We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got kicked out after buying a crepe!”
Review of Esmeralda

Esmeralda
Ranked #14,790 of 20,259 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
Neighbourhood: Ile de la Cité / Ile Saint-Louis
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Ile de la Cité / Ile Saint-Louis
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Beware of buying any snack from them just because this is the first cafe you'd see near Notre Dame. My husband and I bought a crepe and a tuna sandwich and decided to get a table outdoor. A minute later this waiter rudely asked us to leave just because what we bought is supposed to be a take out. We could've bought drinks had we known that we had to order from the menu. And as a tourist and somebody who is not used to eating a long tuna sandwich while walking, he could've notified us in a polite manner. I would've understood if it was busy but it was quite empty. Btw, the tuna sandwich is dry and boring.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank WanderJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

The Esmeralda offers the best French Onion Soup in Paris. It has crusty brown cheese on the top, the bread beneath is slightly toasted, and the soup itself is delicious. I have tried soup all over Paris and this is the BEST.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Gil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We ate here on out last day. We enjoyed the fixed prices in this area, so we went back. The fixed price was $19 for either app and plate or plate and dessert of the day. They offered onion soup, so we choose this place. The soup was excellent, flavorful and full of onions and cheese. For plates: the beef bourgeon was ordered as was the veal melianise. Kids ordered filled crepes. The food was good, the waiter was attentive.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank M2He
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Went in for a coffee. The coffee was especially bad, and cost €5 - for a double expresso. A waiter tripped over, nearly injuring my wife - saved by the fact she was wearing a couple of layers - and insulted her in addition to ruined clothes.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank NielsS190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We wanted to get a little bit await from the busy-ness of Norte Dame so we walked down the street going toward Ile St. Louis and found Esmeralda. There is a creperie in the front where you can order take-always or you can go inside and order table service. Of course, it does cost more sitting inside. We started with (escargot as an appetizer)....they needed more salt but delicious anyway.....then we shared chicken and cheese, ham and cheese, and vegetable crepes. Our waiter was excellent.....he was very attentive and responded positively to all of our trivial requests...water, butter, hot sauce, bread. Would definitely Italy dine here again if our Paris sightseeing takes us here again.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GLaSota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Esmeralda also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing