We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst option for Paris stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel de l'Europe
Ranked #1,526 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The worst option for Paris stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The worst things about this hotel is location and stuff.
Hotel is located in the noisy and dangerous area, near to railway station and metro, but quite far from the city centre (around 30-40min walk).
The area around is quite dangerous, quite in the heart of african area, which makes it extremely dangerous in the evening and night,
Stuff of the hotel is extremely impolite, not helpful. When I was waiting for a taxi at 4am- they pushed me outside the hotel- to wait out as "i already made a check out, so shall not stay at hotel".
Summary- if you want to enjoy your Paris stay-choose another hotel

Room Tip: If you want to have a good room- pls choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Oktogo.ru

Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    29
    38
    21
    8
See reviews for
23
27
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Algiers, Algeria
Level Contributor
327 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

used this for proximity to the Gard du Nord, as it comes us as Grand Hotel de l'Europe Gard du Nord on booking.com, but it is outside the Gare de l'Est. Room was really grim for €78 - a small box with a view of a wall. Staff were fine although the first receptionist - east European I think - did not understand my French and asked me to speak in English. Based on the expensive room I didn't bother with the €6 breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Omaha
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I really liked this hotel. Pretty clean for a Paris hotel. The elevator is small, but works. The internet was fast enough and free. It was noisy in the front of the hotel, but OK. A few steps from the Metro entrance and there is a grocery store just around the corner. I love the neighborhood as it is eclectic. Some might be afraid of the locals, but I enjoy the characters.

Room Tip: I think the rear of the hotel on a higher floor would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jags12us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
291 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel is no frills, but reasonable considering the proximity to transportation. Several buses stop in front and Gare de Nord station is right across the street. The entire block is full of every type food you could want with both expensive and reasonable choices. It is small, you'll hear some street noise, WiFi seldom works, and the elevater is a tiny cage right out of the Pink Panther movies! Bedrooms are small and sparsely furnished but bathrooms are remodeled and very nice. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. But - there is NO airport shuttle provided by hotel as stated. There is a bus to the front door or the underground will get you there. One word describes this older hotel;
QUAINT!

Room Tip: Room 47 will give you a nice (but sometime noisy) view of the square. Bath has nice tub/shower combo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleepy2l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I can not complain about the hotel itself But the customer service from the Front desk was horrible. It was only one man but it would be the reason I will not stay there again. Its good for location because the metro is literally outside the front door but defiantly not a nice neighbourhood. It is located in an African area and we had drunk people screaming in the early mornings. We didnt eat the breakfast instead we walked to the nearest bakery and bought amazing fresh french food. If you are looking for location it is good but as for the extras like friendly staff do not have high expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aghh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

...room could be cleaner, rug exchanged, there was cold, window not tight enough, black spots in the shower between the tiles, very small room (6th floor), dust on the elevator doors, no hair dryer, "french pilow" for two, outdated, poor furniture, only 1 tinny lift... uff never more!
For just 10 € higher price got great room at Libertel very just around the corner (incomparable value).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cokdyzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Is a great hotel with excelent location and the staff is helpfull, everything is near, has places to eat near... We didnt take the breakfast because there's a good bakery. The room that we have has a nivel view. The bathroom has a nice tap.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Modern' Est
Modern' Est
#1,495 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Little Regina
Hotel Little Regina
#1,091 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amiot Hotel
Amiot Hotel
#1,595 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare de l'Est TGV
Ibis Paris Gare de l'Est TGV
#698 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Entrepôt
Kyriad Paris 10 - Gare De L'Est
Kyriad Paris 10 - Gare De L'Est
#1,075 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de l'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de l'Europe

Property: Grand Hotel de l'Europe
Address: 74 boulevard de Strasbourg | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,526 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel de l'Europe 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Grand Hotel de l'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing