We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst !!!!!”
Review of Hotel Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sofia
Ranked #1,440 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The Worst !!!!!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I cannot give this Hotel any rating because it was SO BAD, stayed with my husband and another couple, we asked for an extra pillow and were told there were none, then the waiter pulled a round cushion from the lounge in the bar and gave it to me - it was filthy !!

The breakfast was the usual, crusty bread and jam, I asked could we have a croissant for my husband who has eating problems, the next day we got one and that was the final day so he had to go without anything to eat each day.

The rooms were filthy, dirt all over the dark blue carpet and the bathroom was a whole new experience, it was so small even for Paris, that we had to go right inside before we could shut the door and even then it was hard to shut.

I felt like sleeping with my clothes on it was so bad. There were also many undesirables leaning against the front door of the Hotel which made it a really sleazy area and quite scarey especially for women.

Never ever again !!!!!!!!!! Please be warned.

Room Tip: Don't book a room here !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GWJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    88
    51
    28
    24
See reviews for
65
70
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
214 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel was great, the hotel manager was attentive and very friendly and the room was great bigger than expected, the bathroom is very modern and practical and the breakfast was sufficient and nice.
All I can say is that I recommend this hotel to every visitor to Paris, its right by the metro, its got everything from free wifi to breakfast and its clean and modern and the staff is simply amazing! Thank you for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. Room was fresh and clean when we came, bed was really comfortable. Well-designed small bathroom. Free WiFi! Subway (Barbès) is near by, it's just 5 min of walking. Metro line 2 direction Porte Douphine goes directly to Triumphal Arch.
Good price for one star hotel in Paris!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked this hotel through booking.com, its a short walk from the barbes metro, Mohammed at the front desk was kind enough to let us check in early, so we could freshen up. the only thing is that there is no elevator. and the winding old tiny staircase is horrible especially when u have heavy luggage to carry. the rooms are tiny, but we weren't planning to spend much time in the room. the shower was amazing, the room is heated, so it gets very hot during the night, we left the window open. the breakfast is simple, coffee, juice, rolls and croissants, which come from the local bakery.

Overall my husband and i were very happy, there is a carrefour nearby, sacre coeur is walking distance.

thanks
denise

Room Tip: get a room on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dviegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I chose this hotel because it offered room With Attached bathroom within 100 euros (which is very difficult to find in Paris) and because it is Close to moulin rouge where i attended a show. The hotel is very clean and Nice. They allow to store luggage before check in time and use their toilet and wifi. The bathroom was modern,clean and room was spacious. there are no Telephone and closet in the room and no lift. the staircase is very narrow and spiral. it was a bit horrifying for me as my room was on the 5th floor. The Girls working in the day time at the reception are very Nice and helpful. the guys working at night are not so. Though I paid my due in full before, the guy at the reception told me i Owe them charge of one more night! I started shouting and he said ok! I dont know if he was being shrewd or there was misunderstanding. Anyway, i would suggest to Clear the bill at day time With Lydia and surely get a receipt.
They served simple breakfast, but it was good. there is a supershop just around the corner.
Though the area was a red light District, i didnt face any problem though being a single female traveller.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the ground floor if you want to avoid stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TasiraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
293 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Hotel Sofia renewed the complete hotel in the year 2010. Situated only 1 station from Gare du Nord, the hotel is ideal for train travellers. Subway station Barbes is a 4 min walk. Sacre Coeur at 10 min. Peripherique 10 mins by car.
There's no elevator, so keep this in mind when you mark your preferences on booking (we where on 4th floor.....).
The hotel can make parking reservation for you in case that you arrive by car: be sure to do so!!
Rooms are big for Paris propotions. Clean too. Bathroom just big enough.
If you want more quiet rooms: ask for room not at streetside.
Sofia offers very good value for the price, especially for a city like Paris!

Room Tip: To avoid street noise: ask for an inner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gurt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Best Western Hotel Le Montmartre Saint Pierre
Montmartre
Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre
Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre
#1,294 of 1,802 in Paris
247 reviews
Montmartre
Montmartre Clignancourt
Montmartre Clignancourt
#1,320 of 1,802 in Paris
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel Bellevue Paris Montmartre
Montmartre
Hotel Andre Gill
Hotel Andre Gill
#1,185 of 1,802 in Paris
198 reviews
Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
#512 of 1,802 in Paris
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sofia

Property: Hotel Sofia
Address: 21 rue de Sofia, 75018 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,440 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sofia 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilled, neat and homely hotel just off Boulevard Barbès in the 18th district of Paris, a brisk 5 minute stroll from Butte de Montmartre and the Sacré Coeur, located in a lively multicultural area, with cosy, simply furnished rooms and youthful laid-back vibe, plus metro and bus services close by. Hotel Sofia is situated 200 metres from the metro station Barbes-Rocheouart (lines 2 & 4), and is approximately 15 minutes on foot from Gare du Nord. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing