We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Standard Design
Nearby Hotels
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Mercure Paris Bastille Marais(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Le Six(Paris)
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Astoria - Astotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Hotel Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$409
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$1,788
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,422
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (669)
Filter reviews
669 results
Traveller rating
184
323
107
35
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
323
107
35
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe bastille metro stationbastille neighborhoodlively arearue de lahotel providednight liferecommend this hotelgood sizethird floorcity breakcouple of nightslight sleeperbed was comfortableexcellent locationstayed here for nightslots of restaurantsbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 669 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We have just finished a 33 day bus tour of Europe and stayed in many hotels.
We were recommended to stay here by our travel agent and the location is good. Enjoyed options of Cafes, Patisserie, Supermarkets. Also access to Metro. Room small, compact and fine. They loaned us a kettle. Breakfast included was basic but lovely. You get to boil your own eggs. Nice touch. Good coffee machine.
Downside. It's 4am and my second night here. Facing the noisy street above the cafe. We're hot and no fan and a/c is turned off for winter, so HAVE had to sleep with windows open both nights. It's very noisy in this room. Management would do well to retain a/c in order for guests to be able to sleep with windows closed. That way we'd actually get some decent sleep!
Also, space for, but no towel racks. I did request. Means they have to replace towels daily when I'd be happy to reuse.
Reception and housekeeping staff were fabulous. Check out of 12pm much appreciated.
We are larger sized people and had a small room, but no problems with that.
Bed was very comfortable. Shower great.
Because of noise and heat I'd not choose this venue again. Yet I do believe Management could largely address this issue by leaving a/c on.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bb1950s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msoso, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Standard Design, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear bb1950s,

We hope that your had a nice european tour, and we are deeply sorry that you had a last night spoiled by street noises. The fact is that just before your arrival, the weather was cold, and the AC had been switched to heater. The day you stayed at the hotel, the weather turned suddenly warm, and unfortunately it takes 48 H for the heater to switch to AC. We are deeply sorry for this technical inconvenience, and we hope, despite this, that you enjoyed the city of Light.

The Standard Design Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

As most people say the rooms are compact but have everything you need when staying on a city break. They were nicely decorated in modern bright colours with flat screen tv, ipod docks & a very small bathroom with a shower. Free wifi was a bonus which worked in the cafe next door! The rooms were neat and clean. The location was ideally located 5 minutes walk from the Bastille metro station which is on a direct line from Gare du Nord. We found it no bother with our trolley cases getting to & from the hotel.
The hotel is above a busy and popular cafe/bar which was busy throughout the day from breakfast into the night with locals drinking. The food was very good there and reasonably priced. Happy hour each day 5-8pm meant a pint or a cocktail was 5 euro which is cheap for Paris.
Breakfast at the hotel was typically continental and quite pricey if you didn't have it included (15 euro). Depending on who was working in the dining area in the morning depended on how much the food was replenished. One staff member was more interested in looking at herself in the mirror than actually bringing more food out! There were plenty of cafes along the road on the way to the metro to get breakfast at reasonable cost, including a lovely bakery.
The biggest disappointment was the noise at night. We stayed from the 5th September for the weekend and even with double glazing the street noise went on most of the night. After the first night I slept with cotton wool rolled up in my ears to try and block the noise out. Luckily the air con was still switched on so it wasn't too hot.
Location was the best part of the stay as the metro takes you so easily to the main sights in minutes and always runs on time & regularly.
We stayed here for our honeymoon and I emailed the hotel ahead of our stay twice to see if anything special could be done for our stay but they never bothered replying.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street if there are any and you may get lucky with the street noise.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Southwold, United Kingdom
4130
Reviewed 7 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 September 2013

True the rooms are compact but spotlessly clean and well equipped, even to the extent of an i-Tune player but ‘oversize folk’ need not apply, they just wouldn’t fit. The bathroom is small but fully functional and again spotlessly clean.
The Bastille is a good area to be located. But despite the fact that the address of the ‘Standard Design ‘ is that of a small quiet side street, many of the rooms overlook a very busy street, Rue de la Roquette, and an extremely popular bar (which is also a good convenient place for breakfast). However, If you plan to sleep: forget it. The level of noise at the weekend is greater than I have experienced in any hotel the World over! It builds to a crescendo from 11pm until 3am and slowly works down by 4am when the service trucks start delivering. The hotel claims that they have some quiet rooms overlooking the courtyard. If you can’t get one of those…look elsewhere if sleep is important to you. So this could be suitable for a business stay but avoid the weekend. We visited late September when it was still warm but the air con had already been switched off (“C’est hiver) according to the surly night-clerk. The result was that because the windows needed to be kept closed because of the noise it was both hot and noisy.
One of the reasons we chose the hotel was the proximity to Bastille metro and the convenience of the metro line to Gare du Nord ( Eurostar) /Gare du Lyon/Gare du l'Est.. Unfortunately this hotel is located a bit too far from the metro to comfortably wheel luggage unless young and/or reasonably fit.

Room Tip: Courtyard only if you want any sleep
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Going to bed the first night, turning off the lights, I suddenly feel something crawling over me. After a moment of screaming and turning on the light again, we saw what it was... A tiny mouse escaping under the door out in the hallway. The staff handled it the best way they could, secured the room for another visit and of course upgraded us the day after (no other available rooms that night) and they told me when checking out that they had found the mouse dead... as if a mouse is normally alone.. Apart from the mouse it was an ok hotel with a great location. But the fact remains, I had a mouse in my bed!


  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeatriceB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeStandard, Directeur général at Hotel Standard Design, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Beatrice,

I am terribly sorry for the horrible experience you had at our hotel. We constantly strive to make sure our guests get the best of our hospitality and work on details to make a difference.

Although such inconvenience remains exceptionnal, what you have been through is unacceptable and I would appreciate if you could send me an email on direction@standard-design-hotel-paris.com

I am positive in finding a way to compensate for you this misadventure in a way or another.

Our kindest regards and very sincere apologies.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews