We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location to see Paris near train for CDG airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A Room in Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Room in Paris
Ranked #17 of 130 Paris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Catskill, New York, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location to see Paris near train for CDG airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Spent 3 nights at A room in Paris after 8 day trip Hiking Tour of Mont Blanc in the Alps. Peet met us at the door and welcomed us into his special place. We read all the reviews of this place and yes the lift(elevator) is exceptionally small to but only to us Americans who travel with too much stuff. If you look at the architecture the lift was designed to preserve the wonderful spiral staircase. Our host served a home baked fruit tart and a cheese treat along with croissants, fresh fruit, cereal, cheese,bread meat ,eggs and delicious coffee and homemade yogurt. Peet's tip to get us on the right bus to visit Eiffel tower was great. We would definetly return to a room in Paris, perhaps in fall or spring. We stayed in room 4 facing the courtyard. It was very large and quiet at night, with refrig and microwave. We dined at places suggested to us and all were exactly what we were looking for. We were even offered a little breakfast "travel" bag the morning we left for airport.

Room Tip: Room 4 is largest room facing courtyard. Quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TMBeurope2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    55
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
105
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

This was the third time we returned to stay at a Room in Paris and the hospitality we received from Peet was just a reminder why we would never stay anywhere else! Our room was large, airy and beautifully decorated in that art nouveau style that just reminds you of the beauty of the city. The beds were so comfortable after a long day of sightseeing, and now the room includes a refrigerator so you can have wine and cheese at the end of the day. The location near Gare Du Nord is perfect for taking the metro into the city or catching a train to Giverny, Rouen or a number of sites for day trips. There is also a grocer and pharmacy just around the corner. Breakfast in the dining room, with 15 feet ceilings and large windows, and lovely antique furnishings serves as a relaxing and beautiful way to start your day. On the overcast days candles are lit at the breakfast table which creates a lovely ambiance.The breakfasts are delicious – he makes the best croissant and French toast. The coffee is to die for and the conversation is always interesting. Peet and Thierry are the most gracious hosts, making sure that everyone’s needs are met and they are multilingual so they speak with everyone in their native language, putting each visitor at ease. During our most recent visit we were hoping to make a day trip out of the city and Thierry gave us wonderful suggestions on what to see in Rouen which allowed us to make good use of our time and spend a day without being hurried. A Room in Paris is an oasis because of their kindness and hospitality and is as unique as the finds you will discover in Paris. In fact, it is the best treasure we’ve found in the City and this is why we will always return. It is like coming home.

Room Tip: A Room in Paris is located just up the Street from Gare Du Nord which makes travel in and around Par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 343LisaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I am loathe to write this review as we found a little gem that we don't necessarily want the world to know about but as it would do a great disservice to the hosts I am going to write the truth!!

We had a great stay at A Room in Paris. To our delight it was no more than a 3 mins walk from Gare du Nord (5 mins with having to wait to cross the streets!!) and had a lift if we required it.

Peet the host is lovely, very helpful and a great cook too!

Our room was big and airy and we had plenty of room. It was not ensuite but it really didn't bother us too much as there were a couple of bathrooms we were able to use when required. We were slightly worried about the noise on Rue Lafayette as with the windows open it was quite noisy, well it is a major street, however when the windows were closed at night we heard nothing.

Breakfast was the usual array of fresh croissants, ham, cheese, cereal, orange juice, coffee/tea but Peet cooked a delicious 'surprise' for us each morning. Our favourite was definitely the French toast and if you are lucky enough to have it while you stay you won't be disappointed!

Gare du Nord is a major transport hub in Paris and from there any attraction in Paris is easily accessible. It really isn't a problem getting to anywhere from here.

There is a Leader Price supermarket on the corner of Rue Lafayette however we didn't find this supermarket in any way useful except for bottles of water. We did find a Carrefour City on the block up (between Gare du Nord and Leader Price - A Room in Paris is a couple of doors the other side of Leader Price) which had everything we could have possibly wanted. We'd recommend going there if you need anything.

We all agreed we would highly recommend staying at A Room in Paris - Peet is a great host, the location can not be beaten and we were truly comfortable during our stay here.

We wouldn't hesitate in going back to stay and will certainly be hoping there is availability for our next trip!

All in all highly recommended and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Don't be worried if your room is on Rue Lafayette....with the windows closed at night you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rettoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We rented the apartment that does not include breakfast. It is in the same building complex and has a nice elevator to get you up the 6 flights of stairs. We are a family of 4 with a 13 and 15yr olds and this place was cozy. It had everything you need but you have to really get along. The bed and sofa bed are comfortable and the bathroom has a nice shower. The kitchenette is a great bonus - very good use of space. The owners left us alone but were available if we needed them.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dahlia1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Peet was a great host! He provided recommendations and advice on getting around the city - using buses instead of the metro in order to sight see.
The breakfast was the best we had while in France - homemade yogurt, croissants, fruit/cheese.
We stayed in one room for two nights at the beginning of our trip with shared facilities and a private room for three nights at the end of our trip. Both were super charming!
Would most certainly return any time!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobrien8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. It is located on good location, just 5 minutes walk from Gare du Nord station. It's the large station and very easy to go everywhere. (You can go out from the station at the largest exit, go straight and turn right when you see Leader Price supermarket). Pete is very nice and bake a great croissant.

However, I recommend that you should not buy hi-brand and bring it to the hotel. I am threatened for money by black guys when I am back from shopping at LV shop with many LV bag. Fortunately, concierge come to help us on time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thipsusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We found out about Peet's 'A Room in Paris' via trip advisor. We are happy that we decided to stay there because it was a lovely welcome to Paris. It felt like we were staying at a friend's place, instead of a hotel, because as we knew from the reviews and correspondence with Peet prior to our visit, this is his home. It was comfortable and we were very well taken care of. Breakfast was prepared every morning, by Peet himself, and although we told Peet that he didn't have to worry about having our room cleaned and the towels changed every day, he saw to it that it was. The entire place is clean and very nicely decorated. The wifi was a little wonky in our room, but I understand that that is the case with FreeWifi (the network) in France in general. We were also given the Wifi password to the Wifi in the apartment which was very reliable. We felt very safe and enjoyed the conversations we had with Peet and his other guests over breakfast. He gave us some good advice about getting around in Paris. If we return to Paris (before we have kids), we will surely get in touch with Peet again, and hope that he will have a room available for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanna-Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Scarlett
Hotel Scarlett
#24 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#25 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel Montmartre
Hotel Montmartre
#25 of 130 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
La Villa Paris
#3 of 130 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Les3chambres
Les3chambres
#1 of 130 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Room in Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Room in Paris

Property: A Room in Paris
Address: 130 rue la Fayette, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the city centre of Paris 5 beautiful rooms, in an apartment Haussmann style, with beautyful chimneys, wooden floors and decorated ceilings. Next to de gare du Nord, with all means of transport. Simply the best way to be in Paris! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your A Room in Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Room In Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing