We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Grand Hotel Dore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dore
Ranked #676 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Just got back today and I have to say that this hotel was fantastic. Close to the metro, clean (yet small) rooms cleaned daily and excellent service! The staff were really helpful and aimed to help us in anyway the possibly could!
Breakfast provided a wide spread of choice (recommend getting your own milk for cereal as it was a bit strange).
Free mini fridge (which allows you to buy foods in to make sandwiches for days out) and safe made the hotel all the more brilliant. These facilities allowed us to not worry much about food through out the day (bought from cheap local supermarkets) and personal items.
All in all a decent hotel for the price! Would definitely go again!! :)

Room Tip: Don't go to the monoprix, go to Simply! Also eating out is cheap if you seek out places. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahJones3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

Great hotel for what you pay. Clean and comfortable. Pleasant and helpful staff and great customer service.

Ideal location as amongst bars, shops and restuarants and only a short walk away from the Metro. Ideal location for your stay in Paris. Comfortable room with mod cons. Lovely breakfast. Overall an enjoyable stay. Nothing bad to say about it. Would return!

The Tram Way Restuarant just down the road from the hotel has a great atmosphere, polite and efficient staff and serves lovely food and amazing chocolate Mousse :) Would highly recommend this place....

Theres a pizza place right down the bottom of the road pass the Tram Way. Dont go in there. This place is to be AVOIDED!!!. The food tastes like dish water and literally made me urge. So avoiding this place would be a good idea.

The Champagne River Cruise was a lovely way of seeing Paris. Quite romantic too so would highly recommend it. The website is as follows:

http://www.viator.com/Paris-tours/Cruises-Sailing-and-Water-Tours/d479-g3?pref=02&aid=g1319

Overall, a pleasant stay with no complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amie_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This was a very good deal, but I thought we would be out in the suburbs of Paris. We were very pleasantly surprised, therefore, by how easily accessible it was, just steps from the Metro, and several good restaurants only minutes' walk away. The breakfast had plenty of choice, yoghurt, cereal, eggs, cold cuts, as well as the normal Continental fare. Staff were very pleasant. Drawbacks - the stairs were covered in plastic our first 2 days as renovations were ongoing, but no smell of paint. The hotel is built over the Metro tunnel, so rumblings could be heard on the first floor when quiet, but no problem with street noise. The thin sheet over plastic on the bed was rather uncomfortable. Other hotels deal with this problem better. Air conditioning worked fine though. Overall good value for an expensive city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank my0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Just back from staying at The Grand Hotel Dore. The hotel is nothing spectacular, however, it served its purpose and made our trip in Paris enjoyable. As other reviews have mentioned the hotel is not in the centre of Paris but it is easily accessible with the Metro 2 mins away. The lady on reception was extremely helpful and polite which is always a blessing. The room was basic but the bed was comfy enough and the bathroom looked like it had been recently refurbished. Breakfast was OK, we did go and buy fresh pastries from one of the many shops nearby. Overall, the hotel was suitable for our requirements and if you need a hotel for a couple of nights without breaking the bank then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Efinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Paris, talk about choices to stay. As usual before every trip I spent countless hours looking at reviews and photos of those who had boldly gone before. Do you stay right next to Notre Dame, the Eiffel Tower, Disneyland Paris or even the Louvre. After two months of reading reviews I chose the Grand Hotel Dore. Yes it is away from all the attractions but very close to the Metro and few great restaurants. Our 11:30 pm arrival at CDG airport had me a bit nervous. However there were plenty of taxis to choose from and it cost our party of five 70 euro to get to the hotel doorstep. I know we could have gotten there by train and metro but that late at night I was not going to attempt it. When we arrived they knew that we had traveled a long journey and they did everything they could to make check in a quick as possible. The hotel is located in a very quite area and even that late at night we felt very safe. Here are few things that might help you choose your stay.
1. Yes, there is a lift. But as per European standards barely fits two.
2. The reception, breakfast area and sitting room are very nice
3. The rooms are very clean and well kept. The beds and linens were very nice
4. They were doing remodeling in the hallways but they did not start until after 8:00 am and never really bothered us. If you ask me I like to see a hotel investing dollars to improve their customers stay.
5. Every person that worked the front desk was outstanding. They gave us great advice for restaurants, site seeing, train stops and everything needed to make your Paris stay fantastic. The last gentlemen even recommended going to the grocery store and getting a few local breads, cheeses and drinks to try the true Parisian way. Not to mention he gave us a knife out of there very own silverware drawer to take with us on the night train to Milan so we had something to cut the baguette and cheese. They all spoke great English but, do you best to at least say hello and goodbye in French.
6. A metro station is literally only 100 yards away from the hotel. The couple that went along with us bought the Zone 1-2 (10) ticket pack. This one will get you to all major attractions within Paris. It was only about 6 euros. It takes one ticket per person every time you enter the station and as long as you connect to another metro within the station you can travel for long distances. We bought the Zone 1-5 pass ( which expires the next day at 3:00 am) because we were going to Disneyland. It is about 20 euro pp.

I cannot give you a review on the breakfast at this hotel. Instead of eating there we went out to street vendors and had Crepes and cappuccinos. There are also two fantastic pastry shops right down the street. You must try there apple and chocolate filled croissants. I hope this helps you make your decision.

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd or 4th floors and anything facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trying2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from a 4 night stay here and we would certainly recommend it. In comparison to other hotels it was very well priced and included breakfast (cereal, fruit, croissants etc). It is in a good location-next to the metro station. There are also a few restaurants and bars within walking distance. The room we had was small but very clean and adequate for a city break. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This hotel is in the best location for a trip to Paris. To say the metro is close is an understatement, was really easy to find after stepping off our train and in a great location for bars and restaurants just outside of central Paris.
The room was spotlessly clean with a lovely new bathroom and a great powerful shower. It was on the small side, but it didn't need to be any bigger for a couple staying for a few evenings. The bed was really comfy.
Breakfast was really nice and the staff were lovely and really helpful.
Would stay here again whenever we go back to Paris.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Le Quartier Bercy Square Paris
Bercy / Nation
Hotel L'interlude
Hotel L'interlude
#420 of 1,809 in Paris
419 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#242 of 1,809 in Paris
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Allegro Nation
Best Western Allegro Nation
#865 of 1,809 in Paris
466 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Sweet Hotel Paris
Sweet Hotel Paris
#1,154 of 1,809 in Paris
123 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel de la Porte Doree
Hotel de la Porte Doree
#239 of 1,809 in Paris
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dore

Address: 201 avenue Daumesnil | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#136 Family Hotel in Paris
#151 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#363 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#396 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £72 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dore 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over a century, the Grand Hôtel Doré Paris has been an ideal and pleasant haven in the heart of Paris for visitors to the capital. The Grand Hôtel Doré opened its doors at the beginning of the 20th century. It is one of those Parisian hotels of charm and character combining French tradition with a contemporary approach, which has always earned Paris its reputation. The Grand Hôtel Doré Paris has been recently completely renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Dore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Grand Hotel Dore Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing