We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, service, but too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin Paris - Vendome
Ranked #476 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Bregenz
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good location, service, but too expensive”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Old building, room first night very noisy, moved to better room, smaller but on 5th floor. Very friendly service and perfect location for Paris if ou want to move around by foot. Wifi 45€ for 3 days, way too expensive!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoefromAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    1,245
    528
    254
    176
See reviews for
726
1,545
166
651
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is in a great location in Paris. Almost all museums and monuments are within walking distance which is a plus.

Concierge was very helpful in recommending great restaurants nearby given we were in a touristy neighborhood.

Rooms were small (like most europoean hotels) but you aren't in Paris for the room, you are there for the sights.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here with my family and was extremely unhappy. We specifically booked here because we're Starwood platinum and accepted the rating by Starwood. Also had friends stay here and recommend. The rooms are small and dark. The bath rooms have little or no counter space and the shower is extremely tight.. The TV worked only some times. The room was NOISY and WARM. We complained from day one that the air was not working well and they never fixed it. They offered us a fan which is infuriating when you're spending upwards of $600/per room per night. This hotel is a level 4 at best and should be priced as such. The location is great but this hotel is in need of repair. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien K, Directeur général at The Westin Paris - Vendome, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Tracy K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Westin Paris-Vendôme.

We value your feedback especially coming from a loyal Starwood customer. I am deeply sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during this stay among us and I would like to sincerely apologize on behalf of The Westin Paris team. I read carefully your comments and I sincerely regret your disappointing experience with your room, TV and air conditioning. Please allow me to follow up on the important issues that you have raised. To do so, I would like to talk to you personally, so if you would be so kind to write an e-mail to my personal assistant stephanie.leboulanger@westin.com and tell me how I can contact you, it will be my pleasure to return your message with a personal call or e-mail.

With my Best Regards,

Julien Kiefer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

If you get a tuileries facing room, you can see the place de concorde, Eiffel tower and a lovely leafy canopy ( in season!) spread out at your feet. You can also walk to the other bits you cant see very easily. There are some nice staterooms with both faux and real 19th century gilding . The rooms are comfy enough, service is decent and the foods not bad - though this is Paris and you will be eating out a lot and not spending much time in your room. Its a big hotel so there are q a lot of conferences so bear that in mind if a foyer full of "suits" annoys you. All Parisian hotels are expensive and this isn't stratospheric. In conclusion there are few reasons not to make this your Parisian base for a few days.

Room Tip: facing the tuileries
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaska, MN
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel really has the best possible location for sightseeing in Paris. We had a room overlooking the Tuilleries with a view of the Louvre. We loved standing on our balcony watching the Eiffel Tower twinkle at night. Our room was very nice, comfortable bed, etc. but it was really all about the location and view for me. The only negative thing that happened during our stay was that a staff person opened the door and walked in during the afternoon without knocking. The hotel is expensive, even for Paris, but it was a special trip for us that we will always remember.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaska_MNChaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres L, Director of Rooms at The Westin Paris - Vendome, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Chaska_MNChaska,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay with us.

We are happy that you enjoyed our location, the room and the view however we regret the incident of the person who entered in the room without knockining. Please be assured that this is not the usual standards of service that we deliver to our guests and please accept my sincere apologies about this matter.

Thank you again for your review and for staying with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Be Well,

Andres Lopez-Dafonte
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
472 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I HAVE STAYED HERE MANY TIMES AND EACH TIME I DO I PROMISE NEVER TO RETURN.

THIS TIME ,I MEAN IT ,NEVER AGAIN!

I am Platinum for life with Starwood and have Ambassador status. That means I stay more than 100 nights a year in their hotels and Starwood corporate assigns an Ambassador to you to manage your stays in their hotels.

I had a prestige suite with a king size bed confirmed when I received an email from my Ambassador that the hotel confirmed that they had upgraded me to an Ambassador suite.

I arrived at the hotel and was greeted by Titika who said she remembered me from prior stays
at fashion week. when she told me that they did not have the Ambassador Suite I was promised,
I pulled out my cell phone and showed her the email from Starwood corporate confirming that they spoke to the hotel and confirmed the upgrade.

After reading the email,Titika said we sold that room, We never upgrade guests to that suite . Corporate should never have confirmed that to you.

So seeing that talking to her was a waste of time , I decided to go to my room and I asked her to confirm that the room had a king size bed as confirmed in my reservation. She replied ,yes.
I said not two singles pushed together but a real king? and she replied yes.

I went to the room to find a queen size bed!

I called Titika and told her that it was a queen size bed and my feet hang off the end of a queen bed. She then denied that she had told me 5 minutes earlier that the room had a king bed!
The room also had lots of mold in the shower(see photo) that obviously had been there for a very long time !

I asked to speak to the manager and of course he had gone for the day . The rooms control manager met with me and I told him of my experience . He seemed quite alarmed that Titika
lied to me about the King sized bed. Which is odd since they moved me to a bigger suite the next day with a king size bed.

The room was so noisy you couldn't sleep and as I tossed and turned I fell into this void in the mattress( see photo) . I got up and pulled the sheets off and imagine ,the bed was two singles pushed together.

Do you think the rooms control manager knew that when he acted horrified that Titika lied to me about the bed in the other room?

The service is terrible ,the rooms are terrible ,the common areas are dirty and worn out(see photos) !

DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank TravelLikeaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very nice, old world Parisian style, but also very expensive and formal. Excellent location close to the Louvre and high-end shopping. Easily walking distance to many attractions, restaurants, etc. It doesn't have the contemporary feel as most Westin's do, but you wouldn't necessarily expect that here either.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the Eiffel Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#101 of 1,800 in Paris
1,082 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
W Paris - Opera
W Paris - Opera
#389 of 1,800 in Paris
982 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Paris - Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Paris - Vendome

Property: The Westin Paris - Vendome
Address: 3 Rue De Castiglione, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in Paris
#292 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#368 Family Hotel in Paris
#387 Business Hotel in Paris
#471 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Paris - Vendome 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Westin Paris. Overlooking the Tuileries Gardens and the Eiffel Tower, The Westin Paris is an idyllic retreat in the midst of the invigorating French capital. Savour the flavours of the City of Lights at le First, restaurant boudoir paris, which gives you a taste of the contemporary. Our Spa, a place to relax, revive and experience complete renewal, the first Six Senses in Paris – Six Senses at rue de Castiglione. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Paris - Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Paris - Vendome Hotel Paris
Westin Paris
Paris Westin
Westin Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing