We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views but small careworn rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile
Ranked #1,411 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great views but small careworn rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We ended up on the 32 floor and so had terrific views including of the Eiffel Tower. The rooms were very small though and somewhat careworn. The breakfast was poor. The staff were friendly but we did have to wait ten minutes to check in which was astonishing.

Room Tip: High up and with view of the Eiffel Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilsonEwelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your very nice comment.

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed the magic view from the rooms.

We do apologize for the wait for the breakfast and we will share your comment with our team in order to ensure that it does not reoccur.

We will be more than happy to welcome you back.

Michel Morauw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    652
    675
    394
    315
See reviews for
358
638
118
912
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Here for a week, since partner attending conference next door and I can only assume that this hotel relies and survives on the conference trade since I can't imagine anyone booking a repeat stay. Room is ok, but not 4 star very small and pretty basic ( including toiletries ). Breakfast is a major failing, food lukewarm, restaurant overcrowded and, when full ( as conference hotels often are) they simply don't cope, with queues of more than 10 minutes to reach the restaurant. We abandoned the effort since conference was starting. We have had repeated issues with room keys and have been told we must be keeping them close to our phones. We are not. No apology, no interest. Instead, we run up and down from the 18th floor several times a day. Staff attitude appalling. On the positive, the concierge staff are unfailingly courteous, knowledgeable and helpful. Nevertheless, would never stay in this hotel again and, for me, it has somewhat tarnished the usually reliable hyatt brand .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susanstewart2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Directeur général at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused with the key room. Please rest assured that the problem will be reviewed in order that it does not reoccur.

We appreciate the compliment regarding the concierge. We hope that we may have the chance in the future to host you under more favorable conditions, and regain your trust in Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile. Thank you very much again for sharing your experience with us.

Michel Morauw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel during a business and exhibition trip. the hotel was well located and easy to get to. I didn't spend much time in the hotel itself, but my room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was a large buffet well stocked and nicely fresh.
the service was a little distant, but there were plenty of people about.
my main complaint was there are no tea / coffee facilities in the room. I had to order a cup of tea for the exorbitant price of €17.00! ridiculous.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SopranoAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Directeur général at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Concerning the coffee machine and kettle, as the Hotel is high-rise building, for security reason, we are not allowed to provide kettle in every rooms.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Michel Morauw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I asked for a renovated room, and as a Hyatt Diamond member, I thought I had a reasonable shot. They said, "sorry, not available." I asked for a room with a view of the Eiffel Tower Again, no dice. I used a Diamond Suite Upgrade Certificate, and they gave me the smallest, dingiest suite I have ever seen - basically, two tiny rooms stuck together - with a boring view of La Defense. The furniture was an embarrassment - old, chipped, and barely functional. The gym was grossly insufficient, with NO free weights, NO weight machines, and just a few cardio items. The regency club had watery scrambled eggs in the morning, and no hot food in the evening. The whole hotel was a major disappointment.

The best thing the hotel has going for it is the location, but even that is a mixed bag. On the one hand, it is right on Metro Line #1, and it is attached to a nice mall and gourmet grocery store. It is next to the Bois de Boulogne, which is great for a run (and essential, given the inadequacy of the hotel gym). On the other hand, it is on the edge of the city, far from major attractions, so you need to take the metro or bus to get anywhere. There is no "neighborhood feel" at all in this part of the city -- i.e., it is the very opposite of the Marais or Latin Quarter.

I would not recommend this hotel, unless you can get a really good deal on the room. I did, using Hyatt Points + Cash, but in the future, I would definitely choose one of the other Hyatts in the city (Hotel du Louvre, Hyatt Madeleine, or Park Hyatt Vendome) over this one, if they are available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monterone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Directeur général at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile for your stay in Paris.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful location and the area of our property.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Michel Morauw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

The worst Hyatt I have been to. Not family friendly, small rooms, dirty carpets, leaking bathrooms to say the least...also not sound proof!
This hotel seriously needs to charge as per its standard (I give 1-2 star) and not by it's name.
Not visiting this one ever again!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Dr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Directeur général at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile. We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced.
Please rest assured that we have shared this matter with our team in order to ensure that it does not reoccur.

For your information, the hotel will begin a renovation this year in order to offer a unique experience to our guest.

We hope that we may have the chance in the future to welcome you back, and regain your trust in Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

Michel Morauw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Try to get a room as high as possible (there are 37 floors) with the cocktail bar on the top floor overlooking Paris at night. We had an upgraded room on the south side and overlooked the Eiffel Tower and Bois de Bologne, wonderful. Room was average size and nicely furnished, it did not have tea/coffee making facilities or any water, but it did have a mini bar, but everything was extra. WiFi was free but kept dropping out when my IPad was re-opened. Breakfast was very expensive so we ate locally, the same with evening meals. There are some good restaurants nearby. The Metro is closeby (Porte Maillot) and was a very convenient line for the main sights. We got a metro card which was cheaper. An important point is that the hotel is next to the main bus stop directly to Airport CDG. (Book your tickets online with www.lescarsairfrance.com) no other hotel other than the Meridian opposite can offer that facility. There are only two such airport bus stops in Paris and this is one of them. It is good to go door to door with your luggage and not too expensive (cheaper than taxi). There also is a very expensive shopping Mall adjoining the hotel mainly shoes, bags and clothes but also a wonderful gourmet food hall. There is also a huge exhibition centre in the complex for popular exhibitions.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible. The east side overlooks the Arc de Triomphe and the south looks to the Eiffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragonwoman549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Directeur général at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the upgraded room with the Eiffel Tower view.

Comments like your allow us to reassess our prices and amenities

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Michel Morauw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Large property with great views. Formerly another old school french branded hotel and Hyatt is promising a major refresh in 2014-2015. That being said the rooms are OK. Nothing terrible just a bit tired. Views are tremendous though. Staff could use work. Service is very inconsistent with some behaving in stereotypical french rude with others being extremely service oriented and very professional. Examples were when asked when/where I could get coffee/croissant at 6am, I was told "on floor 1 and not a moment before 6:30am". Asking the valet whom I saw outside the same question, he explained that the Hyatt option did not open until 6:30 but the place across the street was open. Since I had very little time, the Valet was more helpful than the concierge desk. Go figure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenm323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Directeur général at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your comment. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wonderful location that the Hotel offer.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience regarding the service. We will share this comment in order that it does not reoccur.

We would like to inform you that the hotel will begin a renovation this year in order to offer a unique experience to our guest.

We hope that we may have the chance in the future to welcome you back, and regain your trust in Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

Michel Morauw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Meridien Etoile
#669 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#279 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Hotel La Villa des Ternes
#212 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Les Jardins de la Villa & Spa
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Louvre
Hotel du Louvre
#403 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile

Property: Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile
Address: 3 Place du General Koenig, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#475 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile 4*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, formerly the renowned Hotel Concorde La Fayette, stands as one of the most impressive properties in the city, just minutes from both the Arc de Triomphe and the world-famous Champs Elysees, and within easy reach of the impressive La Defense complex. Offering so much more than a great location in this cosmopolitan city, our 34-storey hotel offers truly unique views over Paris from its 950 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concorde La Fayette Hotel
Concorde La Fayette Paris
Concorde Lafayette Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing