We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but noisy and hot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Standard Design
Ranked #585 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We have just finished a 33 day bus tour of Europe and stayed in many hotels.
We were recommended to stay here by our travel agent and the location is good. Enjoyed options of Cafes, Patisserie, Supermarkets. Also access to Metro. Room small, compact and fine. They loaned us a kettle. Breakfast included was basic but lovely. You get to boil your own eggs. Nice touch. Good coffee machine.
Downside. It's 4am and my second night here. Facing the noisy street above the cafe. We're hot and no fan and a/c is turned off for winter, so HAVE had to sleep with windows open both nights. It's very noisy in this room. Management would do well to retain a/c in order for guests to be able to sleep with windows closed. That way we'd actually get some decent sleep!
Also, space for, but no towel racks. I did request. Means they have to replace towels daily when I'd be happy to reuse.
Reception and housekeeping staff were fabulous. Check out of 12pm much appreciated.
We are larger sized people and had a small room, but no problems with that.
Bed was very comfortable. Shower great.
Because of noise and heat I'd not choose this venue again. Yet I do believe Management could largely address this issue by leaving a/c on.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bb1950s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msoso, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Standard Design, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear bb1950s,

We hope that your had a nice european tour, and we are deeply sorry that you had a last night spoiled by street noises. The fact is that just before your arrival, the weather was cold, and the AC had been switched to heater. The day you stayed at the hotel, the weather turned suddenly warm, and unfortunately it takes 48 H for the heater to switch to AC. We are deeply sorry for this technical inconvenience, and we hope, despite this, that you enjoyed the city of Light.

The Standard Design Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

As most people say the rooms are compact but have everything you need when staying on a city break. They were nicely decorated in modern bright colours with flat screen tv, ipod docks & a very small bathroom with a shower. Free wifi was a bonus which worked in the cafe next door! The rooms were neat and clean. The location was ideally located 5 minutes walk from the Bastille metro station which is on a direct line from Gare du Nord. We found it no bother with our trolley cases getting to & from the hotel.
The hotel is above a busy and popular cafe/bar which was busy throughout the day from breakfast into the night with locals drinking. The food was very good there and reasonably priced. Happy hour each day 5-8pm meant a pint or a cocktail was 5 euro which is cheap for Paris.
Breakfast at the hotel was typically continental and quite pricey if you didn't have it included (15 euro). Depending on who was working in the dining area in the morning depended on how much the food was replenished. One staff member was more interested in looking at herself in the mirror than actually bringing more food out! There were plenty of cafes along the road on the way to the metro to get breakfast at reasonable cost, including a lovely bakery.
The biggest disappointment was the noise at night. We stayed from the 5th September for the weekend and even with double glazing the street noise went on most of the night. After the first night I slept with cotton wool rolled up in my ears to try and block the noise out. Luckily the air con was still switched on so it wasn't too hot.
Location was the best part of the stay as the metro takes you so easily to the main sights in minutes and always runs on time & regularly.
We stayed here for our honeymoon and I emailed the hotel ahead of our stay twice to see if anything special could be done for our stay but they never bothered replying.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street if there are any and you may get lucky with the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Southwold, United Kingdom
4128
Reviewed 7 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 September 2013

True the rooms are compact but spotlessly clean and well equipped, even to the extent of an i-Tune player but ‘oversize folk’ need not apply, they just wouldn’t fit. The bathroom is small but fully functional and again spotlessly clean.
The Bastille is a good area to be located. But despite the fact that the address of the ‘Standard Design ‘ is that of a small quiet side street, many of the rooms overlook a very busy street, Rue de la Roquette, and an extremely popular bar (which is also a good convenient place for breakfast). However, If you plan to sleep: forget it. The level of noise at the weekend is greater than I have experienced in any hotel the World over! It builds to a crescendo from 11pm until 3am and slowly works down by 4am when the service trucks start delivering. The hotel claims that they have some quiet rooms overlooking the courtyard. If you can’t get one of those…look elsewhere if sleep is important to you. So this could be suitable for a business stay but avoid the weekend. We visited late September when it was still warm but the air con had already been switched off (“C’est hiver) according to the surly night-clerk. The result was that because the windows needed to be kept closed because of the noise it was both hot and noisy.
One of the reasons we chose the hotel was the proximity to Bastille metro and the convenience of the metro line to Gare du Nord ( Eurostar) /Gare du Lyon/Gare du l'Est.. Unfortunately this hotel is located a bit too far from the metro to comfortably wheel luggage unless young and/or reasonably fit.

Room Tip: Courtyard only if you want any sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Going to bed the first night, turning off the lights, I suddenly feel something crawling over me. After a moment of screaming and turning on the light again, we saw what it was... A tiny mouse escaping under the door out in the hallway. The staff handled it the best way they could, secured the room for another visit and of course upgraded us the day after (no other available rooms that night) and they told me when checking out that they had found the mouse dead... as if a mouse is normally alone.. Apart from the mouse it was an ok hotel with a great location. But the fact remains, I had a mouse in my bed!


  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeatriceB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeStandard, Directeur général at Hotel Standard Design, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Beatrice,

I am terribly sorry for the horrible experience you had at our hotel. We constantly strive to make sure our guests get the best of our hospitality and work on details to make a difference.

Although such inconvenience remains exceptionnal, what you have been through is unacceptable and I would appreciate if you could send me an email on direction@standard-design-hotel-paris.com

I am positive in finding a way to compensate for you this misadventure in a way or another.

Our kindest regards and very sincere apologies.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel was ideally situated a 5-10min walk from the bastille metro station, perfect for getting to all the main tourist attractions. The bastille area had plenty of café/bars and was busy on an evening.

The hotel itself was very clean and the service was great. Although the rooms were small they were nicely designed, the breakfast was your usual continental stuff, but get there early as when we went after 9 there seemed to be a lack of plates/bowls/butter.

All in all probably good value for Paris but as this was our first trip it's difficult to compare

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottyc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed for two nights . Room small but I expected that . It was ok for two nights but not for longer . The hotel was very clean , the staff friendly and the food at breakfast was limited choice wise but good quality . The Bastille area around is great for restaurants etc . I would be more than happy to stay again .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Marais Bastille
Hotel Marais Bastille
#236 of 1,805 in Paris
687 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Paris Bastille
Hotel Paris Bastille
#759 of 1,805 in Paris
452 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Daval
Hotel Daval
#1,290 of 1,805 in Paris
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Alhambra
Hotel Alhambra
#525 of 1,805 in Paris
610 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Campanile Paris 11 - Bastille
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Opera
Hotel Corona Opera
#358 of 1,805 in Paris
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Standard Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Standard Design

Address: 29 rue des Taillandiers, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#638 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £71 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Standard Design 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Standard Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Standard Design Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing