We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Vieille France
Ranked #1,618 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Thank God I only stayed here one night. My room smelt like urine and the walls were very thin. The lady working the front desk was extremely rude and unhelpful when I asked her the best way to get to the airport. The only good thing about this hotel is that it is walking distance from the Gare De Nord station. This place was overpriced and dirty, I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

After being stranded in Paris because the Eurostar had been cancelled I had to find a emergency hotel room overnight. This hotel was very near Gare de Nord station (the only positive point). I was charged 112.00 euros for a double room. The lift was not working from the reception, only between floors 1 through 5. The stairwell was very dark with no lighting. The room was very small, the double bed had to be pushed against the wall to gain the most amount of space. With 2 people sleeping in the bed the only way to get out was to clamber over my husband or struggle to the bottom of the bed. The sheet on the mattress did not fit to the bottom of the bed. The hotel, room & decor was very dated and worn out. All the paint work (skirting & doors), carpet and furnishings were very grubby. Because we were in desperate need of a room, late in the day & at short notice (first 2 hotels we tried were full) we had little choice. In my opinion the hotel staff obviously new the Eurostar had been cancelled & thought they could charge what they liked. I would never choose to stay in a hotel like this & I hope these comments help others to make the right decision.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The walls were so thin I could hear the person in the next room talking on the telephone and going to the bathroom as if he were in my room. Impossible to sleep if the next room is occupied. The bathroom was clean but fitted with such cheap plastic things that, for example, the shower head kept flopping down.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yubecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Reasonable price for the location but nothing extra ordinary. An old building (under renovation), We checked - in late night and we got a room facing the main street La-Fayette. only after a while to know the springs of the bed were broken and dangerously popping up. Other rooms were booked for the following day but staff managed to provide another room for the night. But had to move out to a different room the next morning. After a day long journey, to sleep less and to move things several times was annoying.

Rooms are small but bathrooms are clean and fresh. Excellent staff. Breakfast was ok.

Pros - Heart of the city, Close to SriLankan stores and Indian restaurants, Main metro station right next door.

Cons - poor infrastructure, noisy, not value for money though its reasonable as compared to other hotels in the region.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99tahczib99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lyne L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

The room for 3 provided to us had just one power slot! Nothing to be found even in the bathroom. Oh and yeah- the bathroom has something that looks like a door.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrunalHulikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Geoffrey O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#1,484 of 1,803 in Paris
230 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#579 of 1,803 in Paris
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avalon Hotel Paris
#882 of 1,803 in Paris
981 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Mercure Paris Terminus Nord
Mercure Paris Terminus Nord
#1,143 of 1,803 in Paris
2,375 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Hor
Hotel Hor
#191 of 1,803 in Paris
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Vieille France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vieille France

Address: 151 rue la Fayette | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,618 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £75 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Vieille France 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Vieille France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vieille France Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing