We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be confused by the high ratings, it's an average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Relais Montmartre
Ranked #53 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Don't be confused by the high ratings, it's an average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is a decent, clean, budget hotel. That's it. The rooms are small, the carpets ok, but old enough to make it slightly dubious as to whether you want to walk on them with bare feet. There is virtually no food or drink service.

What the hotel is, is cheap. At 150 Euros a night, there isn't much available in the nicer parts of Paris. If you were paying 5 star prices for this hotel you'd be outraged. But for the relatively bargain prices they charge, it's a good deal, and therefore a safe, budget option. But don't expect a 5 star experience, just because it's highly rated. It's highly rated because it's good VALUE.

The location is great, if you like Montemarte (which we do). The service is friendly, and the wifi is free.

All good......but don't imagine that in any way it's a luxurious experience, because it's not. If you're happy with a fairly nice, low-priced hotel in a good area.....you will be happy here. If you want luxury, look elsewhere.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Johnb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais-Montmartre, Gérant at Le Relais Montmartre, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Sir,
Reading your comment about the Relais Montmartre I have the feeling you got confused with the 5 stars of the traveler ratings on Tripadvisor and the 5 stars corresponding to the classification of hotels all over the world. In fact, the Relais Montmartre is as you mention a decent, clean and budget 3 stars hotel but it is not a 5 stars hotel which would automatically include a lot of services we don't have, rooms with at least twice the size of our biggest rooms as well as rates around 10 times higher than ours! I see you have chosen most of the time in your different journeys 4 et 5 stars hotels and I understand you have been missing services in our place but I am afraid in our category this are services we can't give for budget reason because they'd require much more personal and much higher rates. Il feel really sorry because - although your comment is actually rather positive - you did not enjoy your stay with us because we are not what you expected. I hope at least your experience of Montmartre and its surrounding was most enjoyable and I wish you all the best for the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    245
    22
    3
    4
See reviews for
87
571
34
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

My first trip to Paris couldn't have been more perfect! This beautiful little hotel oozes French charm, it is in a great spot handy for the Metro and buses and just a walk away from Montmarte's Painter's Square and Sacre Couer too.
Our room on the top floor was just lovely and the beds super soft and comfortable - I can't remember having such a great night's sleep!
The staff there are also extremely helpful, kind and generous and will do anything to make sure your stay is a great one.
My only feedback would be that the shower head needed some maintenance, but other than that I would say this is rated far too low - it is classed as a 3 star hotel, but in fact should be a 4 star by far.
It is also extremely great value for money and far better than that of the hotels I have stayed in London for a lot more and the quality and service is a lot less!
I will most definitely be returning to Hotel Relais Montmarte when I visit Paris for my next visit.

Room Tip: There was three of us so we were given room 505 on the top floor. It was just perfect and so comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globe-trotting-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
198 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Great find. I needed a hotel close to ANSM for meetings yet situated in a nice location. This fit the criteria on all counts. Easy in out of the City, lovely hotel nicely decorated, friendly and helpful front desk and the neighborhood... a gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DASBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Quiet location but in the heart of Montmartre. Close to metros, shops, bars, great restaurants. Can not recommend highly enough. Breakfast at 15 euros a head is steep, you can find cheaper and better locally. But otherwise fabulous

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend last January. This was the first hotel of our choice at the end of a contiki tour. It was beautiful, the staff were friendly, we arrived early and they looked after our bags while we went out for the day. Our room was small but that information was clearly outlined when we were booking. We had a very sweet room with purple beams and floral decorations.
The bathroom was clean and the shower was amazing. The hotel organised a bus to take us to the airport when we departed.
I dont have a single complaint regarding this hotel, facilities and staff were lovely. I would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannahkt90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Most enjoyable stay at this hotel. As mentioned by other reviewers, it is on a quiet street but very close to the buzz of the city. Staff were most welcoming. The room was well decorated and roomy enough to be comfortable. You walk out into the historical charms of Montmartre and we visited the Montmartre cemetery which has many famous people buried there (Zola, Degas etc).
The area is perfect for simply wandering around and it is easy to find cafes and shops to buy breakfast and provisions. I recommend the hotel to anyone coming to this area of Paris.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weecooperofife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Having never stayed in this area before we were really pleased as it is so central to so many things. Easy to walk to Sacre Coeur and The Moulin Rouge which is about a block away.
The hotel rooms are not extremely large but then very few hotel rooms are in Paris.
It is very clean and the staff are very friendly and more than happy to offer any kind of advise even looking up addresses for us on the internet.
Breakfast is not cheap 17 euros and served down in the basement but there are so many cafes and bakeries along with restaurants just around the corner so we enjoyed dining with the locals and a good breakfast could be found for around 10 euro. Its an enchanting area and so busy out and about in the evenings.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy the surroundings of Montmartre It is in a very narrow side street so there is not a lot of traffic.
A wonderful experience! Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimB346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
#58 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Montmartre
Montmartre Mon Amour
Montmartre Mon Amour
#318 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Montmartre Hotel
#68 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Declic
Hotel Declic
#184 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Montmartre

Property: Le Relais Montmartre
Address: 6 rue Constance, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#41 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#75 Family Hotel in Paris
#267 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Relais Montmartre 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL DE CHARME ideal en couple ou en famille au coeur du village le plus pittoresque et romantique de Paris ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Relais Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Montmartre Paris
Le Relais Montmartre Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing