We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable accommodation with top-notch location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Mont Blanc
Ranked #1,255 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Affordable accommodation with top-notch location”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The hotel is located smack in the middle of Latin Quartier which, unlike many hotel locations in Paris, stay alive throughout the night. Restaurants, bars, shops are just around the corner. There is also a lot of bakeries which is perfect to get your French breakfasts from.

Metro and RER stations are about 2 minutes away and Notre Dame is just 2 blocks from the hotel.

I see some people complaining about the size of the rooms but take it from someone who used to live there, Paris is like that. Go for an apartment and this is the size that you'll get. You know what they say, "When in Rome, do what the Romans do". Unless of course you are willing to pay 600 euros a night for more space.

A lot of hotels were charging 2-3 times the price we paid for the hotel so we would definitely come here again when we are in Paris.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eadriant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    148
    127
    42
    35
See reviews for
90
129
47
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night as I was only in Paris for a transfer, which I think offended them a little, but it was easy to get to on the metro and had lots of things to do nearby. I walked to Le Marais (beautiful!), the Louvre and the Eiffel Tower from here and of course saw Notre Dame which is just around the corner. The neighborhood itself was a bit tacky for me. So many kebab, pizza and touristy shops. The room was clean enough but i still slept in my sleeping bag rather than the sheets because the shower gurgled up some filth that frightened me when i first arrived, also the shower door was broken so if you did fully close it you would never get out again. Not wheel chair friendly. And the "no eating in your room!!" signs were so unreasonable that I just took my muesli bar wrappers with me for fear of them checking the bins and getting classically French at me. It was fine, not going to stay there again though.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AKewoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Excellent location ... The room was small, very clean and quite basic. TV never worked. The bathroom was good with a normal shower. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel was nice but sometimes dosen't work at all ... our room was at 4º floor, may be the reason.
The location is brilliant, two minutes walk from metro station, river Seine and three minutes from Notre Dame. This part of the town is very noise, but our room was at the rear and no sleeeping problems. The hotel is in the middle of a multitude of discos, bars, cafes and restaurants...so during the night and until morning it's quite lively outside.
The staff where nice with us and always ready to help. Breakfast should be included in the price but is not; If you want it you have to pay 10 euros/pax. Not good value for money ... we paid 150 euros/night. (two adults + one child)
Should we stay here again in the future? May be not ... there are other good options in this area.

Room Tip: Chose the rears rooms without a view ... Front rooms are very noisy. After all we are at St Michel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coutito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel located on a wonderful street full of cafes, shops and bars, very close to Notre Dame cathedral. Easily walking distance to the Louvre and Musee D'Orsay. There is nothing fancy about this hotel, however the rooms are adequately sized and clean, staff pleasant, and the price is very affordable for Paris. I was very pleased with out stay here and would recommended and come back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojoannemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I've been to cheaper hotels in Paris before and this Hotel is a rip-off. Location trumps everything here (conveniently next to RER line which is good for easy transfers to airport though...). We slept 3 nights and probably got a total of 5 hours sleep over those three nights. There was a 15cm ventilation hole in the outside wall and, even on the 5th floor, we could hear everything outside... garbage people (before dawn), drunk tourists etc. Even with earplugs, we could not manage to sleep.

On top of this, management was typically Parisian by being dismissive of everything. They'll flat-out lied to us about booking an airport transfers van. When we confronted them, they did not apologize and tried to tell us the the RER train would not work (presumably so they could hook-us up with one of their taxi driver 'friend'. When we rejected this taxi offer, they did not care at all to reserve a taxi to go to the nearest train station from which we could take a RER to the airport (at 4:30am, RER doesn't run from nearest station)... I've witnessed crappy customer service in Paris before but this was low.

If you come here for location and plan on drinking 3 bottles of wine before going to bed, this might be your place. Oh and their wifi is intermittent at best.

Room Tip: They offer non-street facing rooms however these are singles only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave111111042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Carrollton, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed here for our last two nights in France. After other hotels, this one was a bit of a shock. It *looks* good at first glance, but it wasn't long before the cracks started to show.

The good:
-Looks pretty, rooms were big.
-Very convenient to the Saint Michel metro stop on the 4 line.
-Will arrange fast shuttle transport to the airport for you (but you better double-check what time they schedule)
-Room had an a/c unit.
-Extra blankets already in room if needed.
-Elevator is big enough for one person and one suitcase, or two people, which is pretty good for a Parisian elevator.

The bad:
-No shampoo/bath wash provided. Other, cheaper hotels had this minimum.
-One staff person told us we could pay for the fast shuttle with our credit cards. The morning we left, we were told by the person staffing the desk then that we had to pay with cash--given that we were flying out that day, we didn't have 36 euros in cash left on us at that point, so I had to run down the street to find an ATM. Not cool--and it wouldn't have been a problem at all if we'd been told correctly to begin with; we would have stopped by an ATM the night before. It wasn't a language barrier issue, either, as I speak French. It was just bad info.
-They collect towels in the morning and bring them early in the evening. So don't count on getting a shower in the middle of the day/when you arrive.
-Curtains don't block light out at all. Room was very bright, very early in the morning, so sleeping in was impossible.
-Because it's located in a touristy part of the city, it is loud well into the early morning hours, whether you have your window shut or not.

The weird/ugly:
-They have a bizarre "no food" in the rooms rule. I have never in my life encountered a hotel with this rule. Drinks seem to be okay.
-Our room had 3 wall outlets total, including the one the TV was plugged into. There was a bedside lamp with the cord just dangling behind the nightstand. It couldn't be plugged in, because there was literally no outlet for it to plug into.
-The aforementioned a/c unit's plug was hidden behind it, I assume so no one could use it. Weird.
-Internet on the second floor was extremely unreliable. My husband's iPad could connect, but only with a very slow connection. My netbook managed to connect twice, for about 5 minutes and about 1 hour. I could never get it to connect again.

Of all the hotels we stayed in over our 2 week trip to France, this one was the most expensive, and the least impressive. We have no plans to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The Hotel du Mont Blanc is located in the heart of the Latin Quarter in the center of Paris. If you drive too fast or walk too fast you will miss the front door as it is immediately next to the hotel restaurant - we stayed on the 2nd floor so walking the stairs was not a problem. We also stayed in a triple room - at the back of the hotel - (paid 30E more for room) but it was a bit bigger that the doubles - it was also quiet as the front of the hotel can be noisy as the main street it is on is like the main street in New Orleans - very busy and noisy until early morning. Having just finished a cruise with a very nice room - this was a little bit of a culture shock - basic - no frills - but a very nice bathroom, clean and fairly new remodeled - It was perfect for a three night stay as we could walk to the Notre dame Cathedral in 5 minutes, the Louvre in 15 minutes, the metro was close - and we always felt like we knew where we were as the Cathderal was always our focal point as a home base . The cost was 150E per night ($200) which in May in Paris I thought was reasonable- we would stay again if just a short trip - I was able to use their internet in the lobby with no problem and the TV worked fine - although our understanding of the French channels was not very good!

Room Tip: Try to check in early - if possible ask for a room in the back of the hotel as the front can be busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsull826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#204 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#701 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Esmeralda
Hotel Esmeralda
#916 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#625 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Quartier Latin 2
Quartier Latin 2
#1,597 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#245 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Mont Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Mont Blanc

Property: Hotel du Mont Blanc
Address: 28 rue de la Huchette, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,255 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Mont Blanc 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Mont Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Mont Blanc Paris
Du Mont Blanc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing