We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Relais Montmartre
Ranked #51 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcome Rest”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

My wife and I needed a place to stay for a couple of days while we waited for our vacation rental (apartment) on Rue Caulaincourt (Montmartre) to become available. After a long flight from Chicago, we arrived at Paris in the morning and after a ride on the train and Metro (next time, we'll take a taxi), we made it to the Hotel Le Relais Montmartre around noon. An early check-in was no issue. We stayed in a Superior Double room (about $250 (US)/night) that overlooked the courtyard. Though, not a large by American standards, there was plenty of room to sit and look out the window or work at the desk with my laptop. Both my wife and I found the bed to be very comfortable and slept quite well. And, for being so close to the very busy area of the Moulin Rouge, the room was extraordinarily quiet. The hotel staff were very helpful and welcoming and always had a smile on their faces.

Though we spent 12 days on Caulaincourt (near Lamarck), the location of Hotel Le Relais Montmartre was excellent. The hotel sits on a little side street named Rue Constance. 1/2 block to east it intersects with Rue Lepic. Turn right (south) on Rue Lepic, you go down hill for a block or so and get to Blvd de Clichy and the Moulin Rouge (touristy area). Turn left (north) on Rue Lepic, you go up hill and intersect with Rue des Abbessess (restaurants, bars, food shops of all kinds). Even after we moved up to Caulaincourt (1 km away) we kept coming back to Rue Lepic and Rue Abbesses area just to admire (and sometimes buy) the food at the numerous food shops.

Not many of the small restaurants or food shops take American credit cards. Make sure you bring some euros with you to buy train/metro tickets or taxi fee. The metro ticket kiosks don't accept American credit or debit cards. I had no problems getting euros from the ATM machines with my debit card.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank East_Iowa_Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    249
    22
    3
    4
See reviews for
87
581
35
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We booked a comfort room and we were extremely satisfied: large enough and extremely clean: definetely above the average in Paris for three stars hotels. Although the room was on the street, it was very quiet either because of the windows or the fact the street was not a noisy one. Breakfast is not included and not cheap at all, but I can not express any judge on it because we did not have it. Finally, it is located in a perfect position to visit Montmartre, being very close to the metro Blanche. Consequently, it is a little bit decentrated for other places in Paris but nothing dramatic. Finally, the staff was very friendly.
A place to suggest without any hesitations!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisaElisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We loved this hotel. I took my husband for his 30th Birthday and we were not disappointed. The staff were so friendly and even though we didn't speak that much French they were happy for us to try.

The hotel has a lovely feel to it. Its decorated to a very typical Parisian feel, very tasteful and the continental breakfast which had a great selection was perfect. You can even cook your own boiled eggs.

The location of the hotel is amazing, right up the road from the Moulin Rouge, within a few minutes Metro ride to the centre of Paris and a few minutes walk to the Sacre Coeur that offers amazing views of Paris.

When we do come back to Paris we will most definitely stay here again without question.

Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apollo1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and the rooms clean and nice. The hotel has a great location in the middle of Montmartre, and close to the metro, shops, short walk to Sacrecoeur. The Wi-Fi worked very well.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sesilie H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

This is a delightful place, off a quite side-street, but within a stone's throw of Rue des Abesses.
No in-room kettle, which seems to be the norm for Parisian hotels, but which is a bugbear at these prices (185 euros/night, discounted through Booking.com). The bed was a bit soft for my taste.
There were some last-minute problems over the card I used to book the reservation: even though the reservation was made 2 months before arrival, I received an email 5 days before our trip to say that the booking was not confirmed because there was a problem with my card. Numerous emails and two calls to Booking.com (who were excellent) ended up with me having to arrange an international credit transfer, which (unsurprisingly) hadn't cleared by the time we arrived. I then had to pay the first night and get this money refunded once the credit transfer cleared. Through all this it became apparent that there is a problem with the hotel's bank connection. BE WARNED
The staff, during all this, were the model of courtesy, and it wouldn't put me off staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wondersn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais-Montmartre, Directeur général at Le Relais Montmartre, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
,Monsieur
I understand how stressful it is when payment gets difficult but I am afraid there is nothing else we could have done that morning. Let me take a moment to explain you because I feel so sorry that you left our hotel with a negative feeling although you liked it so much.

When we receive a reservation, we enter the reservation straight away so that the room is yours and cannot be booked anymore by somebody else.

The room is supposed to be secured with the credit card you put in with your other details but we need to make sure this credit card is fine because there are more and more problems with credit cards : people use stolen credit cards to reserve hotels or they give on purpose a wrong credit card number because they just want to become through internet reservation’s systems an automatic confirmation they can print and use to get their visa or – this is the most often – they just make a tipping mistake on the number itself, or on the expiration date.

Anyhow, if the card is not fine, it cannot secure the reservation because we won’t be able to use it in case of a late cancellation or a no-show.

In order to check a credit card, we contact the credit card centre and ask for what they call a “pre-authorization”: this is not a debit, just a number we could use if necessary. Those pre-authorizations are valid only during a week and this is why we call for these pre-authorization just 5 days prior the arrival. In fact, if we did it on the day you sent your booking, we’d have to do it again a few days before you arrive and this could be problem for you because the bank “holds” the concerned amounts for a few days.

In your case this pre-authorization was refused and this does not depend on us but only on YOUR bank (sometimes it is because the bank blocks any kind of authorization arriving from a foreign country in order to protect you, or your card can not be used in a foreign country or you use a Maestro credit card that cannot be used as a guaranty etc…). We contacted straight BOOKING.COM according to their procedure but within those 5 days left before your arrival, we were never able to get a new card with a valid authorization so that the only way left to secure the reservation was a deposit. On your check in day, that deposit had still not arrived on our account so that again we had no other way than taking the full amount until the deposit arrived and as soon as we had it we credited your credit card straight away.

I know all this sounds complicated but in Paris, good and well located hotels are almost always full and this is why they cannot keep any reservation that are not secured. If a guest does not show up and we can’t debit the card, his room has been refused to other clients and that night is definitely lost for the hotel.

Anyhow I shall thank you for the nice comments about the hotel and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you again soon in our hotel!
Kind regards
Samia Mobarek .Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in one of twin comfort rooms overlooking the street. It was nicely decorated, comfortable and clean and had a decent size bathroom. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful. Le Relais is in a fantastic location, Abbesses and Blanche metro stations are within walking distance. We often headed into central Paris for a day out then returned to Montmartre for the evening as there are lots of interesting cafes and restaurants just around the corner. The area has a great atmosphere and wasn't too touristy at all. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CElizabeth08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This was a really nice place to stay. All of the people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, and our room was plenty big and very quiet. I really enjoyed the free use of the computer and the free newspapers. I don't think we've ever stayed anywhere else with so many excellent and interesting restaurants (French, African, Italian, Vietnamese, etc.) nearby. The lady who served us breakfast was very sweet, but we thought the buffet was a bit overpriced with so many different options nearby. We combined this stay with a stay in the very nice Hotel Parc Luxembourg, a nice way to explore two very different neighborhoods in Paris.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
#66 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Montmartre
Montmartre Mon Amour
Montmartre Mon Amour
#316 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Montmartre Hotel
#64 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Declic
Hotel Declic
#232 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Montmartre

Property: Le Relais Montmartre
Address: 6 rue Constance, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#43 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#75 Family Hotel in Paris
#267 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Relais Montmartre 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL DE CHARME ideal en couple ou en famille au coeur du village le plus pittoresque et romantique de Paris ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Relais Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Montmartre Paris
Le Relais Montmartre Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing