We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a Smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Dore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dore
Ranked #464 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service with a Smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

My wife, baby and I just had a great stay at Grand Hotel Dore. The customer service was second to none. Many people mention "small rooms", but this is Paris...what do you expect? Complaining that the room isn't big enough is like complaining that it's cold in Winter or complaining that you don't earn enough money to stay somewhere with bigger rooms (just my opinion). We found the size of the room to be more than sufficient (and bare in mind that before our stay at GHD we had been traveling for a month with a baby, so we had huge bags and a full-size baby crib). The room was clean, had a TV, comfortable bed, mini-fridge with a complimentary water, a desk, WIFI (great signal on the 6th floor) and a good, clean bathroom. The place isn't luxurious, but for the money you are paying, GHD was great. I found the breakfast to be really good - wide selection and fresh. The location is super convenient - metro is a few steps away, grocery store (Simply) just across the street, and a ton of shops, bistros, restaurants etc in the vicinity.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eazybeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    269
    55
    16
    5
See reviews for
77
307
47
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

This was our second time at the Dore.

Staff are great and the Hotel is very clean and comfortable.

Good location for the Metro station and takes about 10mins to get into the center using the Metro.

Some nice local Bistros and restaurants

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank craig c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed in Grand Hotel Doré just 1 night for business. You'll notice immediately that all the staff is smiling (not so common in Paris). The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. The bathroom has a large tub that doubles as a shower. The WiFi is a bit weak (at least in my room 426) but it worked near the door. The staff is fluent in English.
The location is convenient, a few steps from metro Daumesnil. There are shops and restaurants nearby. The breakfast includes cereals, yoghurt, bread, eggs, orange juice. The breakfast room is fairly small, so you better avoid the peak hour. There is also a separate lobby near the entrance.
Overall, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PYSc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed here 4 nights with my wife and also our daughter and her boyfriend. We had a great time. The hotel is well placed, very close to the metro, less than 2 minutes walk. The rooms are small but very clean. The bathroom is by comparison large, clean and well stocked. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast is plentiful and tasty. I'm old, so I liked the fact that there was an English language newspaper available at Breakfast, for the modern person there is free Wifi. The local restaurants are very good and very close. I would have no hesitation to go back and stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DlkStokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

A couple of weeks ago, I spent six nights at Grand Hotel Dore. I can vouch for the fact that the positives you read in the Trip Advisor reviews are accurate. Geraldine and the entire staff are warm and welcoming and the desk staff is excellent in English. Everyone, from housekeeping to the breakfast room staff, could not have been any more helpful and friendly.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and well located, just steps from Metro Lines 6 and 8. The neighborhood surrounding the hotel is beautiful and safe, with lots of shopping options, including two nearby supermarkets and a late night (maybe all night) grocery practically across the street.

The hotel provides a list of nearby restaurants, which is helpful. One of my favorites was Picolla Italia and my least favorite, though recommended by others here, was Le Metro Brasserie (a strong cigarette odor permeates the inside of the restaurant). The wifi signal was good, though I found myself having to login frequently. I was fortunate to get a superb rate, including their good buffet breakfast, through Orbitz.

There is one thing I'd do differently on my next stay and it concerns the type of room I chose. It has been made very clear in many of the reviews here, that the rooms are quite small (the good news about this, if you like quiet, is that the hotel does not attract families with children--a big plus for me!) Having stayed in countless Parisian hotel rooms over the years, I thought I knew what to expect. That said, upon check-in, I could not have been more unprepared for just how small the room would be. My booking was for a Single Room and the room assigned to me was absolutely the most minuscule hotel room I've ever seen. It was impossible to walk around the bed (which took up pretty much most of the room) unless you walked sideways and I still have the bruises to show for it :) My traveling companion was in the Single Room above mine and there were definitely a couple of extra inches between the bed and the wall, which made traversing the room much easier. Bottom line, under no circumstances do I recommend one person occupying a single room for more than a night or two. Moreover, avoid staying in Room 102 altogether.

As my stay was for six nights, after the first night I requested to be moved to one of the slightly larger Single Rooms. Without hesitation, the staff kindly upgraded me to a Standard Double Room. This room, while still Parisian small, was absolutely fine and I was a very happy camper for the rest of mystay. In retrospect, it was my own fault for even considering a Single Room and I am most grateful to the staff for accommodating me so willingly.

I would absolutely stay in this hotel again and highly recommend it to all travelers. It feels like a home away from home in one of the greatest tourist cities in the world.

Room Tip: For stays in excess of two nights, avoid Single Rooms and avoid Room 102 at all costs. Room 216 is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nycbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed here with my partner for 5 days beginning of June for my Birthday and was really happy with this hotel.

The room and bathroom was a good size and were kept very clean. Staff were very friendly and when we arrived to early to check in they said that we could leave our luggage with them for no extra charge and go explore the area until we could check in which was nice.

There is a metro station almost directly outside of the hotel so travelling around Paris was very easy. You can get a metro ticket that will give you unlimited use for a certain amount of days I can't remember what it was called but they worked out to be a bargain! We got the one that covered zones 1-5 so we could get to Disneyland on it, but if you aren't going there you could get away with the zone 1 version which was even cheaper still.

Breakfast was very good as well, plenty of different breads and pastries to pick from.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wykesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happymanager, Responsable réception at Grand Hotel Dore, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear customer

Thank you for the time you’ve taken to share your experience on the Grand Hotel Dore .It is always a pleasure to see that our customer enjoyed their stay. Your review is very important for us.
We hope to see you again.

Regards
Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Me and my other half went to Paris for 4 days, had a lovely place to stay and people around were really helpful. Receptionists were on their place 24/7 and always happy to use their English skills, answer our question, recommend places to eat or buy things.
As an extra bonus we had WiFi free and so it made our planning for every day easier :)
Everyday made bed, clean room and good location to go everywhere as the Metro is nearby for a good price is an ideal combination. I would recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanaPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happymanager, Responsable réception at Grand Hotel Dore, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Customer ,

Thank you for the nice review and for your time.
We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your vacations at le Grand Hotel Dore , we do our best to satisfy our customer and your review help us to improve our work .It is thoughtful of you to call our hotel a home .

Regards Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#232 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel de la Porte Doree
Hotel de la Porte Doree
#281 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel L'interlude
Hotel L'interlude
#427 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Le Quartier Bercy Square Paris
Bercy / Nation
Golden Tulip Gare De Lyon Le 209
Hotel Berne Opera
#361 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dore

Property: Grand Hotel Dore
Address: 201 avenue Daumesnil | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#120 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#290 Family Hotel in Paris
#364 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#397 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dore 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over a century, the Grand Hôtel Doré Paris has been an ideal and pleasant haven in the heart of Paris for visitors to the capital. The Grand Hôtel Doré opened its doors at the beginning of the 20th century. It is one of those Parisian hotels of charm and character combining French tradition with a contemporary approach, which has always earned Paris its reputation. The Grand Hôtel Doré Paris has been recently completely renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Dore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Grand Hotel Dore Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing