We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“under "reconstruction"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Standard Design
Ranked #508 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

All hallways and reception area under heavy Restoration. Workers all day long and heavy noise. So if you plan to go this week...better to cancel.I did not enjoy at all, even though The room and bathroom- small but comfortable; breakfast pretty basic, but was ok for the only two times I eat it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrica_trick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msoso, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Standard Design, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Patrica

We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Unfortunately; we have undertaken some redecoration works, and of course,,this causes some noise pollution we can't avoid.
However, we hope to welcome you again in a new decorated hotel you will shurely appreciate.

The Standard Design Hoterl team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Standard Design
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

This was a modern and comfortable hotel in a great area of Paris. Lots of great bars, cafes and restaurants nearby. The room was small but nicely done with a big comfortable bed. Would stay again and would strongly recommend if you're looking for a reasonably priced 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bawhorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msoso, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Standard Design, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear bawhorsham

Delighted that you appreciated your stay at the Standard Design Hotel. We hope to welcome you again for your next trip to Paris. Please visit our website for special offers.

The Standard Design Hotel team/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed twice at this hotel during my 6 week trip between France and Spain. Each time I enjoyed my stay very much. At first, I was given a tiny room no bigger than one of those Japanese capsules you see in Tokyo. However, I was soon given a larger room without having to ask. This one was larger, but still rather cramped. The third room I struck it lucky. This room was a lot larger, and very comfortable, with a nice bathroom. And yes, the room was also over the street...Rue de Roquette, with the noisy bar directly below on the corner. The noise did not bother me too much, as there is double glazing on the large windows. However, the air conditioning was turned off for winter, and Sept/Oct was still very warm. I was forced to open the windows, but there was little breeze, and it was still far too hot. This is the only thing hotel management will have to reconsider in my opinion.
Apart from the room being too hot, the rest was perfect. Breakfast was your typical `petit dejeuner,` in the charming breakfast room. No hot breakfast...apart from boiled eggs & toast...but plenty of breads, cereals, cold meats and cheeses, with juices, tea and coffee. It is over priced at 15 euros, but you can opt to have it included when you book....it is cheaper this way.
I would stay there again, as the staff is friendly and very helpful with our many questions, and it is close to the Bastille Metro, and about 15 minutes walk to the Marais district.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger rooms overlooking the street, but make sure the air conditioning is turned on.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mozStanthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msoso, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Standard Design, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Mr MozStanth

Thank you for your loyalty towards the Standard Design Hotel. We are glad that you appreciate the Hotel servces and location. We took notes of your useful remarks concerning the a/c , which has been switched off a bit earlier. For your next trip to Paris, don't hesitate to contact our hotel directly, as you are now a privileged member of our hotel club.

The Standard Design Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We have just finished a 33 day bus tour of Europe and stayed in many hotels.
We were recommended to stay here by our travel agent and the location is good. Enjoyed options of Cafes, Patisserie, Supermarkets. Also access to Metro. Room small, compact and fine. They loaned us a kettle. Breakfast included was basic but lovely. You get to boil your own eggs. Nice touch. Good coffee machine.
Downside. It's 4am and my second night here. Facing the noisy street above the cafe. We're hot and no fan and a/c is turned off for winter, so HAVE had to sleep with windows open both nights. It's very noisy in this room. Management would do well to retain a/c in order for guests to be able to sleep with windows closed. That way we'd actually get some decent sleep!
Also, space for, but no towel racks. I did request. Means they have to replace towels daily when I'd be happy to reuse.
Reception and housekeeping staff were fabulous. Check out of 12pm much appreciated.
We are larger sized people and had a small room, but no problems with that.
Bed was very comfortable. Shower great.
Because of noise and heat I'd not choose this venue again. Yet I do believe Management could largely address this issue by leaving a/c on.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bb1950s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msoso, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Standard Design, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear bb1950s,

We hope that your had a nice european tour, and we are deeply sorry that you had a last night spoiled by street noises. The fact is that just before your arrival, the weather was cold, and the AC had been switched to heater. The day you stayed at the hotel, the weather turned suddenly warm, and unfortunately it takes 48 H for the heater to switch to AC. We are deeply sorry for this technical inconvenience, and we hope, despite this, that you enjoyed the city of Light.

The Standard Design Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

As most people say the rooms are compact but have everything you need when staying on a city break. They were nicely decorated in modern bright colours with flat screen tv, ipod docks & a very small bathroom with a shower. Free wifi was a bonus which worked in the cafe next door! The rooms were neat and clean. The location was ideally located 5 minutes walk from the Bastille metro station which is on a direct line from Gare du Nord. We found it no bother with our trolley cases getting to & from the hotel.
The hotel is above a busy and popular cafe/bar which was busy throughout the day from breakfast into the night with locals drinking. The food was very good there and reasonably priced. Happy hour each day 5-8pm meant a pint or a cocktail was 5 euro which is cheap for Paris.
Breakfast at the hotel was typically continental and quite pricey if you didn't have it included (15 euro). Depending on who was working in the dining area in the morning depended on how much the food was replenished. One staff member was more interested in looking at herself in the mirror than actually bringing more food out! There were plenty of cafes along the road on the way to the metro to get breakfast at reasonable cost, including a lovely bakery.
The biggest disappointment was the noise at night. We stayed from the 5th September for the weekend and even with double glazing the street noise went on most of the night. After the first night I slept with cotton wool rolled up in my ears to try and block the noise out. Luckily the air con was still switched on so it wasn't too hot.
Location was the best part of the stay as the metro takes you so easily to the main sights in minutes and always runs on time & regularly.
We stayed here for our honeymoon and I emailed the hotel ahead of our stay twice to see if anything special could be done for our stay but they never bothered replying.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street if there are any and you may get lucky with the street noise.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Southwold, United Kingdom
4127
Reviewed 7 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 September 2013

True the rooms are compact but spotlessly clean and well equipped, even to the extent of an i-Tune player but ‘oversize folk’ need not apply, they just wouldn’t fit. The bathroom is small but fully functional and again spotlessly clean.
The Bastille is a good area to be located. But despite the fact that the address of the ‘Standard Design ‘ is that of a small quiet side street, many of the rooms overlook a very busy street, Rue de la Roquette, and an extremely popular bar (which is also a good convenient place for breakfast). However, If you plan to sleep: forget it. The level of noise at the weekend is greater than I have experienced in any hotel the World over! It builds to a crescendo from 11pm until 3am and slowly works down by 4am when the service trucks start delivering. The hotel claims that they have some quiet rooms overlooking the courtyard. If you can’t get one of those…look elsewhere if sleep is important to you. So this could be suitable for a business stay but avoid the weekend. We visited late September when it was still warm but the air con had already been switched off (“C’est hiver) according to the surly night-clerk. The result was that because the windows needed to be kept closed because of the noise it was both hot and noisy.
One of the reasons we chose the hotel was the proximity to Bastille metro and the convenience of the metro line to Gare du Nord ( Eurostar) /Gare du Lyon/Gare du l'Est.. Unfortunately this hotel is located a bit too far from the metro to comfortably wheel luggage unless young and/or reasonably fit.

Room Tip: Courtyard only if you want any sleep
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Campanile Paris 11 - Bastille
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#110 of 1,803 in Paris
627 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Best Western Hotel Marais Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Ibis Paris Bastille Faubourg Saint Antoine 11eme
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Paris Bastille
Hotel Paris Bastille
#762 of 1,803 in Paris
433 reviews
République
BLC Design Hotel
BLC Design Hotel
#652 of 1,803 in Paris
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Standard Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Standard Design

Address: 29 rue des Taillandiers, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#639 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £74 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Standard Design 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Standard Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Standard Design Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing