We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, stellar staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Michelet Odeon
Ranked #698 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, stellar staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our room was very comfortable, modern, and quiet. Location is great: A few blocks from the metro stop, and from there you can go almost anywhere. Walking to nearby sights was pleasant.

Some reviews complained about the staff. Our experience was very different. The staff were very helpful to us. We had no problems with our credit card reservations made directly with the hotel via email from the U.S. We did, however, have a different credit card problem during our journey, one which was in no way caused by or related to Hotel Michelet Odeon. What we appreciated was the response we received when we thought we would have to postpone our arrival. And then when we arrived, we worked out payment--first without credit card, and then with the newly issued credit card number. The staff could not have been more helpful: they catered to our needs and soothed our anxiety. Besides, they were always cheerful and interacted pleasantly with us whenever we were with them.

We were very pleased with the breakfast. It was very satisfying and promptly available. What a nice way to start the day. Now, more than a month later, we still miss the chocolate croissants and cappucinos in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    145
    42
    14
    11
See reviews for
84
92
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We chose this hotel based on Rick Steves's recommendation. Without having been to Paris before, we didn't know where to stay or quite what to expect. Located on the Left Bank near Luxembourg Garden, Hotel Michelet is a short walk from the Odeon metro stop. Rick is right, though: in this area, it's either 5-star hotels, or this.

The hotel was good but not great, and overall not many complaints. The front desk staff didn't speak much English; only one man was able to communicate with us. Although they offer breakfast for a price, we opted to eat out each day. Lots of bakeries nearby to choose to grab something small. Pro tip: walk across from metro to Rue Bucci to find quite shops and lively little eating area. We didn't find this until a few days into our stay!

The basics:

* The bathroom in our room was small but clean. We chose to have shower-only, so keep in mind we didn't see what the tub option looked like.

* Beds were comfortable. Traveling as brother and sister we though they were a little close, but hey, space is a premium in Paris (apparently).

* From what we could tell, there didn't seem to be an a/c unit. It wasn't necessary for us, though it would have been to have climate control rather than using the cute little window for air circulation. We faced a side straight, which, although seemed empty, in fact proved noisy during naptime and at night. Would be worried about staying here during hot months.

* The internet worked, but was slow and required re-authenticating every time.

* There were not a ton of outlets by the bed. Enough in the room, but would have been nice to have a few more. We were able to charge two phones and a camera as necessary.

* There was no safe in the hotel room. Since this is an older hotel, it used regular keys which stayed at the front desk during the day. Our items were safe, but it was a risk we took.

Overall, we liked the hotel, but really don't have anything to compare it to in Paris.

Room Tip: Not sure! We imagine facing certain streets would be noisier. Try to face Luxembourg Garden if possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I booked this hotel via Paris hotels.com using a € MasterCard for the deposit. Within days the deposit being debited, about 10 payments had gone out of my account, several to French merchants, to a total in excess of 2000€. I usually do not use this card for internet payments, only chip and PIN € transactions, but on this occasion needed to use this card. Also the payment, which was in € was debited from my card in £ sterling, ( some machines when they pick up a foreign card offer this choice to the client...and on the receipt it always shows they were offered the choice). This option is always at a premium exchange rate in favour of the merchant and is a small scam. I was not offered a choice, and in fact had no reason to choose this as the card is from a € account. it was then converted back on my statement to € , thus costing me two conversions and the bill was 30€ more than I should have paid.
I cancelled my Mastercard and their fraud department took up the case. I also cancelled the hotel payment, and when I received a brand new card, I made the first transaction to Paris hotels.com This time, not only did the hotel payment get taken from the account but ca 6000€ .. again often to French merchants.
I have e mailed hotel manager about both of the above, but he is both in denial and indifferent.

So, for this reason I would recommend great caution when booking with a card, check your statements immediately as somewhere, be it the hotel or Paris hotels.com, there is a huge internet security problem.
This experience did contribute to my negative view of the hotel, but objectively, the hotel was average. In general, Paris hotels and service are poor value. Paris seems to almost make a virtue of it's surly service and quality in the tourist industry. I work in the travel trade and have a lot of experience of travelling in France, and when it comes to quality of hotels, food, service etc Paris lags well behind most other European capitals. The famed food is not better, ( in fact not as good as!) other European cities. The one thing Paris has to offer, to state the obvious, is that it is Paris.. a stunning city. But not stunning service.
This hotel does have, as other reviewers note, a great and convenient location, but it's facilities are minimal. Price, is not good value, but hard to find something in this location that is.
I would not have booked this hotel, never mind return to it, only the trip was a gift to a friend and she was keen to return to this hotel for it's location, which would allow us to easily do the things we wanted.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delphine75006, Propriétaire at Hotel Michelet Odeon, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Dear Customers,

We sincerely regret the inconvenience that some of you have had through the booking on-line.

Be aware that we had to outsource the booking online. It is mandatory for small hotels like us.

Therefore, when you "click" on booking online you were automatically redirected to a web host that made the connection between our availabilities and requests. Therefore, your credit card number was given to this provider, and he was confirming your booking and sending you a confirmation.

The host with whom we have worked for a decade has been hacked. Whenever we are aware through your emails or review sites, we let them know consistently and they assured us the issues were solved. It is clear that problems remained recurring.

We have choosen a new provider since Sept. 18, 2014 and we work with Site Minder, booking engines and solutions.

What we have learned is that all these sites are by definition a prime target for criminals on the Internet, and that zero risk does not exist.

I would add that people who have contacted us directly and have sent us their card via the hotel address hotel @ micheletodeon.com have never had to worry. The people who have access to sensitive information are between 3 and 25 years of service and for us, their honesty is not currently engaged in any way.

We are a family business established for over 50 years and we are the first to deplore such acts that put our reputation, our work and our efforts in jeopardy.

We sincerely hope that these problems are now behind us and we present again our apologies to all those who have suffered like us from these "hackers".

The Hotel Michelet Odéon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheathampstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our second visit to the Hotel Michelet Odeon. The manager remembered us, and we were upgraded to a renovated room and large bathroom on the top floor. The breakfast buffet is very good for Paris. The hotel is extremely well located near the Odeon metro station, direct line to Gare du Nord. It's also near the Jardin du Luxembourg and restaurants in the Latin Quarter. We will definitely return. It's good value for that area of Paris.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

this was a mediocre hotel at best. the staff was very unfriendly, and seem to be bothered if you asked for help. the positives were mainly location and a decent breakfast buffet. for paris , the price was fair.

Room Tip: dont expect to much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sundries123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Super value for money - a two star hotel in a five star location! Our room looked out on to the Place de l'Odéon and the theatre. The Jardins de Luxembourg are around the corner as is a Metro station and loads of restaurants. Rooms in Paris are generally small and so was this one - but the WC and shower were separate which was a nice surprise. Recently renovated and very clean. I was there for a city break with a friend - I'd definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Place del'Odéon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nizuend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

A modern, small hotel in a relatively quiet location. Short walk to the Jardins du Luxembourg. Lots of good, Parisienne restaurants nearby. Very clean rooms and they are not a bad size by Paris standards. It is a less than ten minute walk to the metro.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeP039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Grand Hotel des Balcons
Grand Hotel des Balcons
#437 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#164 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#359 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clement
Hotel Le Clement
#574 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#666 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Michelet Odeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Michelet Odeon

Property: Hotel Michelet Odeon
Address: 6 Place de l Odeon | Saint Germain des Prés, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #698 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Michelet Odeon 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel in the heart of Saint Germain des Pres, in a pleasing decor and at a very reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Michelet Odeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelet Odeon Hotel
Michelet Odeon Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing