We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Ranked #19 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So lovely”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We just returned from a 5 day stay at the Palais Royal. It's a beautiful hotel, only 1/2 block from the Louvre, a wonderful location, nearby to so much within walking distance. The staff was so welcoming and helpful (especially the concierge with the cast on his hand......so sorry that I don't remember his name!). The rooms are lovely (we were in #201, but overlooks parking, so not the most picturesque) and the bed was very comfortable. We had a perfect stay there. My only complaint (and it's minor, but important) is that breakfast is not included. My husband travels all over the world for business and says this is incredibly uncommon. The continental breakfast they offer is about $45 US, per person! Other than that I have absolutely nothing but wonderful things to say about the Palais Royal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie D, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hotel du Palais Royal, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your nice comment that have been shared with the entire team.
Good news, from next November, the “Place de Valois” will be pedestrian so no more cars will be parked. We are hoping to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Emilie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    77
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
159
342
38
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have traveled some times in Paris and stayed in different hotels, but this hotel was the best! The stuff was incredibly courteous and accommodating! Really amazing stuff! This hotel is a boutique hotel, just 2 minutes from Louvre, recently renovated with high quality! The rooms are gorgeous, and very well set up.
Delicious buffet breakfast and the restaurant is also highly recommended with delicious French cuisine!
I recommend this hotel with absolutely no reservations!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nektarios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie D, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hotel du Palais Royal, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Sir,

It was our pleasure to welcome you. What a nice comment about the staff. It is the best thank you we can receive !
Kind regards,

Emilie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

It is not cheap but you know that when you book. To me, the experience ranks among the best in Europe and definitely in Paris. The rooms are modern, well equipped, very stylish (yes, small, but it is Paris!), modern, too. You cannot beat the location. Go for morning jogs along the Seine, stroll down Rue Saint-Honore for all the fashion shops or simply visit the Louvre. When tired, visit the wonderfully relaxing Palais Royal. Oh, and for the foodies: I have not experienced a better breakfast buffet with wonderfully attentive service. My top choice for Paris, and almost in itself worth the trip to this wonderful city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie D, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hotel du Palais Royal, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Sir,

What a nice comment, thank for sharing it. The entire team will be glad to welcome you back soon.

Emilie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We just got home from a wonderful visit to Paris. Our travel agent wisely recommended the Grand Hotel du Palais Royal and we were happy she did. From check in to check out everything was wonderful. The welcoming staff was always available to help with any needs and was always eager to provide assistance. The Concierge staff,especially Alexandre (in spite having his left arm in a cast),went above and beyond to provide food or touring recommendations and make reservations in wonderful hard-to-get restaurants. Malik provided wise "Parisian advice" Breakfast was included and was wonderful each day. Our room ( a Junior Suite) was large by Paris standards and lovely. The bathroom was good sized and well lit. The location is hard to beat.It is on a quiet street with the Louvre is just around the corner as is a major Metro stop . The Marais, St Germain and other great "hip" areas are within walking distance as are most major museums.
In summary, this is a wonderful place to stay with great staff, service ,rooms and location. We hope to return sometime soon!!

Room Tip: Our junior suite was excellent- certainly big by Paris standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickK18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie D, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hotel du Palais Royal, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for this nice feedback and your congratulations to Alexandre and Malik. Everyday we try to go above our guest expectations and we are so delighted when we reach our goal.

Awaiting the pleasure to welcome you back.

Emilie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is what a hotel should be... Nice room, good service, delicious food, conveniently located yet still quiet and tranquil. If you are a LOUVRE lover, you must stay here because it is just 5 minutes' walk and there is a side entrance en route that you can get into the LOUVRE with your Paris Pass fast and easy.The staff all speak good English and are very attentive and helpful. The room is nicely decorated, new and clean. This hotel is perfect. Breakfast was with excellent quality, delicious and the staff are cheerful and pretty. The only thing that needs improvement is the variety of food. We stayed four nights and they served almost the same food for breakfast each day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emyl0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie D, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hotel du Palais Royal, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for chosing our Hotel for your last Parisian stay and thank you for taking time to share your impression.
Awaiting the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

Emilie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was my first ever trip to Paris and a surprise weekend away with my partner.

I did my research before booking a hotel and finally chose to stay here because of it's excellent track record, location and boutique luxury style. From the moment we arrived we were very impressed! We arrived early but our room was made available a few hours before standard check--in time, the room itself was nicely furnished, quite small but had a lovely balcony which looked over the Paris rooftops.

The concierge team was outstanding! Benjamin and Alexandre gladly assisted us throughout the trip and organised some reservations at very sought after restaurants and clubs.

The hotel itself was in a perfect location, close to all the important sites. It was always very clean, beautifully furnished and smelt great.

I can't wait to return to Paris and when I do this hotel will always be first on my list.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie D, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hotel du Palais Royal, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your nice comments shared with the concierge team. We are very touched that you have chosen to stay at the grand Hotel du Palais Royal for your first stay in Paris.

We hope to welcoming you back for your second stay in the City of Lights.

Emilie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I loved my stay on Grand Hotel du Palais Royal. The staff is great, rooms is immaculate (and Big) and the localization could not be better. 2 minutes walking and you are on the Louvre. Don't think twice!

Room Tip: I chose the cheaper one and was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Figueric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie D, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hotel du Palais Royal, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for being our “Ambassador” on the net !
Awaiting the pleasure to welcome you back soon.


Emilie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#22 of 1,800 in Paris
618 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#11 of 1,800 in Paris
1,476 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#101 of 1,800 in Paris
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#36 of 1,800 in Paris
1,125 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#16 of 1,800 in Paris
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Palais Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Palais Royal

Property: Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Address: 4 Rue de Valois, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Paris
#10 Spa Hotel in Paris
#17 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#29 Business Hotel in Paris
#34 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel du Palais Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between the Louvre Museum and the Opera house, opposite the Palais Royal gardens, this 5 star hotel, a refined cocoon beautifully decorated by the renowned Pierre-Yves Rochon, is a must-visit address in the heart of Paris. Behind its majestic facade listed as a historical monument, the hotel counts 68 rooms and suites, some with spectacular views of Paris, a restaurant, a bar (afterwork, tea time, champagne bar), a business center, a fitness center with turkish bath and a SPA Carita. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel du Palais Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing