We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot and noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Arts Bastille
Ranked #1,249 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hot and noisy”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

While inexpensive for Paris, the lack of any form of air conditioning (or even a fan) made the room unbearably hot. Having to keep the windows open helped marginally but the noise outside was very loud all night, so we enjoyed very little sleep on either night of our two night stay. We stayed in one of the Artists rooms...yes, there was artwork on the wall ...but no other distinguishing features, other than a good shower (the only real plus sign). Not sure if was worth more than the standard room which was €25 per night cheaper...we did not see these rooms so difficult to comment. Decorating was still in progress on stairs and on floors...or has it stopped where they got to, as no signs of any work being done!? If the 'artist is in residence' he must be having a break...or is it that they are having a laugh at the visitors' expense? Summary: Not comfortable, not finished, not worth it. If you can sleep through heat, without any fresh air, and through noise, then this is the place for you. Otherwise, beware!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neville B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    141
    112
    56
    30
See reviews for
36
198
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights in the summer, when we first arrived asked if we could store our luggage as we got there before check in time, they agreed but luggage storage is just in the dinning room where anyone can get to your bag. came back checked in paid with cash they didn't give us a receipt for the purchase but we didn't think anything of it. Got to our room, there is a lift up to it (we were on the 4th floor) but every time you step in it, you feel as it may die. The room was fine probably a little crappy for what we paid a lot of the stuff was covered in dust, don't know if this is because of all the renovations or just not very busy. There was no air conditioning or fan in the room was ridiculously hot at night, could hardly sleep. A window in the room offered a lot of relief but it was still ridiculously hot. The major problem we had with this hotel was we had to leave earlyish in the morning so we went down to drop our key off, it was a different receptionist who originally checked us in, as we went to leave he told us we had not paid for our stay and couldn't leave till, he actually locked the doors on us. The receptionist could hardly speak any English, but luckily the maid was there and she could read English a little and was able to relay some messages to him in French. We tried to explain to him we paid on arrival, but he wouldn't listen and just kept yelling at us in French showing us this piece of paper that said we only paid our booking fee which he said we paid on arrival even though it said we booked in March. We then asked if he could ring the other receptionist and he said no you can call him yourself which is the most ridiculous request as we both didn't have phones or his number. After another 10 minutes of him yelling at us and us trying to tell him we had paid, I broke down couldn't deal with it and he just started yelling at me even more at this point the maid told him just to ring the other guy which he finally did, my friend talked to him on the phone and the other guy remembered us, as I had lost my luggage when we first arrived. After this we gave the phone back to the receptionist who proceeded to have a 5 minute conversation which sounded pretty angry, after that he hung up the phone, looked at us with a scowl on his face and said you have paid and unlocked the door he didn't apologise just waited for us to leave. The man was just extremely rude and I'm sure there are much nicer and politer places to stay in Paris.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We booked a room for a week and even though it was clean and it was in a good location, the room had no AC or fan and only one small window which faced a very very noisy street. After our first night we left to another hotel, the room felt like an oven and it was impossible to sleep with the window open and the noise. I think we had the worst room bc others had a fan and double windows. the staff was very understading and did not give us a problem about it. So maybe during the winter or cold months it wont be so bad.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Money & credit card stolen from closed pocket of the sac locked in a bag in a locked room 503!!! 200€ plus diners card!!!! Never, never, never again! Be careful!! Paris doesn't deserve hotel like this!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I booked this hotel by accident meaning to book another one that has the same name. As soon as I read the reviews on Tripadvisor my heart sank. Unfortunately the company I had booked with would not let me cancel the booking & had already taken the full payment.
We have been to Paris many times & I know you don't get much for your money there but this is without doubt the worst hotel we have ever stayed in!
When we arrived to check in the grumpy receptionist didn't even lift his head to look at us never mind greet us. The hotel has a tiny lift to the 5th floor & then you have to walk the rest of the way up a dark, dingy, musty stairwell. The corridor was full of dirty linen bags which you have to step over to get to your room.
The room itself stank of bleach which we later found out was to mask the smell of the bathroom which smelt of blocked drains. The shower was tiny with mouldy tiles & ancient plumbing & water leaked all over the floor every time you had a shower. The bathroom door kept sticking & then hit the bed when you opened it. The room itself was poorly furnished with only one bedside table & a 'makeshift' wardrobe, bench & chair. There is also only one plug socket in the room. The lack of air conditioning meant we had to sleep with the window open & the street below was very noisy as there are a lot of bars & restaurants in the area. Our poor nights sleep continued with the flat pillows & despite asking for extra pillows every single day they never appeared. There is also no information about the hotel or area in the room.
The reason I am even giving this place a 1 is for the nice area which is close to several Metro stations & Bastille & has some very nice little bistros in the area.
We definitely won't be back & I have learned a valuable lesson to double check the hotel name & address before I book!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Cheap and cheerful. Staff is very nice, helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. Good location, near several Metros.
This hotel has the smallest elevator in the world, large enough for three people and a backpack. If this is an issue, you have been warned.
My room was simple, on the 6th floor, with a nice view and lots of light. It was a little loud, but that does not bother me. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was awkwardly constructed & not pleasant to maneuver in. All in all, fine, but not fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lafern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and upon check in were upgraded to a lovely 'Arts' room on a corner view with 2 windows.

Bathroom small but well equipped with all toiletries and raindrops shower with also a very powerful hand held hose.

Bed was lovely and comfy and flat screen tv also in room.

We did not take breakfast so cannot comment.

On check out of the hotel we were invited to a private function taking place to celebrate the refurb of the hotel. This was a great touch and one which you would never get from a major 'chain' hotel. Thanks to the Manager!

Hotel is in a great location in 11eme and only a few mins walk to Charonne metro on line 9. If you want to walk to Bastille, this takes about 10-15 mins stroll past plenty of bars and places to eat.

If I come to Paris again, I would book this hotel without any question.

Room Tip: Ask for room 102 overlooking the 2 streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#875 of 1,802 in Paris
118 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel du Chemin vert Paris
Hotel du Chemin vert Paris
#911 of 1,802 in Paris
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Grand Hotel Nouvel Opera
Grand Hotel Nouvel Opera
#1,618 of 1,802 in Paris
458 reviews
République
BLC Design Hotel
BLC Design Hotel
#651 of 1,802 in Paris
612 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
#926 of 1,802 in Paris
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts Bastille

Property: Hotel des Arts Bastille
Address: 2 rue Godefroy Cavaignac | angle 87 rue de Charonne, 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > République
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#152 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts Bastille 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Arts Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Bastille Paris
Des Arts Bastille Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing