We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Marceau Bastille Hotel
Ranked #376 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during a long weekend visit. We made our booking on the morning of the day we checked in but the reception was ready and waiting when we arrived which was a great relief. The staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The room was very modern, clean and overall comfortable. If you are looking for a quiet and convenient place to stay that is close to Gare Lyon, then this hotel ticks those boxes perfectly. The hotel is a solid half hour walk along the river to attractions like the Louvre and Notre Dame Cathedral (or a 10 minute taxi ride) but there is also plenty to see in the Bastille area around the hotel. We recommend Le Marceau Bastille Hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Paul1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

The location was great, just a few minutes walk to the Bastille metro and about 5 mins to the beginning of rue de Rivoli which will take you all the way to the louvre. If you take a side street on the way there you go to Notre Dame.

The hotel itself was very nice, on a quiet street. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast is good. The rooms are typical Parisian size and exactly like the pictures. Would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank anuka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and were pleased with our choice. the Hotel has a very contemporary style and although the rooms are very small, our experience is that this is true of all city hotels in Europe. the bed was very comfortable and we slept well either with the window open - 2nd floor overlooking inner courtyard, or with the AC on. Bathroom was tiny but functional. Interesting to read other comments about the staff being friendly, which wasn't our experience; not that they were unfriendly, but didn't really look that bothered and didn't volunteer to speak in English to us. Breakfast was really good with great selection of fruit and everything you need for a yummy continental breakfast alongside a bit of cooked stuff too. Nice to be able to have smoked salmon with scrambled egg. The location is good for the Gard du Nord station if coming in on Eurostar and well placed for the metro. We bought a two day pass on the river taxi which worked well. Some fairly good local restaurants but all on fairly busy corners, so need to walk back over the river into the Marais district [15mins] to have a better choice. Paris is a really expensive city, so this hotel represents good 'value'.
Top tip - make sure you take a walk along the old viaduct close by which has been made into a lovely garden walk.

Room Tip: Hotel is on a fiarly quiet street, but always ask not to be put on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosieWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

A bright and modern boutique hotel in a convenient location. Both the Bastille Metro and Gare De Lyon stations were about 10 minutes walk. The Marais district was a 10 minute walk, with a great choice of restaurants.
We had an Urban room which was very clean and modern as well as comfortable, even though it was small and lacked storage space. The bed was comfortable and the room on the top floor was very quiet. The room was too warm at night because of seasonal restrictions on the air conditioning and so we left the windows open at night. We had a view of some Paris rooftops. The WiFi worked well in the room. Breakfast featured good quality, fresh selections, with a good choice of continental as well as scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages. The staff were very helpful when we needed to make a reverse charge international call. They were also happy to book restaurants for us. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Think about an upgrade from the basic Urban room, as you may get a little more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrgS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

What a fantastic hotel!

First, getting here. Take any Metro you like - but take it to Bastille station. Come out of the exit on the Bastille Opera side, and then head south down the street, away from the giant plinth with the angel at the top. Take the 3rd right street passage you come to - Jules Cesar. It should be directly across from a hamburger joint - US Atelier (or something like that) which is across from the Bastille Opera parking lot.

Anyhoo, The Good:

- This hotel is well positioned in the city. A short distance from Les Halles and La Marais, two hopping districts in the city for all sorts of shopping and fun. You can get to these places within 1 - 3 metro stops from the Bastille station.

- The Bastille station is a relatively short walk away from the hotel. I was concerned when booking that this would be an issue, but it's not. Let's call it two blocks. Not bad. The Bastille station is served by several metro lines, allowing you to get out in the city quickly and be easily able to return. C'est bonne!

- The interior of the hotel is gorgeous. Very spacious, open and comfortable. The lobby is airy, and they seem to have small 'art shows' there routinely. Additionally, there is an outdoor 'atrium' or open air space in the back of the lobby where patrons can likely smoke or just be out for a bit.

- The staff is exceptional. The front desk staff allowed us to check into our rooms when we arrived, offered to help with our bags, and personally escorted us to the room. Little things, but they make the difference. Additionally, the staff stood up from the desk each time we came through the door. It kept telling them that they could sit, but I couldn't break them of the habit! Very polite, very respectful and eager to please. The team at Marceau also speaks English, so no worries there.

- The rooms are spotless and the bathroom is roomy given what you'd normally find in Europe/Paris. I was very pleased. Small shelves on either side of the bed provide not only a night table, but also have power outlets so you can charge your phone or alarm nearby. Many hotels miss this, and force me to hunt all over the room for an outlet. Here they are well placed. Room comes with a large flat screen television, and a stocked fridge. French doors open out and allow air and breezes to come through.

- Housekeeping is strictly observant of the 'do not disturb' sign. In other hotels I've been at, the team can feel like the Gestapo - in this hotel, I was not bothered with needing to clean the room (read: check on) the room consistently.

- Free wifi that is reasonably fast. It didn't seem enough to be able to watch streaming movies, but it was enough to do work, send emails, do reading, upload pictures, Facebook, etc.

- Breakfast was substantial, with many different juices and breads. Yogurt, eggs, meats, and the largest variety of cheeses I've ever seen at breakfast. YUM!! Great job!

- The hotels is close to a corner bodega/store and a pharmacy, so if you forgot anything you can get it here (or beer, water, gum, whatever). It's also close to several small cafes for your dining pleasure. US Atelier, which is at the top of the street is "American Themed" so you can grab a spot and the staff speaks English, and has American music playing. The food is probably American fare if you're French, but not if you're from the States. But it's very good regardless and I would highly recommend.

The BAD:
Nothing is really bad about this hotel, I was really happy. However, just a few items:

- If you get a room that faces the street, it will be noisy if you're like me and like to leave the windows open for fresh air. The hotel seems to be between two busy streets, which makes it loud. Ask for an inward facing room toward the back of the hotel. Also, the front of the hotel opens against an office building, so if you're looking to keep the window open, realize other people can see in - a little disconcerting.

- Wifi is good, but I'd like to be able to actually stream videos, etc. The wifi seems to also kick you out routinely, so you have to log back in. The ability to keep this consistent throughout your stay would be very helpful.

- Room doesn't have air conditioning, but then most places in Europe don't. So if you're a common European traveler, this won't matter.

Wow, that's it. I really have to say I was happy with this hotel. I think if you're traveling by yourself or with a friend, the hotel will not disappoint. I would recommend probably considering elsewhere if you have children - the rooms will support two people comfortably, but more would be unlikely. Additionally, the 'vibe' of the hotel is hip and upscale, so unless your kids are well-behaved, they will conflict with the folks who stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the rear of the hotel, with windows opening toward the back of the hotel. That wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank riallus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We chose this hotel because it was close to the Bastille and the marathon came close by twice,
was a good choice we found the hotel and staff immaculate, an early breakfast was arranged to enable my son to run in the marathon, our breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel has it all: quiet location, under ten minutes to Bastille metro or Gare du Lyon, contemporary and tasteful decor and helpful staff. The price was also very good for a four star hotel.

I specifically wanted a hotel near the Gare du Lyon so I could take the Air France coach instead of the RER and the metro in. The hotel was about a ten minute walk from Gare du Lyon, so easy to navigate with my luggage and easy to find. Rue Jules-Cesar is to the right a little over half-way to the Place de la Bastille.

I was warmly welcomed by the receptionist and given my key cards to get into my room, which was compact, but bigger than many rooms in Paris. I enjoyed the flat screen TV and the warm shower after a long flight. The room had double-glazed windows to cut out a lot of the noise, but there were major road works going on during my stay. The workers arrived promptly at 8 a.m. every morning, but that should hopefully be cleared up shortly.

The breakfast buffet was a wonderful treat with a wide variety of choices and the staff were very prompt at delivering a hot drink fresh from the kitchen.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miccodxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
#390 of 1,804 in Paris
412 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#121 of 1,804 in Paris
663 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Best Western Hotel Marais Bastille
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Albe Bastille
Hotel Albe Bastille
#699 of 1,804 in Paris
462 reviews
Bercy / Nation
CitizenM Paris Gare de Lyon
CitizenM Paris Gare de Lyon
#269 of 1,804 in Paris
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Marceau Bastille Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Marceau Bastille Hotel

Address: 13 rue Jules Cesar, 75012 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#246 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#295 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#491 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £92 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Marceau Bastille Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Marceau Bastille Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Marceau Bastille Paris
Hotel Le Marceau Bastille
Marceau Bastille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing