We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for business”
Review of The Five Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Five Hotel
Ranked #676 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel is clean and the staff are all very friendly. But the environment of the hotel is more party driven. I couldn`t concentrate in a 2 hour of work I had to do. The rooms are small, but not a big deal if you just want to sleep and go.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ehotel.de
Thank Rarefeito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for the second part of our honeymoon. On arrival, we were greeted by extremely friendly and helpful staff and given half a bottle of champagne to celebrate.

Although our room was small (one of the glimmering rooms), it was really well-equipped with good storage, TV and excellent bathroom. The starlight effect over the bed and in the shower really makes the room feel very romantic and special, as do the scented petals scattered on the bed.

In terms of location, the hotel is a about 5 minutes walk from Les Gobelins metro station (line 7) - very easy to get to and from all the wonderful sights that Paris has to offer. Moreover, there are lots of things to see and do within walking distance of the hotel: the Latin quarter, Rue Mouffetard etc.

Wonderful service - had a very special time there.

Recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ALandVICTORIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
05senses, Directeur général at The Five Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hello ALandVICTORIA,

What a pleasure to read you!

We are very happy see that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel for your honeymoon!

You have chosen the perfect city, Paris, to enjoy it even more!

We thank you already for the recomendations made for our hotel, and we hope to welcome you very soon again,

All the best!!

Kind regards,

Tanya Maziul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Amazing hotel, the photos definitely don't reflect what the rooms actually look like but they're still really beautiful and so clean, lots of little extra touches made it very romantic and the view was lovely, do bare in mind that it's very petite but not at all an issue just adds to the comfort! the staff couldn't have done more for us or been more friendly, the bed was unbelievably comfortable i didn't even notice it was two pushed together until pointed out to me by my boyfriend, the metro direct to the eiffel tower is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel and the staff are more than happy to give you directions and a map, overall really wonderful and romantic!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
4  Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Almost every reviewer refers to the insignificant size of the rooms. So does this one, except that they are even tinier, perhaps a suitcase made for two, or maybe only one and one half persons. With that out of the way what can be said that's good? Not a great deal more unfortunately,but here are the good bits. The room was clean (what's to clean in such a small room one asks?) Beginning with the garish hotel entry, (is it a hotel or another kind of house?) The mad mix of very hot colors are odd indeed, but perhaps the designers are just having fun, so what's the harm. No room for a soap tray in the toothpaste tube masquerading as the bath (really) so personal toiletries go on the floor that's where. Location not all that central either; it's rather empty out there. And the price is high for what is delivered. So why even give 3 stars? Because one star is reserved for the outstanding front desk who do all possible (and succeed) in nearly making a virtue out of a not so good deal.

Room Tip: Get two rooms; one for each. It will be needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeromeoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

There seems to be a bit of debate about the quality of The Five, but I thought it was outstanding ... as long as you understand what you are booking and how much you are paying.

The room we occupied was extremely small, but we knew that when we booked and we were only staying for one night. However, the style and comfort made up for the small size. The little lights above the bed were neat (maybe a bit too bright!), the 'canopy' on the bed amused my wife, the shower was fantastic, and the mattress and pillows were extremely comfortable. Our room faced the street but was still quiet (except for ambulance sirens: be warned that the hotel is near several hospitals). The room was also extremely clean and in very good condition.

The room in which we stayed is one that is shown on the hotel website, and I can say the photo is accurate. I do not think the photo would have misled anyone as to the size of the room.

As we were only there for an evening and we know Paris well, we did not ask for much from the front desk staff. However, I am confident that they would have been happy to recommend restaurants, arrange tours, etc., and done everything with charm and a big smile. Tanya in particular was fantastic; we arrived rather early in the morning, but she managed to let us check in early to freshen up and change clothes before a day of shopping.

I also liked the location of the hotel. Sometimes, we prefer to stay in a hotel that is a little further away from the tourist areas. The Five is on a nice quiet street and the area has a feel of a part of Paris where people actually live. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby, and it is only about a five-minute walk to the Les Gobelins metro stop, which is on a line that will take you to the Marais, the Louvre and the Opera/Galleries Lafayette. Very handy! It's only a 10-minute stroll to the food shops/restaurants on Rue Mouffetard.

You may not want to stay in a rather small room for a week, but for a night or two, it was great. I also got a very good deal on the rate as part of a Eurostar holiday, so I thought the Five was well worth the money.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back may be quieter than those facing the street, but we still slept like babies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iskaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

It was the people that made the difference for me during a recent stay. Tanya and Manon looked after me when I had a sore leg, and made sure I was as comfortable as possible. The hotel was fun too, and comfortable, and located in a great part of Paris.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We spent three nights at the Five, and it was very nice. The staff there was VERY pleasant and helpful. The room was small by typical USA standards, but it was very well done, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was much too expensive for what was provided. Again, can't say enough about how great the staff was there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John-MaryAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Seven Hotel Paris
#297 of 1,803 in Paris
1,174 reviews
Passy
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
#371 of 1,803 in Paris
754 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#210 of 1,803 in Paris
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Platine Hotel
#260 of 1,803 in Paris
805 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Declic
Hotel Declic
#425 of 1,803 in Paris
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Five Hotel

Address: 3 Rue Flatters, 75005 Paris, France (Formerly The Five Hotel by Elegancia)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in Paris
#215 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#374 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £81 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Five Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 5 Hotel
Five Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing