We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from Tourist area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Standard Design
Ranked #462 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Away from Tourist area”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Hotel located in the Bastille area, which has a great vibe in the evenings. Great Metro service gets you to all the main places from here. ( 300m away)
Hotel had great furnishings, and a really comfortable bed, and clean, with a funky design. Will stay here again.
Good bar/restaurant downstairs on the corner for wines and food, and all around the immediate area. Full of friendly locals, not many tourists about.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawrencemichell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    290
    95
    29
    18
See reviews for
78
274
63
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was my third visit in Paris but the first time i stayed at this hotel. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very clean. The staff is friendly and helpful.
The hotel is located very close to Bastille subway station and it is very easy to reach a lot of touristic attractions (some even on foot - Notre Dame, Pere Lachaise).
There is a nice restaurant just next to the hotel entrance and lots of terraces in the vecinity which provide for a boheme atmosphere during the day and an animated one at night.
There are also fast foods, shops, basically everyhing you could need just a few steps away.
I would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: I would suggest a superior room as these are very well sized and designed. However, standard rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ioana_Purcarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have stayed here twice on business and opted for the cheapest room . Small but adequate. I am sure bigger rooms available . Very clean great staff great location . If your on a budget can't beat it !!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dazza175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I went there with my family and some friends and we were all staisfied with this hotel. Excellent location, the metro is aprox 150m away from the hotel and there are lots of restaurants and cafes in this area. Very friendly staff, quite large and clean rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreea2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

stayed at this hotel end of march 2014 the staff are great very friendly and helpfull.
the hotel is nr the bastille and has good connections with the metro as its only a few hundred meters down the street.there are some good bars close by on the street its on especially the irish bar where i had an excellant evening.
the hotel itself is very small and compact but saying that it is very clean and well decorated unless your on your own i would advise booking a suite which are slightly larger than a standard room and you wont be tripping over everything.im 6'2" and well built and found it very small as would an average size person.
the only thing missing in the room was tea and coffee making facilities but the hotel does have room service to supply this .
free wifi a bonus
hotel bijou but very nice and clean
when i stayed i heard no noise whatsoever apart from the church bell across the street the next morning
staff were great very helpfull and attentative to your needs
so all in all a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garyridley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel is located at the 11 Arr. (Bastille). this is a very lively area with lots of coffee shops and good vibes. the hotel staff is very helpful and friendly with fluent English. this place is very stylish, but couple of things can be improved, such as more varied offers with breakfast, curtain / doors for the shower (?!) at single rooms and adding at least one English TV channel (BBC World?). The single room is tiny but I got used to it and either way you may only want to sleep or rest in it, as there is so much to do outside. nevertheless, the atmosphere and the location makes it a very good stay. Booked at the hotel's site. Recommended.

Room Tip: Unless you're tight on budget, get the Double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eitan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I went for a short break to Paris and stayed here for 4 nights. This hotel is located in a very convinient location in relation to the trainline and many tourist excurtions. Bastiele is also sort after for night life and is a very lively place to be in. The hotel was tidy and was cleaned every day. The rooms all be it on the smaller side were nice and had comfy beds and pillows. Staff were always happy to help.
We did not eat at the hotel as we were always out and the hotel is surrounded by nice Parisian restaurants and cafes.
At night the party animals can be loud outside but once we closed our windows the noise was hardly noticeble. If you are looking for a more tranquile and peaceful hotel then perhaps this one is not for you, but for me and my husband we loved it and found it great valve for money and clean. Had a great time, would like to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhavya_mohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Touraine Opera
Hotel Touraine Opera
#701 of 1,802 in Paris
214 reviews
République
BLC Design Hotel
BLC Design Hotel
#651 of 1,802 in Paris
612 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Republique Hotel
Republique Hotel
#825 of 1,802 in Paris
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Best Western Hotel Marais Bastille
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#113 of 1,802 in Paris
578 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Ibis Paris Bastille Faubourg Saint Antoine 11eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Standard Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Standard Design

Property: Hotel Standard Design
Address: 29 rue des Taillandiers, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#145 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#639 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Standard Design 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Standard Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Standard Design Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing