We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Arts Bastille
Ranked #1,243 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Ever!”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I booked this hotel by accident meaning to book another one that has the same name. As soon as I read the reviews on Tripadvisor my heart sank. Unfortunately the company I had booked with would not let me cancel the booking & had already taken the full payment.
We have been to Paris many times & I know you don't get much for your money there but this is without doubt the worst hotel we have ever stayed in!
When we arrived to check in the grumpy receptionist didn't even lift his head to look at us never mind greet us. The hotel has a tiny lift to the 5th floor & then you have to walk the rest of the way up a dark, dingy, musty stairwell. The corridor was full of dirty linen bags which you have to step over to get to your room.
The room itself stank of bleach which we later found out was to mask the smell of the bathroom which smelt of blocked drains. The shower was tiny with mouldy tiles & ancient plumbing & water leaked all over the floor every time you had a shower. The bathroom door kept sticking & then hit the bed when you opened it. The room itself was poorly furnished with only one bedside table & a 'makeshift' wardrobe, bench & chair. There is also only one plug socket in the room. The lack of air conditioning meant we had to sleep with the window open & the street below was very noisy as there are a lot of bars & restaurants in the area. Our poor nights sleep continued with the flat pillows & despite asking for extra pillows every single day they never appeared. There is also no information about the hotel or area in the room.
The reason I am even giving this place a 1 is for the nice area which is close to several Metro stations & Bastille & has some very nice little bistros in the area.
We definitely won't be back & I have learned a valuable lesson to double check the hotel name & address before I book!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    142
    113
    56
    30
See reviews for
36
198
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Cheap and cheerful. Staff is very nice, helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. Good location, near several Metros.
This hotel has the smallest elevator in the world, large enough for three people and a backpack. If this is an issue, you have been warned.
My room was simple, on the 6th floor, with a nice view and lots of light. It was a little loud, but that does not bother me. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was awkwardly constructed & not pleasant to maneuver in. All in all, fine, but not fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lafern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and upon check in were upgraded to a lovely 'Arts' room on a corner view with 2 windows.

Bathroom small but well equipped with all toiletries and raindrops shower with also a very powerful hand held hose.

Bed was lovely and comfy and flat screen tv also in room.

We did not take breakfast so cannot comment.

On check out of the hotel we were invited to a private function taking place to celebrate the refurb of the hotel. This was a great touch and one which you would never get from a major 'chain' hotel. Thanks to the Manager!

Hotel is in a great location in 11eme and only a few mins walk to Charonne metro on line 9. If you want to walk to Bastille, this takes about 10-15 mins stroll past plenty of bars and places to eat.

If I come to Paris again, I would book this hotel without any question.

Room Tip: Ask for room 102 overlooking the 2 streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Booked for 3 nights over Easter weekend - we were surprised at the price but the reviews looked okay and the pictures were too. The hotel is located in a very good location - a few minutes walk to Bastille and the local metro. We managed to walk pretty much everywhere and not use the metro as much. The hotel itself is very basic (the room we had, had a bed, bathroom, table and a hanging space) but you get what you pay for! They did have maids everyday that came and cleaned and gave fresh towels. The breakfast was 6.95 extra but we didn't have it as there seemed to be cheaper alternatives around! All in all I would return and recommend this hotel for a short break away on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aabb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

Nice little hotel in a good spot close to the metro. Used the metro to get around so location was ideal for us. Some nice little restaurants and patisseries around authentic French not happy with the bathroom too small and shower was not clean was mouldy. Didn't have the breakfast thought it was too expensive. Overall not too bad

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This is a small, clean and well-run hotel. I was only there overnight, arriving at 23:00 and leaving at 07:00 the next day. I might not want to stay there for several days, but as an overnight stop it was perfect. My room was very small, especially the shower room/toilet, but it was clean and well maintained. I had arrived on the Eurostar and left Paris from Gare d'Austerlitz, and for this the location was near perfect (note that if you take the Metro from the nearest station - Charonne - I saw no ticket machines). I would definitely stay at this hotel if making the same trip in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The place is actually nice and very cheap, expecially for such a location. The hotel is small, essential, and with all the basic facilities you need. Nice small toilets, confortable beds and flat screen. Location is excellent, few minutes walking to Bastille and all the nice cafès around. I was there for work, and I could walk to the hotel de ville. Only negative point: the room was a little bit noisy. I could hear my neighbors coming back home at night, walking and talking. But yet, if you get nice neighbors then it is perfect. I didn't try the breakfast, which is generally Paris prices. Booking online is more convenient. The personnel at the desk is nice, and responsive. But also very descreete.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel du Chemin vert Paris
Hotel du Chemin vert Paris
#1,016 of 1,800 in Paris
160 reviews
Hotel Clarisse
#1,299 of 1,800 in Paris
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#807 of 1,800 in Paris
128 reviews
Hotel De La Comete
#1,030 of 1,800 in Paris
281 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Grand Hotel Nouvel Opera
Grand Hotel Nouvel Opera
#1,615 of 1,800 in Paris
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts Bastille

Property: Hotel des Arts Bastille
Address: 2 rue Godefroy Cavaignac | angle 87 rue de Charonne, 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > République
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,243 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts Bastille 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Arts Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Bastille Paris
Des Arts Bastille Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing