couple streets down is a prostitution street. So don't be shocked to see half clothed ladies near the hotel. But overall I felt safe, and clean in this hotel. Highly recommended if you're traveling on a budget and need a clean hotel !

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaux V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Aboukir
Hotel Royal Aboukir
#1,305 of 1,802 in Paris
271 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Appi Hotel
Appi Hotel
#1,637 of 1,802 in Paris
228 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Mazagran
Hotel Mazagran
#1,578 of 1,802 in Paris
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Victory Hotel Galou
Victory Hotel Galou
#1,657 of 1,802 in Paris
84 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Excelsior Republique
Hotel Excelsior Republique
#1,521 of 1,802 in Paris
220 reviews
Opera / Bourse
D'Enghien Hotel
D'Enghien Hotel
#1,108 of 1,802 in Paris
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baby

Property: Hotel Baby
Address: 1 rue Chenier | 02 Arr., 75002 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,559 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Baby 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, up-to-date 21 room 2 star hotel in the heart of Paris,offering well-equipped, stylish , heart-warming rooms. just off Rue Saint-Denis, 2 minutes’ walk from Boulevard Sebastopol. Hôtel Baby is in Paris’ 2nd district: downtown, fast-moving and cosmopolitan, the Louvre is less than 15 minutes’ walk away. The Pompidou Centre, the enchanting Palais Royal and the classy Marais quarter are all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Baby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baby Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing