We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Provinces Opera
Ranked #1,059 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Is what it is”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Having arrived late after being ripped off by taxi driver from Gare du Nord (he stopped to have a 5mins conversation with his friend while meter still running and charged us for it) was not in best of moods on my first visit to Paris.
Anyway i digress. The lobby and decor were nice and nothing too fancy and staff friendly enough. Got to the room and it was standard with normal amenities and did what its purpose was which is a room to lay my head, plus we werent staying there all time so fit for purpose. The decor in the hallway was a little dated and could use a bit of uplifting. Also on our way to room on last night the ceiling kind of flopped down. Kind of hard to describe.
Anyways all in all nit bad for a no thrills but good roof over head stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    156
    109
    39
    25
See reviews for
60
142
38
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

So, we stayed here for two nights while we were in Paris. We had two rooms and 6 people. Overall, the hotel was sufficient for our needs. Rooms were generally small but big enough to accommodate us comfortably. They were clean enough. The hotel was well situated and we were able to walk to lots of things - which was our primary goal.

The staff was definitely not fond of Americans. We were looking for some ice and the front desk told us we needed to bring our ice bucket to reception and they would fill it for us. But... we did not have an ice bucket in either room that we were staying in. The response from the front desk was a rather irritated shrug which we took to mean - "no ice for you."

So, it's nothing special but not too expensive either - so, if you don't care much about the accommodations and more about the price, it will probably be fine for you. If you're looking for something a little more friendly, a little brighter and cleaner and you have a little more in your budget to spend, I'd consider looking around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GStur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

just returned from a trip to Paris and have mixed emotions regarding this place. It's not bad, but it's not great either. Taking into consideration that you only spend a few hours there (just to sleep) and the fact that it's 20 min away (by foot) from Louvre i would say it's an ok option to stroll around the 1st and 3rd arrondisment. The neighborhood (situated in the 10th arr) is not very child friendly (the small streets are full of women trying to sell their bodies and weird clubs/cinemas) but It's close to the metro (you will need that in order to get to the main attractions). Dont know if i would choose staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psipsine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel is located very close to Gare du Nord (approximately 15 mins by walk) where you can stop with the RER B from CDG Airport. It is in a nice area with brasserie, bar, bus stops and a very close metro stop. The room as well the bathroom were very clean and huge taking into account the standard in Paris. WIFI connection is for free and very speed. The breakfast is composed of both salty and sweety stuff. Highly-recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexiasonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perigueux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Just come back from a weekend in this hotel, i found it ideal in every way, clean, friendly, breakfast was good and no complaints at all. Not a long walk into the heart and very close to the nearest Metro.
I would definitely go back again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

If you like getting bad customer service this is your perfect place. Manager Bety is very good at giving you her disgruntled face if you speak English to her. If you want to work in the hospitality industry, you'd better learn how to deal with travelers who speak English only.

Helpful?
8 Thank Leaurouge
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was accompanying my boyfriend on a business trip and Hotel Provinces Opera met our requirements for begin close to his office, close to the metro and not too terribly expensive. Our booking was last minute so we get beyond those criteria in the selection process.

The rooms were satisfactorily appointed and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. Otherwise, it wasn't anything special.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellin-kathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est
Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est
#913 of 1,801 in Paris
527 reviews
Opera / Bourse
D'Enghien Hotel
D'Enghien Hotel
#1,132 of 1,801 in Paris
228 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel des Comedies
Hotel des Comedies
#233 of 1,801 in Paris
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Best Western Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Opera
Hotel Corona Opera
#392 of 1,801 in Paris
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provinces Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provinces Opera

Property: Hotel Provinces Opera
Address: 36 Rue de l'Echiquier, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,059 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provinces Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
113 air conditioned sound proofed and recently renovated rooms offering inviting confort. Bathroom or shower room, tv, safe, telephone. Free and unlimited wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Provinces Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Provinces Hotel
Les Provinces Paris
Hotel Les Provinces

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing