We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haussmannienne Beauty....”
Review of A Room in Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Room in Paris
Ranked #17 of 137 Paris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2009

This is a beautifully, newly renovated Haussmannienne flat. The rooms are large and airy with their high ceilings and lots of natural light. Decor is very tasteful: the artwork, furniture, linens and lighting. Super comfy beds, too. Peet and Thierry are very helpful and accommodating, not to mention the place smelled wonderful walking into Peet's homemade jams simmering !

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monunisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for A Room in Paris
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2009

Stayed 5 days with my son in March. I had caught a flu in London and felt awfull upon arrival. The host truly went out of his way to help me feel better, get a doctor and even helped me get my medicin!! He saw to every detail ! I cannot thank him enough, and so does my son, who could then tour Paris on his own for the couple days I stayed "home".
The premises are spotless clean, so very spacious! and continental breakfast is great. The location is very central, very safe, and just a few stations away from most attractions. This will definitely be my choice for future visits !

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cordobesaforexport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

My friend and I have just returned from Paris last week. Staying in A Room in Paris made it very convenient for us to go anywhere as it's only 5 minutes walk from Gare Du Nord. The property owner was quite friendly. He also helped recommend us, first timers, nice places to visit. The hotel itself was very nice and clean and we didn't have any problem with our stay at all. I would recommend my friends to stay there if they want a nice, convenient and inexpensive place to stay in Paris.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Chally39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

My partner and I stayed at this wonderful B&B over the New Years Holiday. The room we stayed in was very large and comfortable, and the location was just perfect. Each morning we were greeted with smiling faces and great food. The hosts were so friendly and inviting - I felt like they were family. Everyone went out of their way to help make our Paris trip spectacular. I would stay there again and I would recommend this place as a great value.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank PeterCata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

We did not have an entirely pleasant stay at "A Room in Paris". Based upon advertising done be the proprietors of "A Room in Paris" we knew, in advance, that this B&B catered somewhat directly to gay travelers. This was of no consequence to us as we were simply looking for a well-placed, reasonably priced B&B that could accommodate our family of 5 adults and one 3-year-old child. However, when the host had friends over and conducted loud conversations in an adjoining room late (11:30) in the evening and I complained, he appeared to believe I was complaining about his choice of male friends rather than the fact that his activities were keeping us from some much-needed sleep. (Three of us had just come from Frankfurt where we competed in the European Ironman Championships.) He reacted with some rude remarks and slamming of doors (despite being well aware of a 3-year-old attempting to sleep). While the other aspects of the accommodation were acceptable, his reaction to my complaint, which was made firmly but politely, was entirely unacceptable. When I pointed this out, I received no apology but was told that I had neglected to remember that I was just a guest in his residence.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Tritraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroominparis, propriétaire at A Room in Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2008

I am really very disappointed by this reaction. Every day I try to do my utmost to please my guests, I call it my vocation! It is a joy and every day again it is a pleasure to have happy guests. I guess 95% of my guests are adorable. 4% are guests that should have gone to a hotel and not have stayed in a chambre d'hôte! The remaining 1% are people that are horrible and misbehaving nasty guests.

These guests were all very nice, except for the father, he didnot greet me upon arrival, never said hallo when we met, or even at MY breakfast table. The evening I entertained some private guests I had checked several times if my guests (we were 4 and having dinner) had gone to sleep; they had not., so we continued, 5 minutes after I checked for the last time, this gentleman nearly torn down the curtains in opening the communicatin doors, and told us to shut up in a very nasty way. The next day he couldnot get into the building. He simply had not listened when I explained the entrance procedure. He made another nasty remark. that was reason for me to tell him that although he paid for his stay he was still a guest in my house, and that he was supposed to be polite, just like the other people in his party!
After this incident they stayed a few more days and he became a nice and agreable guest........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Het is wel in een drukke stad dus geluid van de straat is er aanwezig. Als het raam openblijft zijn...
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ralf V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#32 of 1,804 in Paris
1,450 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#98 of 1,804 in Paris
647 reviews
La Villa Paris
#3 of 137 in Paris
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Le 1er Etage Marais
Le 1er Etage Marais
#2 of 137 in Paris
285 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Les3chambres
Les3chambres
#1 of 137 in Paris
369 reviews
Eden Lodge Paris
#32 of 137 in Paris
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Room in Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Room in Paris

Address: 130 rue la Fayette, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range: £82 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the city centre of Paris 5 beautiful rooms, in an apartment Haussmann style, with beautyful chimneys, wooden floors and decorated ceilings. Next to de gare du Nord, with all means of transport. Simply the best way to be in Paris! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A Room in Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Room In Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing