We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money in Montparnasse area”
Review of Hotel Mistral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mistral
Ranked #73 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Value for Money in Montparnasse area”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The hotel is clean and everyone is very kind. The only issue is the lack of a lift (they are workig to install one in the near future) but the price was very competitive. I think this hotel is a good compromise for having a lovely hotel located in a quiet location, with silent nights and in the centre of Paris.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    247
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
178
289
53
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My sister and I had an en-suite double room. Everything was immaculate. We had no complaints whatsoever. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. On our first night, the hotel's wifi was not working, but they did everything they could to remedy the problem. Every night afterwards, the hotel's wifi worked perfectly.
The hotel is very close to Gare Montparnasse, making it very accessible to every part of Paris and Versailles.
Overall, the hotel was clean and well-priced. We loved our stay there in Paris!

Room Tip: Although the en-suite rooms are more expensive, I definitely think that they are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooji K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I was only staying here one night as it was a last minute decision to come back to Paris for that day and I was moving into a different hotel the next day. I was on level 3, and there was a toilet on that level but from what I could see the actual shower was on the ground floor. I wasn't really told where the facilities were so I had to find out by myself. In the room you get a TV, bed, basin and basic wardrobe. It was a little bit dirty, well the cover for the bed was slighty dirty but the sheets were clean.

The TV was unplugged for some reason, so I had to climb onto the rickety chair in the room and reconnect the TV. One of the bedside lamps were missing so it was just exposed wires. My room was 70 euros which I think was actually a little overpriced. It's a pretty good area in that it was close to Gare Montparnasse but I don't think I'll stay here again. I have a couple of other hotels in Paris that would probably be more on my list to stay. At least in those you get your own bathroom ...

Room Tip: I don't really know as I don't know whether there are superior rooms that might be a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mixedlollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I think the price is too high. the room is not worthy. there is no air conditioner in the room, so it is hot. we have to share the bath room, but it is not clean. Also, they don't have lift, so if you have big luggage, maybe this hotel is not good choice for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Hotel Mistral was lovely and quaint. I loved the old school feel about it and how every nationality seemed to be represented in the lobby area and everybody, especially the staff was so courteous and nice. Beforehand, we researched via Tripadvisor and found that the nearest toilets and showers were located in the first or fourth floor. So we before checking in, we emailed the establishment if we could have a double room with a shared bathroom on either floors. They assigned us a room on the fourth floor.

To those with heavy luggage like us, beware, the small staircase is a long and winding journey to the top. When we finally got to our room, we were satisfied to see that it was beautifully decorated (if you're into the old school romantic homey feel) with two french windows with a view of the garden and the family house next door (kinda feels stalkerish but you get used to it)

Breakfast was an extra charge of 9 Euro per person. In Paris, that is such a bargain where a single croissant could cost you one to four euro depending on the brand and quality. Here, we had unlimited choice of bread, croissant, jams, spread, juice, yogurt, milk, cereal and cheeses. Freshly brewed coffee and chocolate was available in a high tech coffee machine. We made every euro count by stuffing ourselves with jam, Nutella and croissants.

What's more, since we did not have transportation to take us to the international airport, which was an hour away, the hotel staff offered to find us a shuttel service or private car hire at a bargain price. They came through for us with a private car hire at a really modest price. I don't remember the exact amount but I did remember thanking the owner profusely for his 9and his staff's) assistance. Definitely a good place to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrangeinTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

They mixed our reservation and we had to spend the first night in a room without a bathroom although we had made a reservation for a room with a shower. They didn't try to make it up for us (I would have appreciated a discount after such mistake).

The hotel is old and worn. Mold in the bathroom. First room smelled like cigaret. Double beds were only about 140 cm wide and there was a plastic cover right under the sheet which made the bed very uncomfortable to sleep on (it was a hot weather outside). My husband found it more comfortable to sleep on the floor.

The hotel is cleaned well but it doesn't really help much if the carpet is 30(?) years old. Don't believe the pictures, most of the rooms are not nearly as nice.

Never going back to this place (even if it means we have to pay double the price for a better hotel).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karoliina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I'd booked an Economy Twin Room for 3 nights, and I unfortunately found Hotel Mistral's Economy accommodation to be very disappointing. My main issue was with the "shared bathroom", which would be considered substandard for even a youth hostel. The shared wc and the shared shower are on separate floors. The shower room on the 5th floor is tiny (just one stall) and consistently messy and mildewy (and there's no toilet). The wc (just one toilet) on the 4th floor is also cramped, used as storage for ladders and other things. Most annoyingly though, was that there was no washbasin in the WC. You have to go back to your room to wash your hands, which strikes me as being pretty unhygienic when it comes to sharing a bathroom. In general, I found moving between 2 floors and 3 separate rooms just to get ready in the morning to be irritating. And this is coming from someone who's more than used to dormitory and hostel bathrooms. Aside from the shared bathroom negatives, I found the room and facilities weren't as nice or large as the pictures depicted them to be, and the customer service was somewhat mediocre. I wouldn't recommend Hotel Mistral's Economy rooms to other travelers. Hopefully their ensuite accommodations are better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Max Hotel
Max Hotel
#124 of 1,802 in Paris
280 reviews
Le Fabe Hotel
#99 of 1,802 in Paris
1,148 reviews
Hotel Henriette
#112 of 1,802 in Paris
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#145 of 1,802 in Paris
1,021 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#115 of 1,802 in Paris
552 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#97 of 1,802 in Paris
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mistral

Property: Hotel Mistral
Address: 24 rue Cels | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Paris
#42 Business Hotel in Paris
#160 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#162 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mistral 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mistral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mistral Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing