We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice impression”
Review of Hotel Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sofia
Ranked #1,471 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice impression”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Very clean inside, good continental breakfast.
Located in a dangerous area(Algerian area), a lot of traffic, busy area not too quiet but closed to the metro station.
Very friendly staff, helpful.
Clean room, sheets, bathroom, hot water.

Room Tip: Large room and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Sfeatcu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    89
    52
    29
    25
See reviews for
67
71
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We got the suite on 3rd floor and with out a lift it was difficult to get the luggage up.
But, the room was clean with clean sheets with change of towels every second day.
The kitchenette was very handy for breakfast and other things as we had children.
The bathroom smelt of sewage though and we had to leave the window open!
Handy location with proximity to metro, and Garedu nord.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kauserjanshaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadley, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The room was good sized, the design was cool with a modern vibe, especially the bathroom, and the shower was hot with decent pressure. The staff was pleasant, I didn't have the breakfast so I can't comment on that. The only downside was I couldn't find any sort of thermostat/radiator, and to stay cool we had to sleep with the screenless window wide open. This was in may, so maybe they had'nt turned it on yet, but it made things very noisy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Trillium H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I prefer generally to stay over by Pere Lachaise when in Paris but my favorite hotel there wasn't available so I branched out. Hotel was fine, staff was fine. Breakfast - nothing outstanding but decent. The best part was how close to the metro this hotel was situated. I wouldn't not recommend this for a stay in Paris it's just my own personal preference is not to be in this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellharbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I cannot give this Hotel any rating because it was SO BAD, stayed with my husband and another couple, we asked for an extra pillow and were told there were none, then the waiter pulled a round cushion from the lounge in the bar and gave it to me - it was filthy !!

The breakfast was the usual, crusty bread and jam, I asked could we have a croissant for my husband who has eating problems, the next day we got one and that was the final day so he had to go without anything to eat each day.

The rooms were filthy, dirt all over the dark blue carpet and the bathroom was a whole new experience, it was so small even for Paris, that we had to go right inside before we could shut the door and even then it was hard to shut.

I felt like sleeping with my clothes on it was so bad. There were also many undesirables leaning against the front door of the Hotel which made it a really sleazy area and quite scarey especially for women.

Never ever again !!!!!!!!!! Please be warned.

Room Tip: Don't book a room here !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GWJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel was great, the hotel manager was attentive and very friendly and the room was great bigger than expected, the bathroom is very modern and practical and the breakfast was sufficient and nice.
All I can say is that I recommend this hotel to every visitor to Paris, its right by the metro, its got everything from free wifi to breakfast and its clean and modern and the staff is simply amazing! Thank you for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Best Western Hotel Le Montmartre Saint Pierre
Montmartre
Hotel Andre Gill
Hotel Andre Gill
#1,229 of 1,800 in Paris
200 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre
Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre
#1,263 of 1,800 in Paris
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Residence Hotel Villa Montmartre
Montmartre
Montmartre Clignancourt
Montmartre Clignancourt
#1,273 of 1,800 in Paris
278 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Bellevue Paris Montmartre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sofia

Property: Hotel Sofia
Address: 21 rue de Sofia, 75018 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,471 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sofia 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilled, neat and homely hotel just off Boulevard Barbès in the 18th district of Paris, a brisk 5 minute stroll from Butte de Montmartre and the Sacré Coeur, located in a lively multicultural area, with cosy, simply furnished rooms and youthful laid-back vibe, plus metro and bus services close by. Hotel Sofia is situated 200 metres from the metro station Barbes-Rocheouart (lines 2 & 4), and is approximately 15 minutes on foot from Gare du Nord. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing