We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Modigliani
Ranked #793 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I had a great experience staying at this hotel for the past five nights, in fact I would say it is my new favourite hotel in Paris. It has many features which are unusual for a Parisian hotel in this price bracket. 1. It has a garden. 2. It is set in a pretty courtyard off the main street, so it is blissfully quiet. 3. It has a room service menu - not all hotels at this price level do. 4. Staff were generally very kind and helpful, they went out of their way to accommodate me. 5. I don't know if this is the case in every room, but my room had a proper fridge, what an excellent idea. 6. Rooms are quite large for Paris. Yes furnishing are a little scuffed around the edges, and the hairdryer isn't great, but for me those were minor issues. 7. Once in the room, there is another door to the bedroom you can close, this cuts out noise from the corridor outside. 8. There are two generously sized lifts. 9. There are room safes, and although small, my Macbook Air just fitted, another bonus. 10. Really nice big bathroom.

I can't comment on the breakfasts, but there are so many cafes right on rue Delambre and rue Vavin, and a Starbucks on nearby rue Brea, so it's not like you'd have to rely on this. There's also a bakery and a big Franprix supermarket a few doors down. Also the wifi actually worked, and wasn't restricted to only one device - again in Paris this is not a given!

Finally, i thought they had a very intelligent system for dealing with that universal hotel problem, what to do with your bags when you check out but have several hours to kill before your flight. They have a baggage room with security card entry. And if you wanted, you could kill that time sitting in their garden drinking wine and continuing to use their wifi which you still get access to once you check out. All in all i can't say enough good things!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank ACLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel has a lot of potential pluses going for it but needs work to achieve it's potential. First the good things....
It is in the Montparnasse neighborhood which is a great location. You can walk to many good restaurants and markets and if you are a walker you can walk to the Seine and the surrounding attractions. If you are not a walker the Metro is nearby as are bus lines and the Hop on Hop off bus stops. They have a lovely courtyard and garden where you can relax with a glass of wine in the evening.
Now the negatives....
The hotel is in need of some cosmetic updating although the bedding is very clean and good pillows. Our room had broken air conditioning and it was suffocating in there. We could get no help with this for the first two nights and FINALLY got them to change our room to one with working a.c. The breakfast was marginal with scrambled eggs that looked more like yellow soup and bacon that was never cooked. For 15 euros it was no bargain! The other problem for women is that their hair dryers are old and basically useless, rather like blowing your hair with a vacuum cleaner hose. Ours we had to beat to get it to even turn on. Time for an update folks!
Our biggest complaint is about some of the staff. Many were nice and helpful but others were anything but. To get a glass of wine or a Diet Coke you had to hunt down the bar person and when we needed help with the a.c. Issue it was a joke. I think some of their staff could use a little training in customer service.
My other suggestion is to book this if you must directly with the hotel as you will get a much better rate.

Room Tip: If it's summer make sure the a.c. Works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Located on rue delambre, under a minute from Vivian tube station and plenty of eateries. Staff were pleasant, rooms comfortable and reasonably priced (although breakfast and city tax extra). Many of the city sights are within easy walking distance or quick tube ride (with direct line to gare de nord). Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonstravels77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at Villa Modigliani last month (April 2014). Its layout and location are fine and are described well -- along with the immediate surroundings -- in other tripadvisor reviews.

We were quite satisfied with our quiet room (but although we were two guests there was only one baggage stand and reception wouldn't give us another one).

The buffet breakfast was plentiful but its bread and fruit could have been of a higher quality and the loose scrambled eggs could have been prepared with more care. The breakfast room staff was helpful and friendly.

As for the reception staff: We feel that everyone wins when hotel receptionists are friendly and courteous and make sincere efforts to have satisfied hotel guests. Unfortunately, we didn't always experience this to a satisfactory degree during our five-day stay at Modigliani.

And one receptionist was outright rude to us: earlier, at check-out, we had turned in our room key and, with our bags clearly visible, were then given a key for the luggage room, where we then put our bags. We returned after a few hours only to find that the key didn't work. But instead of the receptionist on duty giving us a new key politely and promptly, we were scolded for not having noticed the luggage room sign saying a key was useable only once. Only then did the receptionist give us -- reluctantly and discourteously -- a new key so that we could fetch our bags and leave for the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

room was quite small and no coffee or tea in the room otherwise its perfect for weekend in paris lovely area and nice service i would recommend to couples air single persons god for business trips xxx

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikiSkere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel is nice and comfortable. Probably not the luxury type but adequate to the price. The room is big by European standards and the location is really good: in the middle of Montparnasse, close to underground stop, the main streets, cafes and restaurants (including famous Rotonda), but as the same time being in comparatively quite area. The was one small incident though: we booked a room with 2 beds and they gave us a key for a room with a king bed. When I went down and said that this was probably the wrong room the answer was that as you had entered the room it was too late to change (how would I know without entering that they messed it up?). However, after some arguing they did agree to give us the right room.
Other than that it was a positive experience.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank worldtravel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Often going there to spent a night or two for business, not far from Montparnasse Train Station (5 minutes walk), and next to many living streets (where you can find many nice restaurants and bar). 5mn walk to the Jardin du Luxembourg, 10 mn walk to the Catacombs of Paris for the tourists, it is in a little court that you enter in the hotel, pretty peacefull place. Rooms are baic, not really beautiful, but you have everything you might need for a night. Never tried the breakfast so I can not help you on that, but I advice you to just walk 2mn to eat a nice breakfast in La Coupole or La Rotonde. As well, the hotel is not far from many movie theatres if you fancy this.

I will say, it's ok, not fantastic but quite cheap and fine for what it is! RAS!

(Reception really friendly).

Room Tip: Ask a room not facing street but the court or garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPE_VACANCES_BLEUES, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Villa Modigliani, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Mister,

Thank you very much for your kind review posted on Trip Advisor.
Our teams were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We strive to ensure optimal comfort and service, all year-round.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of greeting you again soon.

Thank you again for your comments.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#266 of 1,809 in Paris
1,872 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le Royal
Hotel Le Royal
#322 of 1,809 in Paris
659 reviews
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Raspail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#911 of 1,809 in Paris
744 reviews
Montparnasse
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
#771 of 1,809 in Paris
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Modigliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Modigliani

Address: 13 rue Delambre, 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #793 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £72 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Modigliani 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel *** in the heart of Montparnasse offers an oasis of tranquility with its peaceful courtyard and private garden in middle of Paris. This air-conditioned hotel is ideal for seminars and incentive events. La Villa Modigliani offers quality accomodation for family holidays, romantic breaks or business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Modigliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Modigliani Hotel Paris
Modigliani Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing