We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing in Paris is cheap, but this is good value for $$”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon
Ranked #579 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
316 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Nothing in Paris is cheap, but this is good value for $$”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Very easy to get to if you arrive in Paris via train to the Gare Lyon, it also is situated in the middle of many good brasseries, bistros and boulangeries. It's a little larger than most Parisian hotel rooms we have stayed in, but still small compared to North American standards.
Our room was on the street side. I had no problem sleeping through the sirens and street noise, but my husband ended up closing the windows and turning the AC on. No problem after that.
Remember that 2 star hotels do not provide Kleenex and no French hotels provide washcloths. Either plan ahead or buy what you need from the local supermarkets.....two of which are located within a minutes walk.
We did not choose the breakfast provided at the hotel. We went down to the local brasserie and enjoyed juice, coffee and croissants for just about half price.
Wifi worked well for us and the folks on the desk were very accomodating when we wanted to leave our luggage on the day of our checkout.
I would recommend this hotel to just about anyone looking for a good price on Paris hotels.

Room Tip: Our room was on the main street side and looked to be one of the larger units. Ask for a room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canadiancraftsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    149
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
21
95
50
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
312 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed there just 1 night, the price was one of the cheapest, but 55 euro for a room without bathroom is too much for me! The room was simple, the window overlooked the garbage, there was the sounds of love (i.e. sex) from the next room, no wifi available. Actually, it is beyond the good level, and I would not recommend it unless there is no other options.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank comnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I stayed last year for one night at the Viator near the Gare Lyon. Nice room. A little nicer than my stays on the Left bank so similar tariff. Good value. More than just bread and coffee at breakfast. Nice refrig with yogurt and fruit. The intent of my visit was to go to the Opera Bastille. Wait until 45 minutes before the Opera and you can buy tickets from the window. Just a short walk from the Viator. Only problem is that the subway lines on this side of the Seine are much more crowded than those serving thew Left Bank.

Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank JLP_TJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I think it’s important to make something clear. There are two different hotels called both “ Viator” in Paris, one must be awfully horrible, while this one, in rue Parrot, very close to gare de Lyon is a very good hotel as a two stars.
I deeply recommend it for travellers arriving by train to gare de Lyon or for a short stay in Paris.
I have been there already several times and I have always found very clean and comfortable rooms. Mostly the 204 , 304 and 404 which are relatively large rooms for Paris standard, with a large window and a nice large bathroom.
The bed is very comfortable, TV set is brand news and works well, there are many clean towels and I have not any negative remark.
The breakfast is a bit banal, but correct. I took it only once, because I usually have just a croissant and a cup of black coffee and I preferred to take it in a nearby café.
The staff is very kind and I have absolutely no complaints about anything.
I had been in three stars hotels in Paris which were much less comfortable and clean than this one.
The only problem is that rooms might be a bit noisy if one keeps windows open, because they are overlooking Rue de Lyon leading to Gare de Lyon with rather huge traffic during day and night.
The area is not too dangerous at night, anyway it’s not worse than many other areas in Paris, there is a sex shop in front of the hotel, but it doesn’t t disturb anyone actually.
It’s possible to take metro at Gare de Lyon station, only few metres away or also walk directly to place de la Bastille, which is within walking distance.
I think the negative comments (few) I read here were destined to the other Hotel Viator, not to this one, otherwise I could not understand what motived them

Room Tip: Rooms 304 and 404 are very nice and rather large
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank VioletBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We had a lovely long weekend in Paris and our hotel room at the Viator made it even better!

Our top floor room 606 had a large double window that allowed a decent view over the neighboring rooftops all the way to the Bastille monument. The room was cozy (as are most Paris apartments), but was equipped with a large bathroom and shower, as well as a small closet, LCD TV, desk and chair.

The staff was very helpful allowing us to use their internet connection to print several vouchers we'd forgotten. We tried the free WIFI on our mobile phone, but it didn't work and we didn't lose sleep over it. Breakfast was hearty, including pastries, baguettes, cheese, cereal, tea, yogurt and more.

The hotel is right next to Gare du Lyon, which allows for many combinations of metro and RER lines around the city. Consider taking the A and D RER lines directly to Chatelet or Etoile instead of the slower metro line 1.

Overall, a great stay and many others think the same as this hotel was completely booked two of the four nights we were there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thorYorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

First of all, the location of the hotel is great. We went by car and had no trouble getting into Paris (as the hotel is situated quite close to the peripherique), and a very good parking is nearby. Nevertheless you're close to the centre, and walking by foot to the Marais is no problem (on the way you'll pass the Bastille metro station to head off to other directions). The neighbourhood is very nice (and comfortable to walk through at night), the Viaduct des arts is right around the corner. The staff was really friendly (we spoke french though), and the room was okay - quite small, but very clean and giving a 'Paris-feeling' with a high window and a view over the roofs of Paris. Our room was situated next to the elevator, which caused a bit noise at night though. Also a minus was the mattress (an old one with springs). But for 2 nights that's absolutely doable. After all I think it's a good place for someone who wants to stay in a clean and safe surrounding with good and quick access to the rest of Paris.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germiston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

This establishment is a rip-off. They took 80 Euros of of money. They do not deliver what they promise. We left and found another hotel.

Stay away at all cost. Do not even do business with organisations that refer people there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blindsniper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#578 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#530 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#970 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#1,077 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Diderot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon

Property: Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon
Address: 1 rue Parrot, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #579 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Viator Paris Welcome to the Hotel Viator Paris The hotel Viator Paris, in the 12th district of Paris, is located just a few steps from << Gare de Lyon>> and just a few minutes walk from "Bastille" square, an ideal location, wether for a business trip or a leisure stay. The hotel Viator Paris, welcomes you in a beautiful Haussmann building whose architecture with stone facades and balconies missed the second and the fifth floor, his style contributes to the image of Paris. The hotel Viator Paris, offers you a spacious lobby open to the living room, elegant and bright, where you can enjoy a relaxing time. Nestled in a comfortable chair, you will have the opportunity to view our newspapers, available in several languages, just as you can enjoy a business center space where a computer is available, with Wi-Fi free in the entire hotel. You will be seduced by the charm of typically Parisian hotel with attentive staff at your convenience, will offer the opportunity to spend an unforgettable stay in the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viator Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing