We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact, clean and a perfect base”
Review of Hotel Ermitage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ermitage
Ranked #1,405 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Paris
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Compact, clean and a perfect base”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The hotel is compact but has all you need in the room for a base. The bed was very comfortable, bathroom was tiny but perfectly adequate. Hotel was very quiet and reception staff helpful.
Only a few minutes’ walk from the Metro which will take 10 mins approx to get you into central Paris. A 10 minute walk will get you to Pere Lachaise Cemetery, which you can easily spend several hours walking around.
Plenty of cafes and bars and supermarkets within minutes’ walk.
If you like alternative music there is a punk venue called La Miroiterie about a 3-5 minute walk 2 streets along.
Would definitely use this hotel as a base again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Mel_Shock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    36
    62
    15
    13
See reviews for
11
79
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Was as mentioned by reviewers in TripAdvisor - small room, even smaller bathroom, face towels only and a piece of soap (no shampoo), but that is what you will get for that price. The heating was on in mid-April and on a nice spring day had to be turned off. Yes, the staircase or spiral and the difficult to climb and so try to get a room on the second or third floor. The Internet connection was quite good and there were three networks that were offered and all of them worked.

The neighbourhood was a typical working-class neighbourhood and despite what are the reviewers had said, there was no danger or security concerns. There were nice cafes immediately outside the hotel and the whole lot of restaurants. Quite a variety (Chinese, Indian, Turkish and of course a French one), bookshops and other little shops as a part of suburbia. Very educational to observe the environment.

Trip Advisor had only one of the two days that I'd required. However when I phoned the hotel (because the reviews in trip advisor were good!) directly they were able to give me a booking for both days (!).

Yes the reception did not speak much English but you could get along.

The rooms behind faced a courtyard and even with the windows open to us quiet. No problems about the water pressure or the hot water.

Room Tip: Get the rooms from the first to the third floor, simply to prevent you climbing. Otherwise all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeHooTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We only stopped in Paris for a few days and had all the sites to visit. So naturally we needed something close enough where everything was accessible but far away enough to keep the cost at a reasonable rate.

The Location- This hotel was a good choice, about 15 minutes by train from central Paris and about 10 minute walk from Jordan Metro station. The area looks slightly sketchy, I mean compared to the rest of Paris,but if you have stayed in any major city it won’t faze you. This being said it was very safe, we walked around at 12am and were not bothered. There are some really good restaurants around the area and the prices are unbeatable compared to the rest of the city (3 courses large portions and good food 16 Euro) for those who don’t fancy the French food there is a McDonalds down the street and if you walk 10 minutes further you will find a little China town (this walk also gives you view of the Eiffel tower in the distance, very beautiful at night)

The Hotel- From the outside it does not look like much. When you walk in the small entrance there are 2 doors the one to your right is reception and to left the stairs leading to the rooms. If you don’t like a good stair climb or if you enjoy a few drinks before you stumble home, you might rethink staying here. The stairs are steep, winding and the steps are very narrow in places. The hotel decor is minimal but clean from what I observed.

The Room- It was small but there was enough room for a desk, 2 night stands and a wardrobe so I can’t complain. The bed was also a good size and comfortable. I will say the bathroom is a bit of a squeeze, about airplane size but everything was spotless so I was happy.

The Staff- Did not say much, communication was a little difficult since they spoke little English and we spoke no French. The service was basic; they did not even offer an apology after we had to wait for our room 2 hours after check in. To sum it up, if you’re in the city to see the sights and need somewhere to crash that is clean, basic and within a reasonable proximity to the city centre and are not bothered about service I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you don’t mind a climb the top floors can have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Genarally, going to 1star hotel you have no extra estimations...
Big advantage is private bathroom even the size is like in submarine :)) Of course the room is also small but properly furnished and well heated (!), cleaned regularly.
I should say that for the purpose of our trip this hotel was quite sufficient, we spent all the days in the city and came only to sleep.
Bus and metro stations are cca 500 metres distance, by metro we reached Louvre in 25 min. including line change.
I´ve read some reviews of this hotel, the location seems not to be so risky, maybe on weekends it might be a little bit noisy... - but definitely not as Montmartre.
We did not take the breakfast in hotel so I cant´t judge it.
The only thing I was missing in this hotel was the elevator.
palisady@gmail.com

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank igor p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Des Vosges
Hotel Des Vosges
#1,249 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Hotel De La Comete
#1,041 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,536 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Beaunier
Hotel Beaunier
#1,373 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Montmartre
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
#1,225 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel de la Perdrix Rouge
Hotel de la Perdrix Rouge
#1,205 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ermitage

Property: Hotel Ermitage
Address: 42 B rue de l Ermitage | Quartier de Ménilmontant - 20ème arrondissement, 75020 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,405 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ermitage Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing