We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service and quality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Five Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Five Hotel
Ranked #488 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good service and quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

The hotel is near to the Metro so you can get everywhere. But if you would like to walk in the evenings there is not much to see except the little shopping street near by.

I would recommend a hotel near Sein or Eiffel for that.

the Rooms a very small but nice decorated though no minibar in the room.

The service/staff are all very nice and kind always ready to help you.

I think that the price is a little high all considered even though that is the case in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyKristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFiveHotel, The Reception Team at The Five Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear TonyKristensen,

We all appreciate that you took some time to write a few words on The Five Hotel, even though we can feel that you did not experience what we were expected!!!
Maybe your next stay with us will change your mind!

All the Best,

The Five Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    331
    93
    51
    21
See reviews for
43
757
95
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

We payed over 700 euros for 3 nights in a room which was smaller them our car park and a bath"room" which was smaller then a kitchen table. Honestly all lovely but totally overpriced. Though the staff was extremely nice and charming but still could not make up for the size "a la miniature".

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
05senses, Directeur général at The Five Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Dear Andreas F,

It is impossible to comparate The Five to your car park!!!!
Do not hurt my comment, but The Five is one of the most enormous charming boutique hotel in Paris thanks its stars and soul created by its staff. you wrote it : our staff is exceptionnal.
We do assume our size rooms, that's the reason why we are a cocoon, but Paris is full of small hotels rooms but Paris has The Five Hotel!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

As far as the hotel is physically concerned, there were no problems regarding our stay. The room was clean and tidy but small, well decorated, with a very comfortable bed and air con. Located in a quiet area within easy access of the public transport and not actually too far from the main attractions (depending on how much you like walking). The staff were very friendly and helpful too.
Now for the downside, we booked the hotel based on what I saw on the website, we expected something a lot more than what we actually got. Without the LED starlights the room is nothing special at all.
Overall, this is a nice, clean, functional hotel, but is TOO overpriced (in my opinion) and doesn't live up to the clever photography and lighting portrayed on the website.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lordaradon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This was our favorite place we stayed while on our European vacation! First off, the room was COLD which was such a relief since it was warm outside and air conditioners being out of the ordinary in businesses (and in apartments when we were staying with family!) The bed was comfy (although it was two beds pushed together, didn't bother us) and the shower was really good (I did like the color change stuff, too!) and the twinkle lights! The room wasn't huge but plenty big for us and the neighborhood was chill, short walk to the metro and to Luxembourg Gardens and a slightly longer walk to Notre Dame. It seems like most everyone speaks English in Paris but not everyone is nice about it- the staff here speaks English AND is nice!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFiveHotel, The Reception Team at The Five Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Shannon G,

We all wanted to thank you for your kind review!!! We are so pleased to read that we were your favorite place to stay in Europe!!!!!!! We truly hope your trip to our continent will remain in your memories for a while... And we also hope to see you for another opportunity then...!

Best Parisian Regards,

The entire Five Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Two to three days before we were to stay at the Five Hotel we received a phone call from them advising us that due to "water problems" we would have to switch to another hotel for part of our stay (The Seven Hotel). The Seven Hotel was a more expensive hotel and just down the block which was nice. The staff took care of moving our luggage over for us. While it was an inconvenience they at least tried to lessen it on us.

The Five Hotel itself is located on a very, very quiet street. It was so quiet that we didn't hear any street noise from our suite. In a busy city such as Paris this was great! What was most surprising is that at night there was a complete lack of people around. We felt extremely safe walking around very late at night.

We ended up walking from the hotel to all the major attractions without any sort of issue so it didn't seem that far away from anything. The metro stops were close by and we were able to take the RER from CDG airport straight to it (without transferring) and it was a short walk to the hotel.

The room itself was a little on the small side; it would be tough to spread out your luggage and that. This may be what some call "charming" but if you are used to typical North American hotel rooms it will definitely be smaller. Our room had a balcony which was definitely a plus. The fibre optic lighting effects are different, the neat factor wears off but I give them credit for trying something different. It was definitely clean however even though the "do not disturb" sign was put out the staff still came in on a daily basis.

We didn't take in the breakfast since there is always so much around that we can try however they seemed to be renovating their breakfast room at the time of our visit so they were offering breakfast in their "love capsule".

The WiFi was free for us however it was a little on the slow side. Perhaps being in North America I am used to high speed everywhere but I definitely noticed pages were slow to load.

Overall I think the hotel is great: everything was within walking distance (to us), the staff were friendly and the price was really good (booking through a third party site rather than the hotel site). While there were some drawbacks, such as having to move hotels partway through our stay, we were pleased with how this was handled (well beforehand and not just surprising us when we arrive).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor-EDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFiveHotel, The Reception Team at The Five Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Trevor-EDM,

Thanks a lot for your detailed review!!! We are sure it will help TripAdvisor readers to have a clearer idea on what is The Five Hotel...!

It is true our location is a great compromise between the calmness of our street, and the proximity of Parisian attractions! This is a great plus for our foreign guests: having a good sleep and discover the city!
Also concerning the Breakfast, we did come out with a different offer...! And it seems to please our guests!
Anyhow, we really hope that you enjoyed your stay in both the Five and the Seven Hotel!!! And especially that you had a unique experience!

Best Regards from Paris

The Five Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed here with my new wife for our Honeymoon in mid August. The hotel staff were very welcoming and they really couldnt do enough to help and always wanted to ask how the previous day had been and if we had enjoyed ourselves. The location is in the Latin quarter which is not too far from St Germain which I found to be one of the nicest pleaces to eat in Paris. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice quiet place to stay with staff who will try their best to ensure you get the best out of your stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaguleyBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFiveHotel, Reception Team at The Five Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear BaguleyBaz,

We all thank you for recommending us to the other TripAdvisor readers!!!! The Five team was glade -and touched- to see your comment, especially when you address nice human strengths!!! It is always a pleasure to welcome happy couples in our hotel.

And it will still be a pleasure next time!

Best Regards from Paris

The Five Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

This hotel is cute but over-priced for what it is. The staff are nice & do their best but when I was told the day before travelling that the hotel would be closed for the last night of my booking I was none too pleased. They did move us into one of the other hotels in the chain & gave us a bottle of champagne for the inconvienience but an inconvienience it was none the less- and I've read other reviews stating that people have had a similar experience here.

The staff were lovely but the experience was not what I'd hoped it would be when I booked this 'boutique' hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EliseGreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Seven Hotel Paris
#270 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Declic
Hotel Declic
#151 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Hotel Vice Versa
#296 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Passy
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
#294 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#185 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Platine Hotel
#275 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Five Hotel

Property: The Five Hotel
Address: 3, rue Flatters, 75005 Paris, France (Formerly The Five Hotel by Elegancia)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in Paris
#216 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#375 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Five Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 5 Hotel
Five Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing