We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three night from 9 July 2013.”
Review of Grand Hotel Dore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dore
Ranked #585 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

As a single my double bedded room was small but good. A large suitcase would have been a real issue. Comfortable bed in a quiet room and curtains that stopped light gave good sleeping. Certainly the best shower in a hotel in years of travelling and you didn't need to put your glasses on to see how to use it. Hot water stayed hot. The quiet stayed quiet. The aircon works.
Breakfast buffet style and generous.
Am a little in love with Geraldine the receptionist. Use the list of local restaurants the hotel give.
Eating in the La Petit Troo just down the road is great.
The hotel is about 30 meters from the Metro which gives much better access to all Paris than the map suggests. As a three star small hotel I recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: If you have big luggage tell the hotel in advance so you get an appropriate sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happymanager, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Dore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Malcom ,
First of all, thank you for the nice review.
It is always a pleasure to welcome you back at the Grand Hotel Dore, and hopefully we will get the opportunity to do it again. It is essential for us to know that our customer feel at ease while they are on vacations. Your review gives us confidence to improve our work even more.
Looking forward to welcome you.
Regards
Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed for one night here. It is somewhat out of the way, but not too far. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet (facing the courtyard, but windows seemed good in general). The internet connection is good, and the breakfast reasonable (included in my rate).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happymanager, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Dore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand Hotel Dore. Your evaluation helps us to improve our work. However our hotel is situated 20m to the metro station which give you access to every sightseeing easily, knowing that the center of Paris is Notre dame and it is 10 minute from the hotel. It is also walking distance to place de la Bastille. on your next visited do not hesitate to back to us for some more information.
Thank you.
Regards
Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Really handy for Daumesnil Metro, its clean and friendly, staff speak English, its quiet at night. The breakfast offered is a good spread. I stayed here because I was attending a concert at Bercy and its only a short walk to/from there, there are plenty of nice bistros in the area and bakers too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissBugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly. We chose this hotel because of price and proximity to the metro. The room was clean quiet. The made a couple of restaurant recommendations and the one we chose turned out to be rather nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at Grand Hotel Dore in June 2013 and cannot speak highly enough of it. As stated by previous reviewers, the hotel is right next to the Daumesnil Metro, but we did not experience any noise problems at all, despite staying on just the first floor at the back of the hotel. (We requested a room at the back, as we had heard the street side rooms were a little more noisy, and the hotel were very accommodating in granting our request!) The rooms were clean, of a good size for Paris and we found the beds to be incredibly comfortable. The staff could not have been more helpful and spoke very good English. The 'Continental' breakfasts were generous and there was plenty of choice. There are plenty of places to eat around the hotel and being next to the Metro station, transport was no problem. We were delighted to have found this hotel and will return here the next time we visit Paris.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We were catching the coach to Bercy which is why i chose this hotel as it was fairly close by( only 2 stops on the Metro) and we were so pleased we did. When arriving on the Metro at Daumesnil we walked up the steps and i said to my husband right lets look for the hotel we turned around and could see it straight away yes it was that close. It is situated on a fairly quiet street with a mixture of shops restaurants and banks and felt very safe to walk around even in the evening. The Hotel itself is compact the lift would only take me and our cases but was fast and reliable, The room was at the back of the building and small but had everything we needed - tea and coffee, kettle, fridge and telephone as well as an amazing shower which i loved. It was cleaned every day and essentials refreshed. The staff were always friendly and very helpful and made you very welcome. It was easy access to get to anywhere we wanted via the metro ( which was so much better than the london underground ) the Line from Daumesnil goes directly to the Eiffel Tower and you can change on route for other destinations. If we go back to Paris we would definitely use this hotel again

Room Tip: We were at the rear and although we had no view it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank straysuzi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Just got back today and I have to say that this hotel was fantastic. Close to the metro, clean (yet small) rooms cleaned daily and excellent service! The staff were really helpful and aimed to help us in anyway the possibly could!
Breakfast provided a wide spread of choice (recommend getting your own milk for cereal as it was a bit strange).
Free mini fridge (which allows you to buy foods in to make sandwiches for days out) and safe made the hotel all the more brilliant. These facilities allowed us to not worry much about food through out the day (bought from cheap local supermarkets) and personal items.
All in all a decent hotel for the price! Would definitely go again!! :)

Room Tip: Don't go to the monoprix, go to Simply! Also eating out is cheap if you seek out places. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahJones3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Le Quartier Bercy Square Paris
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#230 of 1,805 in Paris
968 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel de la Porte Doree
Hotel de la Porte Doree
#257 of 1,805 in Paris
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel L'interlude
Hotel L'interlude
#453 of 1,805 in Paris
404 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Allegro Nation
Best Western Allegro Nation
#854 of 1,805 in Paris
461 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Plus 61 Paris Nation Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dore

Address: 201 avenue Daumesnil | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#121 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#136 Family Hotel in Paris
#363 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#396 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £69 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dore 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over a century, the Grand Hôtel Doré Paris has been an ideal and pleasant haven in the heart of Paris for visitors to the capital. The Grand Hôtel Doré opened its doors at the beginning of the 20th century. It is one of those Parisian hotels of charm and character combining French tradition with a contemporary approach, which has always earned Paris its reputation. The Grand Hôtel Doré Paris has been recently completely renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Dore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Grand Hotel Dore Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing