We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room and bathroom, and almost useless wi-fi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel du Loiret
Ranked #1,092 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My room, like most non-luxury rooms in Paris, was barely more than a bed and a phone box-sized bathroom. The desk could barely accommodate my laptop (I didn't use it much anyway, since the wi-fi connection was so slow that I had to use a stripped-down version of gmail just to check and send emails), and there was nowhere to hang a toiletries bag in the bathroom. Thin walls let in more noise than the window, which sealed well and opened onto a narrow, enclosed ledge with a view to the street. I skipped the breakfast option, since there are dozens of cafes in the area. The location was great for walking in the Marais, and it was close to the metro. One complaint: my bathroom had not been cleaned very well: there was hair from a previous guest on the small shower stall drain.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location in a good price point. I would recommend if you are OK with the following:
Tiny rooms
Staff not very helpful
Small bathroom with no amenities or electricity outlet to plug in

If you want to stay in Le Marias on a budget, this is the place for you. Otherwise you will need to stay elsewhere or pay a lot more. The neighbourhood is fantastic with great shops, bars and restaurants.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChelseaCasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I spent a few days in this hotel at the end of June. Its is a charming old fashion hotel, and its location cannot be beat: right next to Hotel de Ville, with the metro nearby, in a very heart of the Marais. The rooms are rather small, but clean and nicely decorated. Two important points... First, there is no air conditioning in the hotel. If you go there in the summer, it can be a major problem. As I said, it is located in a busy neighborhood and sleeping with the window open means a lot of street noise coming in. Second, they strangely do not have "do not disturb" cards to leave on your door: I was woken up by housekeeping opening my door two times in three days! Not a bad establishment, but I am not sure I'll be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. There can be a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yves M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

They provided a basic and clean room in a great location to jump off to multiple sites. My main issue is that the agreed upon price was not honored upon checkout. It was only a 20 Euro price difference over the course of a few days but an irritation nonetheless. 3 weeks of emails have not yielded the refund that they promised.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sactraveler008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Cheapest hotel we could find that was clean, near a metro station (Hotel de Ville) and around boulangeries and cafes.

Great cafe around the corner with Japanese food, American Hot Dog and an Italian cafe selling affordable pizzas/pastas with an Italian flavour - cheapest pizza is 10 Euros! Italian place is called Jardin du Marais.

Room is small by Asian standards but is clean and cozy. Toilet though a tad squeezy was sufficient for us but could be small for Europeans. We stayed on the 5th floor and had a great view of the scenery outdoors. See picture below.

Marais is indeed a gorgeous place to live. Wandering around the streets can be a good way to experience the stress of Paris. Tres manifique!

Good hotel location and we would definitely come back again next time!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fuschial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This little hotel was half or a third of the price of nearby hotels! (100 Euros/night.) Neat, clean, quiet with a very friendly, helpful, staff. Next to the Hotel de Ville and 10 minutes from Notre Dame. The room was tiny but bed & bath adequate. (30 Euros more gets you a larger room.) But a word of caution - we were there in the cool spring & I'm not sure air conditioning is available. Check this out if you're going in the summer!)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herb514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Writing this as we are preparing to check out from the Hotel Loiret after a comfortable 4 day stay. This was part of our 10th anniversary trip. This is a smaller Hotel located 5 minutes away from Notre Dame in an old french building. It has been renovated recently, not sure when but it looks fairly new on the inside.

This is not your typical modern hotel so don't expect a gym or large dining room. The rooms are small but comfortable and clean. The renovations were well done and the bathroom, while also very small was modern and clean as well. Flat screen is provided but the channels are all in French but if you come to Paris to watch TV you have some serious issues. Wi-fi was included in the room and worked well from our 4th floor room,

The view from our room was great for us as we could look out into the alleys and streets surrounding the hotel and felt like we were really in Paris instead of in some touristy hotel. Bonus, the windows actually opened to allow us to see and hear the activities in the streets.

Staff here is very friendly and helpful, answering most of the questions we had.

The area around the hotel is fantastic, probably no fewer than 20 restaurants within a 5 minute walk and there was even a laundromat close by as well. As stated we were only 5 minutes from Notre dame and the Seinne river and maybe a 15 minute walk from the Louvre. Rue de Rivoli is the main road near the hotel and the walk to the Louvre will take you past tons of shops and restaurants.

This is an easy recommend for those travelers who just want a clean, warm place to stay and don't require the pampering of a modern mega hotel.

Only drawback for us was that the surrounding nightlife could go later into the night and the windows and walls let in the noise pretty well, but its a minor complaint.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,100 of 1,804 in Paris
268 reviews
Le Marais
France Louvre
France Louvre
#1,463 of 1,804 in Paris
282 reviews
Le Marais
D'win Hotel
D'win Hotel
#1,026 of 1,804 in Paris
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel de Nice
Hotel de Nice
#711 of 1,804 in Paris
306 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Paris Rivoli
Hotel Paris Rivoli
#688 of 1,804 in Paris
470 reviews
Le Marais
Vieux Marais
Vieux Marais
#1,354 of 1,804 in Paris
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Loiret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Loiret

Address: 8 rue des Mauvais Garcons | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#641 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £93 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel du Loiret 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel du Loiret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing