We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location especially if you are staying over for a night!”
Review of Hotel Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Richmond
Ranked #1,435 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very handy to stay over considering I travelled from the south of France. It's opposite gare du nord station and it's not too far from sacre couer. The price is reasonable and just to let you know you have to walk out of the hotel and have your breakfast. It's a good hotel especially if you wanna stay just the night so I had no complaints

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed one night (19 April) in this old-style hotel which is across the road from the entrance to the Gare du Nord - literally two minutes from the Eurostar platform. The hotel was being renovated for the Spring, and the entrance was a bit hard to find! The staff were friendly and very helpful. Our triple room was a little shabby, but everything worked well, the bed was comfortable, the linen very clean and the windows were double-glazed (resulting in a quiet room). There was a spacious bathroom and good hot water etc. The lift is a little on the small side, but was very reliable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solomon257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This was by far the worst part of our trip to Paris! We originally booked at the New Hotel to get a Family Suite. When we checked in they had given us two double beds and were going to roll a twin into the only walking space there was. We told them this was unacceptable and that our confirmation clearly stated there would be 1 king and 3 twin beds. They were very rude when we told them this wouldn't work and then we had to go speak to the manager. At which time they then ushered us over to the Hotel Richmond, which they told us was owned by the same owners. So we walk up the 6 floors, because the elevator can only hold 1 person and 1 piece of luggage. Mind you this was all done in the dark because as a money saving measure the lights turn off after about 20 seconds. So you have to run up the stairs to get to the next light switch before you are in the dark again! We finally get to the room and it does have the said number of beds but all of the bedspreads have stains on them! Disgusting! It was late and we were tired so we figured we would make it through the night and check out the following morning (even though we had reservations for 2 nights). 3 of the beds had makeshift pillows on them covered in a sheet - I didn't unroll it to see what it was because I was afraid of what it might be. Only the one roll away bed had a normal pillow. The toilet was so close to the wall that you had to turn sideways to do your business! The key card had to be left in the wall to keep the lights on in your room and you had to leave the key at the front desk when you left the building. Thanks to that, when we went out to dinner we think they went through our belongings because we had left a credit card in our luggage (for emergencies) and we just found out that the day we checked in someone started making fraudulent charges on that card. Coincidence? I think not! When we called down the next morning and told them we would not be staying another day and would we be charged,the man at the front said "NO". So when we went to check out, of course his story changed. We were charged for an additional night! I would have paid anything to get out of that place! We went on to stay at the Hotel Novotel CDG which I would HIGHLY recommend, especially for families! I would NEVER recommend anyone stay at Hotel Richmond unless you were to do so by the hour (which I think they may do.)

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel - Hotel Novotel CDG - Perfect for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 665hollyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We had booked the Hotel New Gare du Nord, but got a room in this hotel, which we were told is part of the other hotel.
What can I say? Our stay, thank god only a 12 hours stop-over, was awful.
The room was small, although for four people. The bathroom was disgusting. I even could not bring myself to use the shower.The hotel urgently needs a makeover, which obviously just started. The corridor of the first floor,where our room was located, was a construction site and the room had an unbearable smell of colour and thinner.
The guy at the front desk was not competend for anything and our complaint about the smell was of no interest for him.
This is not a simple hotel but rather a dosshouse.
One can find much nicer hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We booked for this weekend two nights in het NEW Hotel in Paris, but were transformed to the Richmond hotel, same owner and around the corner.

The level of almost everything was lower than we formerly experienced at the New Hotel. The most credible thing was the bed, it was almost unsleepable. The room and the bathroom were small.
However, it was clean, the staff was very ind and in a perfect neighbourhood for walking and experiencing Paris. Close to public traffic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard-Rotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel out of the blue, because it was in front of the gare du nord station. The rooms are good, they clean mainly the bathroom and dont change the bedsheets, also the service wasnt bad they do of course require you to be very punctual when you check out. Overall, the price worth the place!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleurverte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. What can I say? Filthy, stank of paint and staff unhelpful. This place was so dirty I took photographs as I couldn't believe how bad it was. Close to gare du nord, but otherwise an awful choice. Nearly 80 euros for basically being given the opportunity to sleep in somthing in my view which is akin to a pigsty. No wifi and they had no desire to sort it out. Awful, awful, awful.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amime01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
#1,252 of 1,803 in Paris
373 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel des Belges
Hotel des Belges
#1,475 of 1,803 in Paris
46 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Kyriad Paris 10 - Gare Du Nord
Kyriad Paris 10 - Gare Du Nord
#1,579 of 1,803 in Paris
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
#792 of 1,803 in Paris
767 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Whistler
Hotel Whistler
#170 of 1,803 in Paris
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richmond

Address: 15 rue de Dunkerque, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,435 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £55 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Richmond 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PRIME PARIS LOCATION Conveniently situated opposite the Gare du Nord and the Eurostar Terminal in Paris, and close to the Metro and RER trains, the Richmond is a great budget hotel offering business visitors and tourists a top Paris location for exploring the French capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing