We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights home”
Review of Grand Hotel Dore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dore
Ranked #597 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Me and my other half went to Paris for 4 days, had a lovely place to stay and people around were really helpful. Receptionists were on their place 24/7 and always happy to use their English skills, answer our question, recommend places to eat or buy things.
As an extra bonus we had WiFi free and so it made our planning for every day easier :)
Everyday made bed, clean room and good location to go everywhere as the Metro is nearby for a good price is an ideal combination. I would recommend this place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanaPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happymanager, Responsable réception at Grand Hotel Dore, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Customer ,

Thank you for the nice review and for your time.
We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your vacations at le Grand Hotel Dore , we do our best to satisfy our customer and your review help us to improve our work .It is thoughtful of you to call our hotel a home .

Regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

Was very happy with our stay here. The staff were very friendly, especially the breakfast waiter. The surrounding area is very clean and tidy with some nice (quite) bars to chill in. Short tube ride and you're at any of the splendid sites Paris has to offer.

Room size was all you need for a city trip, and were cosy and in good condition. Would stay here again.

One major gripe I would say with the hotel is that the bed had a plastic sheet on it (like old or sick people have in case they wet the bed). This was noisy and felt cheap and didn't help a good sleep. Remove these sheets from ALL of your beds and simply charge people the cost of fouling a bed. Seems a better system to me (only reason why it only gets 3 star instead of 4).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Foreverseeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I usually tend to stay in 5 star hotels when I travel, as the company pays. But when it comes to paying out of my own pocket, I scrutinize hotels and always try to get the best for my money. This hotel is definitely a good place to spend your hard earn money specially if you are on holidays. Very good location, close to a metro station, great restaurants around... it doesn't get any better for the price. The staff were very attentive, always helping us and wanting to ensure we enjoyed our stay in Paris. Don't expect anything luxurious, but absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Great little hotel, very clean and staff are extremely friendly and very helpful. The hotel itself is right next to metro station 'daumesnil' so getting around is very easy. There are some good restaurants close by which the hotel recommended, a couple of amazing cake and bread shops and a really good wine shop. Might not be the most plush place you'll ever stay but it's very good. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paulib32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have just arrived home after a 5 night trip to Paris which we booked in January & we can't wait to go back! We would 100% stay at Grand Hotel Dore again.

The hotel is in a great location, literally 1 minute walk to the Metro station which is on lines 6 & 8. We found the metro really easy to use (just like London underground) & we were able to get to all the usual attractions quickly. We purchased a 5 day metro pass called Paris Visite from a website called 'Hello Paris' which cost £50 each & we had sent to us before we went - seems a lot but it was totally worth it as we were hopping on & off the metro continuously each day. We also used the trains/metro to get from/to the airport instead of transfers. We also went to Disneyland for a day which is actually quite a journey but is in zone 5 which is covered by the ticket. Hello Paris also sell tickets for different durations.

If you want to use public transport from CDG airport - catch the train (line B) to Denfert Rochereau & change to line 6 straight through to Daumesnil.

Back to the hotel - staff were very friendly, changed throughout the day but they were all lovely & very helpful whenever we asked for help. We had breakfast included which was continental, available 7am - 10:30am. Good selection & very generous with the tea/coffee which is good for early starts! The rooms have everything you need including tea/coffee facilities, wardrobe with safe (free), wifi (free), fridge, TV, bathroom - the shower was AMAZING! (very important to me in the morning along with the coffee). Very clean rooms & decorated to high standard. Bed very comfortable & maid service each day with a change of towels.

We didn't explore Daumesnil until the last day whilst we were 'wasting time' before going to the airport (and then wished we had explored it earlier). There is a great cafe called Paris Breizh which is lovely & really cheap in comparison to the cafes in the busy tourist areas. As you come up the metro steps there is a fountain in the middle of the roundabout & its on the road to the right (1 o'clock direction). There is a restaurant called Au Metro opposite the hotel which is good if you want to stay local in the evening. If you like cakes - go exploring & find the patisseries! There is one a couple of doors up from the hotel :-)

We had an amazing time & I would definitely recommend this hotel - don't hesitate & book it today!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here recently and was very impressed with the location. Just down the road in Daumesnil is a beautiful park where you can take boats out on a lake, which was a nice surprise. There are also many cafes, bakeries and a supermarket (Monoprix) down the road. The Metro is about 100m away. In all it takes about 25 mins to get to the Eiffel Tower, and is on the same Metro line. Great!

The room was decent with comfortable bed, many TV stations including BBC and some interesting French Music ones. Bathroom is fine though a little small.

The staff were very kind, spoke excellent English and had a lot of good tips for us. Really appreciated their help. They even helped teach us some French for our stay as well.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The people at the reception were friendly. Rooms are small but normal for Paris. Very close to the metro station Daumesnille. The breakfast was nice. It is also a minutes walk to the bakeries, supermarkets, coffee shops and restaurant. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svetoslav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel L'interlude
Hotel L'interlude
#436 of 1,802 in Paris
396 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Zazie Hotel
Zazie Hotel
#505 of 1,802 in Paris
296 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Le Quartier Bercy Square Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel de la Porte Doree
Hotel de la Porte Doree
#265 of 1,802 in Paris
737 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#247 of 1,802 in Paris
951 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Source Hotel
Source Hotel
#729 of 1,802 in Paris
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dore

Address: 201 avenue Daumesnil | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#100 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#289 Family Hotel in Paris
#363 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#396 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £65 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dore 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over a century, the Grand Hôtel Doré Paris has been an ideal and pleasant haven in the heart of Paris for visitors to the capital. The Grand Hôtel Doré opened its doors at the beginning of the 20th century. It is one of those Parisian hotels of charm and character combining French tradition with a contemporary approach, which has always earned Paris its reputation. The Grand Hôtel Doré Paris has been recently completely renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splitty, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Dore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Grand Hotel Dore Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing