We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic yet worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Voltaire Republique
Ranked #1,661 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very basic yet worth every penny”
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

Number of stays: 6x since 2010
With: Hospitality/Tourism students and faculty (group of 40-55 persons)

Yes, the hotel is a 2-star property with utmost basic amenities only and may be a little expensive because of that. However, its location is excellent with Republique and Oberkampf metro stations on either side making it VERY ACCESSIBLE. NEVER have we experienced any rudeness or discourtesy from ANY STAFF. Service may be non-existent or minimal at best, but they have always assisted us in the most satisfying manner. Yes, the linens and towels are old, but they were not worn out or dirty; and we never had a dirty room. And yes, I agree that the rooms need some renovation. But as it is now, I think the hotel is just fine.

Helpful?
2 Thank Geronio U
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    42
    69
    49
    70
See reviews for
48
76
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2013

As a poor college student studying abroad, I found HVR on hostelbookers. It really did the job for my friends and I who needed to stay on a budget and visit Paris. It has a great location, 5 minute walk from two different metro stations which made it very easy to get to the city. Linens were free and towels were restocked everyday. We stayed in a private 6 person room which to our surprise (and happiness) actually included a small kitchen with supplies. Had a decent sized bathroom, 4 twin beds, and a double that two of us shared. It wasn't super clean in the hotel but for 20 euro a night it was great and did the job for us. Only complaints were that wifi was not free (and when you do buy it, it doesn't work very well) and that the rooms were very cold (given we stayed in January) but we also had a small balcony which was a nice touch. People we saw staying seemed to be nice and in the same boat, not creepy. Overall it's great for the price as long as you aren't expecting too much.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poorcollegekids2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

we booked this hotel on price and location, and the fact that being disabled it had a lift. we arrived at 6pm and were put on the fourth floor but with the lift that would not be a problem as no stairs for me to do, the receptionist took our details and quickly asked us to pay for the room up front, having been travelling for many hours we paid up, for our two night stay, she clearly saw that i have walking problem, yet at no point did she say that from the next morning the lift would not be working (yearly maintenance). nor did she say anything after we unpacketed and went out for food. when we returned the night porter informed us that it was not working. 09.30pm woken up with the fire alarm ringing. had to walk down four floors inorder to be told it was a test. the gentleman on reception, says that we need to move rooms, we believe this was dew to my disability. we had to repack and move down to the 1st floor. the lift was never fixed durring our stay. day two fire alarm ringing yet again, never found out why. had we been told on arrival that the lift would not be working, i would have insisted on a 1st floor room, and been able to enjoy our city break at this hotel, however we felt they had had our money and stopped caring. the gentleman later said that someone would have moved our bags later, but this was only after we took them down to reception area in order to get the other room key as he would not give us the other key without getting the other one back. in both rooms things were broken ie lamp shades, or bulbs missing. in the first room i got bitten all over my legs. the 2nd room was cleaner but still broken lights.
the reception staff were very un helpfull, never happy and apart from the gentleman who we believe was the owner even he was not happy, in the two days we never saw the same member of staff twice.
we have been travelling to france for years and this was the first hotel that has ever asked for cash or payment before you stay, it is normally on check out.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank twoskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2012

The hotel was in à perfect location close to everything,the room was clean the service was good .close to god restaurangs to Metro end very service maindid personal so yes we are going to book again with easytobook.com

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Luis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights, very good location, but poor rooms, dirty, unconfortable beds. Strange smell. Not good value for money...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvr-paris, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Voltaire Republique, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thanks for your comments.
We are sorry about your feelings. Concerning the comfort of the beds it is a very subjective point. Any way the characteristic of our beds corresponds to the standard of 2 star hotels. For the strange smell that you mentioned, we were not aware. You could have informed us in order to solve it during the presence of the waitress. Respectfully yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This hotel is horrible!!!!!!! I've booked a double room for the first night and a twin for the following 3 nights.. On the first night, I simply couldn't sleep! The room was so moldy and dusty and I am asthmatic and have allergy to dust mite!
The pillows are unbelievably uncomfortable. They are long and hard and very smelly!
I got desperate after the night night and tried to cancel the rest of my booking but of course the receptionist, very rude by the way, argued that I should've cancelled it 48 hours before my arrival, so I managed to cancel only the last night, which was spent in a much better hotel!
It was a nightmare and the staff were not helpful at all and had that "I don't care" attitude throughout my whole stay!
I don't recommend anyone staying at Voltaire Republique, not even my worst enemy!

Room Tip: Don't ever stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvr-paris, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Voltaire Republique, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thanks for your comments but I am sorry to tell that you do not tell the truth.
I understand that you wanted to cancel lately your booking. This can happen, but you must follow the cancellation policy. It is not a good reason to say wrong things about our property.
Using the words that you used is absolutely not encouraging our the teams who are at the service of our customers.
But to transform your remark in a positive and pro active manner, we promise that we will be more careful to the feelings of our customers during their trip in our property. Respectfully yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Mary's Republique
Hotel Mary's Republique
#1,290 of 1,802 in Paris
475 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Luna Park Hotel
Luna Park Hotel
#1,267 of 1,802 in Paris
704 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,540 of 1,802 in Paris
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#870 of 1,802 in Paris
118 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#1,318 of 1,802 in Paris
112 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Picard
Hotel Picard
#1,480 of 1,802 in Paris
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Voltaire Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Voltaire Republique

Property: Hotel Voltaire Republique
Address: 10 boulevard Voltaire, 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,661 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Voltaire Republique 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Voltaire Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voltaire Republique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing