We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is OK, but do not expect any help at the reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Libertel Canal Saint-Martin
Ranked #416 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I stayed 3 nights over a weekend and booked a VILLA COSI room, at the first floor of building 3.
Positive aspects: The room itself is pretty fine for one person: renovated, clean, silent, with a nice view on a inner court. The hotel is located quite close to a metro station and also to a bus stop of the night-buses (quite useful if you come back late at night when Metro is not circulating anymore). There are also a couple of very good bakeries a few meters away from the hotel entrance, where one can have a cheap and good breakfast or sandwich.
Negative aspects: A slight disadvantage of the room is that the WC is separated from the basin and the shower. A more serious problem was that a disgusting bad smell (like sewer) was coming from the shower; it was present also at the entrance of the basement. It was somewhat unexpected for an hotel that had been clearly renovated recently. By closing the glass door of the shower and opening the window the smell was going away, though. Another problem is the attitude of the personnel at the reception of the hotel. A part from a young guy, all others were quite impolite, completely helpless in any minimal request (such as the address of a specific theater), treating you as if they are doing a favor by listening to you, in a word the typical attitude of hotels' personnel in Paris.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FD-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2011

I had a weekend off with my partner to paris and stayed at Libertel. Very good location, about 15 min walking from gare du nord. Also there is a subway right in front of the hotel, with 3 different lines mc donalds in the corner. The room i allocated was very small although very comfortable and clean. Powerful shower, hair dryer, comfortable bed , good pillows , tv with English channels. Breakfast was very good as well. Friendly staffs. If you are going on budget i strongly recommend Libertel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joaosiriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The hotel was easy to reach, the subway was just a few walk, and many restaurants around here. The room was clean and comfort. wifi worked well. bathroom also clean. This area wasn't a busy area, it was quiet so we slept very well at night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Booked this hotel through reviews here in Trip Advisor and was pleasantly surprised. I've read reviews about rude staffs and small rooms but in all fairness to the hotel, in our 3 night stay there, we did not encounter a rude staff. They were quite distant but if you asked for help, they are willing to help you. We booked a comfort room, and the room is not small at all! They were about the same size as our first hotel in Paris (in which we paid twice the price for this hotel!). The washroom is very clean but there is no shower curtain or sliding glass so water kept splashing into the washroom floor. There are no toothpaste, toothbrush, conditioners and lotions. So make sure you bring them. However, there are hairdryer, shampoo and small soap provided. There is also a water kettle and tea/coffee provided. And the best of all is that there is free wifi in the rooms! The only problem is that the walls are quite thin so we can hear the TV of our "neighbor" throughout the night. With regards to the location, this hotel is not located near the major tourist attractions but it can get you there in probably around 30 minutes or less. The main station near the hotel is Jaures and takes around a minute walk to get there. The hotel is near sites such as Montmarte and Moulin Rouge (4 stops to Montmarte, 6 stops to the Moulin Rouge). Around the hotel, there are bakeries and many cafes so you do not have to worry about getting hungry! And there is also a McDonalds very near the hotel. There are less tourists in this part of Paris which is good as Paris gets really crowded with tourists especially during the summer!

Overall, this is a very very very good value for a Paris hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

After some disastrous experiences staying in other '2 star' hotels years ago I swore never to do so again. But this trip we were only staying one night, and Paris is so expensive, I decided to risk it and am glad I did.

The hotel has a 24 hour reception and is only about 15 minutes walk from Gare du Nord along busy streets - so it's fine if you're arriving on Eurostar late at night. The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful in recommending where to eat even though it was so late.

It is right near a metro station that was only 3 stops from Sacre Couer/Montmartre area so very convenient for that part of town.

The rooms was small, yes, but not unbearably so. It was cleverly arranged - TV hanging on wall, shelves rather than nightstands, so there was still plenty of floorspace for our bags. The bed was comfortable and even though we had a room on 1st floor facing the street, the traffic noise did not bother me at all - I think the windows must have sealed it out. We had a lovely windowbox of geraniums too outside the window. The bathroom was spotlessy clean and modern, brightly tiled - far nicer than some 4 star places I've stayed even though it was small.

The nicest touch was the kettle and sachets for coffee/tea in the morning which I hadn't expected, but were most appreciated! The hotel does offer breakfast which we didn't try as were meeting friends - but there is a boulangerie just a few doors away so you could always just grab a pastry on the go yourself. Breakfast wasn't included in our roomrate but it was only 8 euros a person extra so would have been worth it, if we'd had time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynettefromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Was worried about the hotel being small as mentioned before, but when we got there we found the room clean and cosy. The size of the room was normal as compared to other hotels. The walls and bathroom are in good conditions. The TV was big and there was kettle inside to use. it is a few steps from metro and the supermart was just beside. There are lots of cafeteria nearby so no worries of getting back late with hungry stomach. The elevator in the hotel can fit 2 ppl with 4 luggages, that's good for me.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sg_gal_holi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The hotel was very good value, and the room was spotless.

We stayed for 6 nights, and had a 'villa cosi' room. It was not a large room but was plenty big enough (and rooms tend to be on the very small side in Paris!) We had 2 suitcases and there was room for these without the room being too cramped. There was also free wifi.

The bed was comfortable, and was a perfect base for a trip to Paris. The location was good, and was very close to the metro so we had no problems reaching any of the destinations in Paris. We just bought a book of 10 metro tickets every few days. Although on a busy road, we couldn't hear any noise even with the windows open, and our room overlooked a courtyard.

The hotel is near to the canal which is nice to walk along.

There is a lovely patisserie next door, and a supermarket a few doors down as well.

We didn't have much interaction with the staff but they were friendly in passing.

Overall, a good value hotel with convenient access to the centre of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Home MODERNE
#288 of 1,803 in Paris
1,068 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Aida Marais
Hotel Aida Marais
#447 of 1,803 in Paris
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#239 of 1,803 in Paris
949 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Art Hotel Congres
Art Hotel Congres
#689 of 1,803 in Paris
516 reviews
Montparnasse
Villa Royale Montsouris
Villa Royale Montsouris
#409 of 1,803 in Paris
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libertel Canal Saint-Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libertel Canal Saint-Martin

Address: 5 avenue Secretan, 75019 Paris, France (Formerly Libertel La Villette)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#363 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £52 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Libertel Canal Saint-Martin 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel's 69 rooms, entirely renovated and air-conditioned, are contained in 3 small typical Parisian buildings joined by a courtyard and a garden. The largest building has 38 rooms overlooking the main street. Some, named "Paris Comfort" offers a balcony with stunning views of the Butte Montmartre and the Sacre-Coeur. The 25 rooms of the second building, called "Privilege" as is peacefully located in the yard and garden. Warm tones married to white duvets give their charm and intimacy. The 6 remaining rooms, named "Villa Cosi", renovated in warm colors are located in a charming town house, surprisingly quiet for the middle of Paris. The approach of our architects was to rethink the rooms as comfortable cocoons using a rational and highly practical layout to make all the services immediately accessible along the walls. The choice of materials and subtly contemporary colours give a chic touch of elegance and design to the decor. The comfort and modernity are enhanced by the presence of large flat screen television with TNT and satellite, new bedding with quilt instead of the traditional bedspreads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Libertel Canal Saint-Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertel Canal Saint-Martin Hotel Paris
Libertel Canal Saint Martin Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing