We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel With a Few Issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Paris - Vendome
Ranked #411 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
422 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great Hotel With a Few Issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in December experienced a number of surprises -- some good and some not so good.

There were a few areas where this hotel exceeded our lofty expectations. The first pleasant surprise came from the housekeeping staff. Our room was perfectly maintained and immaculately cleaned throughout the stay. This was probably the best housekeeping job we've ever experienced. The second exceptional result was posted by the front desk staff. They were unusually competent, helpful and polite -- really a pleasure to deal with.

There were a few areas that did not measure up. The first had to do with the noise level. We had a nice room overlooking the larger courtyard. Our first opportunity to sleep after 2 days of travel was abruptly interrupted by sounds from a loud party in the hotel's conference area, which happened to be located at the bottom of the courtyard. This turned the five story courtyard into a huge speaker/resonance chamber. Even dead tired, being on the 5th floor with the windows closed and earplugs in, there was no chance of sleeping. The desk informed us of the 'good news' -- that the music had to stop by 1:30 AM. They were kind enough to relocate us to a quieter room for the night and to provide a hand-written card and a small apology gift the next day. The loud music became an issue again on our 4th night. One has the feeling that there are some gready accountants in the management ranks who can't resist padding the hotel's margin with 'easy money' from catering/party business. Just beware if you land a room over the main courtyard during the Holiday or Wedding seasons. It will be loud.

The other unpleasant surprise was the Concierge staff. One had the distinct feeling that they would have enjoyed their time at work much more without incessant requests from all those pesky hotel guests. One time the concierge spent more time texting on his phone than helping me, even when I was standing right infront of him at his little desk. Another time he promised to make a dinner reservation and confirm with us by leaving a message. The message never came. It just seemed to be hard to get their attention and even harder to get them to show any interest in helping. Eventually we just used the internet to answer local questions.

Otherwise, the hotel met the high standards one would expect from a Westin. Nice room, great location, awesome bed, etc....

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, try to spring for one that faces the street as opposed to the main courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,360
    1,208
    498
    242
    162
See reviews for
683
1,482
161
628
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
179 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

For sure it is the best place for a romantic stay, close to the Louvre with Eiffel tower view. The staff is extremely friendly and professional. You will also find a small fitness center and a beautiful Spa.

The rooms are very nice and clean with the famous Westin bed. What I missed is a coffee machine in the room. You still can order a coffee (10E+6E room charge). Internet is 19E a day and breakfast about 40E. .... but that's Paris close to Louvre, Concorde and Place Vendome.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j75fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamplona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

This review is rather long overdue (stayed July 2012). I brought a large group to the Westin as part of Spyns Tour de France tours. This was the second year we had worked with the Paris Westin and our clients were thrilled with the hotel, service, breakfast, and rooms. If you're planning to see the 2013 Tour de France with Spyns, you can't find a better location. Located along the finish race course in Paris' 1er arrondissement, it's just a few blocks to the Champs Elysees, Louvre, great shopping, and the river Seine. Half of Spyns former clients had rooms with balconies overlooking the Eiffel Tower and Rue de Rivoli. It was a perfect TDF race finish day, sunny and warm, so everyone enjoyed the Tour champagne glass in hand from Spyns VIP rooms. The hotel's reception area, bar, atrium, and bistro are very Parisian (lots of chandeliers, gold leaf, sconces, and marble). While located in Paris, however, the hotel's cavernous hallways, grey/white carpeting, and modern rooms could be in any large city. So I wouldn't expect old-room charm above the ground floor. That said, my standard double room was spacious and had an absolutely huge bed. The bathroom however was a bit 1960s (small tub, shower curtain, and creaky fawcets). The room was always impeccably clean. Our excellent breakfasts were held in the winter garden - a large glass atrium in the hotel courtyard. It was a very VIP touch that got rave reviews from Spyns former clients. Moving to the 'needs improvement column' group check in was a fiasco. Rather than have the separate reception desk we requested with client's names and keys, we had to go through painful 5-10 minute process for each customer at main reception with "Name?"...check computer..."Credit card number?"....check computer...etc. We had already provided all of these details before arrival so the hotel truly dropped the ball. The second more minor point was the hotel provided too few tables and chairs for breakfast so our clients were waiting to eat. I discussed both issues with the very capable group reservations manager and have been assured we'll get it right for Spyns 2013 Tour de France trips. In closing: a grand Parisian hotel with an unbeatable location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

What a bad experience. As we arrived at 7am we didn't see anyone to help us. So our driver ran inside to get someone. We get checked in and are greeted nicely but that was the end to our good fortune. Flying from NYC we were tired and wanted to sleep a little. Unfortunately we could not. Housekeeper kept knocking at the door (ok we just checked in). Kids were running up and down the hall and their mothers were out there talking loudly. We called security, front desk and even the property manager. And nothing was done. Finally after 3 hrs of calling to have someone come up to control the children since the mothers were not doing it we were moved. Seemed like they were regular customer and staff was afraid to say anything to them. So they inconvenience us instead and asked us to move (we were not the ones making noise). Fine we move. Better room, but housekeeping was very pushy trying to get us out of our room to clean. Ignoring the do not disturb sign in the door. So lets continue. We were in front of the line to have the doorman call a taxi for us. 15min goes by no taxi a line forms. Older man gives the doorman 5€ and when a taxi stops he pushes the older man to the front of the line saying he had reserved one already. We had already tried to reserve or have the staff call for a taxi we were told they don't reserve "you have to stand outside". Every taxi driver had a bad attitude some refusing to drive us to our destination. During our stay the only bright spot was the night bartender names Eimeo. He was the only one who was friendly. Maybe he should train the staff being friendly. Better yet maybe run the hotel. So back to the hotel as we checked out manager came out to see how our stay was but really didn't want to hear how we really felt. We will never stay at the Westin Vandome again. We will visit the bar because it seems that is where the friendly Parisians are working. What a shame I enjoy the Westin but not the one I'm Paris. We are now in Madrid Palace Hotel Westin. Always a doorman to help you and a smiling friendly staff. Same company (hotel) different city and defiantly a different experience. Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edjimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien K, Directeur général at The Westin Paris - Vendome, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Edjimenez,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Westin Paris-Vendôme.

On a positive note, I am glad to read your satisfaction with the service provided by Eimeo and I will transmit your comment to him personally.

On the other side, I am deeply sorry to read your comments about the lack of assistance you received at your arrival and the noise disturbance with your room. I am concerned as well about your comment with the taxi driver and our doorman which will be investigated. On behalf of the Westin Paris-Vendôme team, I sincerely would like to apologize for the inconveniences encountered and for not being able to make your stay enjoyable.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your constructive feedback and let you know that I would appreciate to personally get in touch with you to further discuss your experience. Please provide us your contact details at the following email address: reservation.01729@westin.com.

With my Best regards,

Julien Kiefer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

This hotel is my absolute favourite in Paris. The location is fantastic in the very heart of the most elegant area in Paris (Place Vendome). The hotel is a fascinating old style building with very beautiful elegantly refurbished rooms, the service was so kind and perfect. This was not the first time for me in this hotel, but this time I asked for a room with the view and we got it thanks to a Platinum member upgrade. We got a small room on the last floor and the view was really breathtaking: I could view Tuileries gardens, the Louvre, the river Senna, Place de La Concorde, theTour Eiffel and the buildings on the Rive Gauche, everything just out of my window and balcony. For a romantic trip this is the maximum you can ask for: the sunset from the room was an emotion I'll never forget. I will always come back to this hotel when travelling to Paris. I strongly reccomend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValiMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

this was a good 4 star hotel in a good location for sightseeing being directly opposite the T Gardens which you can walk through to the Louvre. Just a short walk around the corner gives you a good view of the Eiffel tower which is looking spectacular with its shimmering lights at night. The room service is all a bit too slow and internet access is free in the public areas, but a bit frustrating as the connection was not consistent, as didn't always work. Staff were fairly obliging and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank healey888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

only stay there if you want to feel shortchanged! there few good things about this hotel and the overall experience is really poor!

plus points: great location, high ceiling, very comfy bed. that's about it.

minus points:
- overall lax service... nobody's at the door to take your luggage at the taxi drop-off... so you've got to drag them all the way up the stairs to the reception. the gym/business center is not manned... etc. etc.
- poor noise isolation: you hear the neighbors, the cars passing in the street, and the garbage collection at 4am will wake you up for sure.
- weak water pressure. unbelievable, but true! hardly any water coming out of the tap... bad mood out of the shower guaranteed.
- laughable gym - their "24/7 spa/fitness" as they call it is located in the basement. it's a corner of a corridor they have painted in white, no window, stuffy, no decent weights... ridiculous
- non existent business center - 3 PCs with slow internet connection, the printers only worked on 1 of them. nobody to help, or handle any query.
- super expensive breakie. what, 10 euro for a coffee and a cold croissant??? and the WIFI does work? you must be kidding.
- 'refreshment center' - in other words, the mini bar - they went high-tech, if you move anything around it's considered bought. can't be used to chill a bottle of wine you buy outside... ah well, at least you can open the window and leave it to chill outdoors :)
avoid.
avoid.
avoid.

Room Tip: try to have non street facing windows unless you plan to party the night away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank voyager_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien K, Directeur général at The Westin Paris - Vendome, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear Voyager_explorer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience at The Westin Paris-Vendôme.

I very much appreciate reading your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from our Guests that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have. Please note that we are currently conducting maintenance work in some part of the hotel on our hot water system that will be finalized by the 10th of January. We have also plan to change, by mid 2013, all our mini-bar to be able to offer an area where our guests would be able to store 1 or 2 items.

I would like to sincerely apologize for the lack of service you feel you received during your stay and I would appreciate to personally get in touch with you to further discuss your experience. Could you please provide us your contact details at the following email address: reservation.01729@westin.com

With my Best regards,

Julien Kiefer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Opera / Bourse
W Paris - Opera
W Paris - Opera
#344 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#108 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#44 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Paris - Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Paris - Vendome

Property: The Westin Paris - Vendome
Address: 3 Rue De Castiglione, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Spa Hotel in Paris
#248 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#368 Family Hotel in Paris
#387 Business Hotel in Paris
#471 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Paris - Vendome 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Westin Paris. Overlooking the Tuileries Gardens and the Eiffel Tower, The Westin Paris is an idyllic retreat in the midst of the invigorating French capital. Savour the flavours of the City of Lights at le First, restaurant boudoir paris, which gives you a taste of the contemporary. Our Spa, a place to relax, revive and experience complete renewal, the first Six Senses in Paris – Six Senses at rue de Castiglione. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Paris - Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Paris - Vendome Hotel Paris
Westin Paris
Paris Westin
Westin Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing