We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better inside that out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile
Ranked #1,204 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 26 June 2014

From the outside the hotel looks a bit of an eyesore in the daylight (a dated high rise sticking up out a conference centre next to a roundabout) but it is much nicer inside with a spacious and airy lobby, bar and restaurant.

On checking into our two rooms, following taking our details and asking if we wanted to be on the same floor, the receptionist said 'I'll be right back' and then disappeared for over 25 minutes. We were getting increasingly concerned that there was a serious problem when she returned to inform us that she had been trying to secure two Eiffel View rooms (as we had booked and paid extra for). She was very apologetic for the wait and that one of us would be on the 7th floor and the other on the 22nd, we didn't mind that but being kept waiting so long without any explanation was a bit stressful.

My room (on the 7th floor) was nice, had clearly been recently refurbished and was clean, light and airy with a comfortable bed and very stylish bathroom. Having a view of the Eiffel Tower and the city was nice but not as stunning as from the 22nd floor! My friends room was not refurbished yet and markedly more dated but fine (especially as he had a spectacular view of the city, Eiffel Tower and the lightning storms!).

I was particularly delighted with housekeeping who found and returned a gold earring that I thought I would never see again after searching the whole of my room.

We ate in the restaurant on the evening of our arrival and it was the best meal I had while in Paris both in quality and service. The only thing (apart from the check in delay) that upset me was that I was consistently ignored in the bar at the top of the hotel. The view is amazing though drinks are expensive and they did have a good selection of alcohol free drinks and cocktails. My frustration was that even though it seemed I had been acknowledged by a member of staff when I asked for service or the bill it would then fail to materialise until requested by my friend. This also happened to me in a couple of restaurants so I can only conclude that in Paris equality is still something of a challenge for some. The bar by the lobby had no such issue where the service was friendly and quick.

The hotel was a short walk from the Arc de Triomphe and a bit further on to the Eiffel Tower, we took the metro everywhere else which worked fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been refurbished already.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Froodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment about your stay at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are truly sorry for the disagreement at the Bar La Vue. I have shared your comment with my management team for review.

We look forward to welcome you back at the hotel

Best regards,

Michel Morauw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,143 - 1,149 of 2,634 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Two years ago we stayed in this hotel and although the hotel was good the service , specially the valet parking was very bad , no room for parking and we were sent to park our car in the sing area next door , but this year we were amazed by the big improvement ! Not only they have become so much friendlier but were prepared to help with information on the area and even suggested us to leave our luggage on consignment in a Hyatt at the airport when traveling to Ireland .
Very impressed . The hotel is very well located and the roof bar has a magnificent view of Paris .
Our room was facing the tour Eiffel so we had a great stay!

Room Tip: Choose the upper rooms facing the tour Eiffel , amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciated the service. Good service is one of our top priorities, and we do our best to offer a unique experience to our costumers

We will be more than happy to welcome you back

Best regards,
Michel Morauw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have just spent spent 30mins in the Gold Passport queue trying to check out. Even when the customer service person handling non Gold Passport customers had finished, she packed up and left the counter without even looking up to see if she could help anyone else. This is appalling service and obviously being a Gold Passport member isn't valued. When I have a choice of hotels when I travel globally for business I will make a choice to stay elsewhere and not the Hyatt- nobody here cares about customer service

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacherchickSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

Our sincere apologies for the delays you experienced. We do our best to accommodate early arrivals and to ensure a speedy checkout for all. I have reviewed your comments with our front office team.

We hope to see you back soon

Best regards,

Michel Morauw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here two nights - check in was great and the room did have an angled view of the Eiffel Tower even after I was told there were no rooms with a view - I am sure the full view rooms are amazing. The rest of the view was of the roof area and buildings beyond. The room was actually ok - but not up to the price - I was really worried because of some of the really bad reviews - and it was obvious we did not have a renovated room even after I was told it was at check in. As a Platinum member we had a little snack and water waiting in the room. And what is with the beds in Paris - we did not have a comfy bed here or at the Hyatt du Louvre.

There is a mall attached to the hotel and a metro stop below - only problem is it is a very long walk to the metro stop through the mall then down through the metro tunnels. The location was not that great - seemed far from the main sights and just slightly out of the way toward the business area of Paris. One night we took the metro back late and the mall doors were locked! We had to exit outside and walk a long way around to the front of the hotel in a dark and somewhat deserted area.

There are a few little cafes in the mall and a grocery store where you can get drinks, water, fruit and snacks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nowpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your comment.

We are glad that you choose Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile for your romantic travel.

The Eiffel Tower view room is indeed magic and very romantic

For security reason, he doors of the “Palais des Congrès” close every night around 10.00 pm
For your information, the hotel is being renovated at the beginning of next year. The goal is to offer a unique experience to our guests.

Best regards,

Michel Morauw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The staff are doing their best but everything is wrong about this hotel. Who wants to stay in a 1000 room hotel built in the 70s? Small rooms, horrible breakfast room and background music, inexistant room service ("we cannot do an omelette" at 1030pm) or overpriced room service (eur53 for salmon on a old blinis and a microwaved half-chicken). Why did Hyatt take over such a hotel ? Seem to be working for airline crews and mass-market tourists. Business travellers should stay away.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank KIWI060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We wanted to apologize for the disagreement that you had during your stay.
For your information, the hotel is being renovated at the beginning of next year.

The project will include renovation of the hotel’s guestrooms and refurbishment of its public areas.

I am sure that you will be delighted by the guest experience of our new and improved hotel.

Comments like yours allow us to improve our facilities and we would like to thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our new and improved hotel.

Best regards,

Michel Morauw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

PROS: Good views across distant Paris, comfortable enough rooms
CONS: Could do with a re-fit, it's a concrete block on a roundabout, hideously expensive bar

As Hyatt hotels go the Paris Etoile isn't the top of the stack. On the approach it's a big chunk of concrete that protrudes from the ground; otherwise known as an eyesore. And first impressions count.
Fortunately the first impression on the inside is good: a giant lobby that's airy and well kept. Just don't get a drink from the bar as you'll end up paying through the roof. Ironically venture to the roof (well, top floor bar La Vue) and you'll pay in blood - it's something like a tenner for even just a small bottle of water which is ashamedly expensive by any city's standards. Yes you can see the Eiffel Tower with its lights on at night, but just go to the monument on foot - much better value.
Anyway, the hotel itself: once out of the lobby the corridors have this odd purple/black finish that's just odd, especially with the garish carpets. These communal spaces are in need of a re-fit and just aren't befitting of a Hyatt standard really. But, hey, first world problems, right?
At the end of the day it's all about the room. As this is one of the tallest buildings in Paris you get good views. Add a bright enough, fair sized room and it's a decent sleep and shower situation.
But for what it is, and given its location, it's a fair chunk of cash for residing temporarily in a concrete block with extortionate bars when the real Paris has so much more to offer (well, if you happen to like Paris).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmxbreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your detailed feedback.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed the views from the hotel.

For your information, the hotel is being renovated at the beginning of next year.

The project will include renovation of the hotel’s guestrooms and refurbishment of its public areas.

I am sure that you will be delighted by the guest experience of our new and improved hotel.

Comments like yours allow us to improve our facilities and we would like to thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our new and improved hotel.

Best regards,

Michel Morauw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

As a special treat my husband whisked me away to Paris for the weekend - we stayed for 2 nights at the Hyatt Regency and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We were booked into a club room, which was small and fairly basic - however this was made up for by our access to the Regency Club. The Regency Club was accessed with our special card pass and provided us with a buffet breakfast each day and drinks & hors d'oevures - and boy did we enjoy the champagne and red wine, that flowed!! The staff couldn't do enough to help and even allowed us to take my husband favourite bottle of red wine back to the room when the free bar closed. So my suggestion to anyone, if you like the finer things in life and enjoy a drink, book yourselves into the regency club rooms and make full use of the club access. We could have even used the gym on both days, but after walking miles and drinking all that champagne - it just wasn't possible!! We also had an exceptional view across Paris from the 32 floor.

Room Tip: Book into the Regency Club Rooms - more expensive but worth it for the buffet breakfast, rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah-Szulczewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much for your nice comment.

We are very glad to read that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us.

The Regency Club is indeed a nice place to drink a glass of wine, while enjoying the views of Paris.

We will be more than happy to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Michel Morauw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Meridien Etoile
#595 of 1,802 in Paris
665 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Les Jardins de la Villa
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#261 of 1,802 in Paris
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Paris Porte Maillot
#335 of 1,802 in Paris
346 reviews
Hotel La Villa des Ternes
#231 of 1,802 in Paris
359 reviews
Hotel L'Adresse Paris
#1,395 of 1,802 in Paris
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile

Address: 3 Place du General Koenig, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#481 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £124 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile 4*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, formerly the renowned Hotel Concorde La Fayette, stands as one of the most impressive properties in the city, just minutes from both the Arc de Triomphe and the world-famous Champs Elysees, and within easy reach of the impressive La Defense complex. Offering so much more than a great location in this cosmopolitan city, our 34-storey hotel offers truly unique views over Paris from its 950 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concorde La Fayette Hotel
Concorde La Fayette Paris
Concorde Lafayette Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing