We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daguerre...Da Bomb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Montparnasse Daguerre
Ranked #840 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Daguerre...Da Bomb!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

After a few extremely pleasant stays here around ten years ago (and previously...), it was with a wee bit of trepidation that I revisited the Hotel Daguerre after such a long absence. In fact, I felt the same thing about Paris in general and the Montparnasse in particular. Well, my fears were groundless; The Daguerre, despite having aged some, not unlike me, st I love retained it's original no nonsense high stanards of charm and service. Spotless rooms, friendly staff and excellent location all combined to make the stay all that it should be. Is it luxurious? No, not really... Is it the cheapest? Nope... Does it have flaws? Of course; the lack of a cold drink and\or ice machine's a bit of a pain in the bum, but with so many shops nearby open late it's hardly terminal. Like so much in Paris, the Daguerre's so much more than the sum of its parts. Call it 'vibe', call it 'zeitgeist', but in an ever changing city, the Daguerre is consistently good, and THAT's worth a mention...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuchulan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    166
    51
    17
    3
See reviews for
38
122
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We all know it's not cheap to stay in Paris but I don't believe this hotel warranted it's price.
It is situated in a bustling area with a good choice of restaurants and easy to find from the metro.
The rooms were clean but just too small for us, we felt like we were in a padded cell, and we just felt too cramped. Also take heed of avoiding a front room.....it really was very noisy and we ended up buying earplugs as it was too warm to sleep without the window open. We chose not to have the 10€ breakfast and instead opted for the delicious 'petit dejeuner' that the local cafés do.
So overall it was an average experience staying here.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms to the front, it really is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The room was very clean and tidy, the receptionists were extremely nice an helpfull and the service is excellent.
The hotel location is not at the city center, but really good to experience the real french life style. nearby matro stations will take you anywhere within a minute. there are good restaurants, caffes & bars close by and many places to buy special food- supermarkets and little gourmet shops.
The room was small, but you cant expect a bigger one in Paris hotels.
Great value for money!

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamargl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We loved stsying here. It is in a lovely neighborhood, close to the metro snf the street is loveky to stroll on. Close to a couple of metro lines and intercity train station. While the elevator stops sort of mid floor...which means you hsvr to walk up about 10 stairs to get to the elevator from whatever floor, the rooms were clean and comfy. Tiny, but thats paris for you. The bed was very comfortable and the room and bathroom spotless. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and spoke a few different languages. I would reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldcitizeninrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I loved the area this hotel is situated in. The street is mainly pedestrian and becomes a market place with great produce and interesting people. There are many excellent restaurants in the area and the hotel is in the middle of two train stations. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XBeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My experience was very positive and I would stay here again. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was substantial. Staff helpful and peasant. Like others, the stairs to the lift were a bit of a pest. Otherwise it was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I asked for a room at the back, and it was quiet. My daughter and husband were at the front and were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0Happycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The XIV quartier is my favorite place and I am always choosing hotels in close neigbourhood of Rue Daguerre. This hotel is frequently fully booked because of its location (close to metro Gaite station), walking distance to very nice restaurants, and prices are reasonable (as for Paris). The rooms are relatively clean, and not as small as in other hotels in the area. From my experience from many hotels in this particular area - it is one of best available options, for this price. One warning - all hotels in the area are in fact the very old houses, build in XIX century and barely adopted as hotels, so rooms are small, elevators tiny ( 2 persons max), windows - wooden and not noise -proof etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wszewko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Clairefontaine
Hotel Clairefontaine
#1,305 of 1,801 in Paris
190 reviews
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#558 of 1,801 in Paris
444 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Sophie Germain
Hotel Sophie Germain
#521 of 1,801 in Paris
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Denfert Montparnasse
Hotel Denfert Montparnasse
#1,338 of 1,801 in Paris
104 reviews
Montparnasse
Tipi Hotel
Tipi Hotel
#1,566 of 1,801 in Paris
185 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel la Perle Montparnasse
Hotel la Perle Montparnasse
#1,404 of 1,801 in Paris
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montparnasse Daguerre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montparnasse Daguerre

Property: Hotel Montparnasse Daguerre
Address: 94 rue Daguerre | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #840 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montparnasse Daguerre 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Daguerre Hotel is located in the Montparnasse district of Paris, just 350 metres from Gaité Metro Station. It offers soundproofed accommodation with brass railings and antique furnishings.All of the rooms at the hotel Montparnasse Daguerre are equipped with a minibar, satellite TV and some also have a seating area. The private bathrooms feature a hairdryer and either a bathtub or a shower.A full buffet breakfast is served daily and can be enjoyed in the comfort of the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Montparnasse Daguerre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montparnasse Daguerre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing