We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Richmond
Ranked #1,482 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked a room for the day 8AM to 5PM through SO Room.com. I had a lay over of 15 hours in Paris. Booking was easy. Sent email to the hotel after booking and reconfirmed with hotel a week prior also requested a room on the court side as I knew that the hotel is on a very busy street. All emails were answered promptly and in a very professional way.

Hotel is across the street from La Gare du Nord you can't miss it. Arrive at hotel around 9AM. The guy at the counter was very friendly.Check in was easy and fast. Had a room on the 5th floor court side as requested .Hotel has a very small but it worked fine.Room was very clean and I was very surprised that it was of a very good size compared to the other room I had in some hotels by the airport. Had a queen size bed and bed sheets were clean. A good size TV with table and chair. Free wi-fi washroom was of a good size with a bathtub and hot water running well the only thing is the glass move a lot and that can caused a mess with water overflowing the floor. It was very quiet, didn't hear the traffic at all.

Location is top notch, on the RER B easy access to and from airport. Lots of pubs and restaurants. Mind you I was there for only for 8 hours and can't say much about safety after 5PM but it is a safe area during the day. Overall for 55 Euros for the day for some rest and a few good showers it is a very good deal as I have paid for over 100 Euros by the airport for worst than that. Will I stay there for a longer period, I don't see why not. Check out was as easy and even faster than check in :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cobra_m35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

When looking for a hotel in Paris, I purposely looked in the area around Gare du Nord. I felt like I hit the jackpot because it is right across the street from the station with underground access to the metro just a few feet from the hotel entrance. (It is especially convenient if it is chilly or raining out. It is just a short run to the stairs.)
I also chose this hotel because they have rooms for 3 or 4 people. So, the room was spacious and the bathroom was surprisingly spacious. I have stayed at the nearby New Hotel which has smaller rooms. Richmond was more pleasant. Hot and cold running water. Airconditioning and heating. Elevator, cable TV, comfortable bed. The manager is insistent that you leave your room key when you leave, but other than that, the service was all right.
This is, by no means, a resort stay. This is not a honeymoon hotel. It is best used as a business hotel or a tourist hotel. Would I stay again? If the plan was to explore Paris or attend a conference, sure. Definitely convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplepinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

It seems as though you have to get lucky at this hotel, judging from the reviews. I myself have stayed at the hotel Richmond once and at the New Hotel twice (Hotel around the corner with the same owner), and have never had a bad experience. The room and bathroom were always clean and quite comfortable. The toiletries are great and changed daily.
At the Richmond, the bed was rather worn out so I asked the concierge/receptionist if he could do something about it. In the evening, another mattress was placed over the bed: problem solved.
the elevator is in fact quite small, but once you get to know Paris, you'll realize that most elevators are!
I have found the staff to be helpful and friendly at all times, especially at the New Hotel. The breakfast is quite simple but it's enough. There's baguette, Kiri, ham, cheese, jams, cornflakes, tea, orange juice and coffee. Though I would recommend breakfast in the cafes around the corner. It's cheaper and you have more to choose from.
The location is great, right in front of Gare du nord and near Gare de l'est. So it's easy to get to the exhibition fair with the RER, and it's not too far from restaurants and bars. Just be careful of pickpockets in the area.

All in all, it's a good place to stay at for little money (for Paris).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel is good for a place to stay without any frills. There is an elevator, a/c, and the rooms are clean. The locations is great as it is right across the street from Gare de Nord Station. Breakfast is included but you have to go around the corner to another hotel but it was quite nice. Overall it's a good place to stay if you want nothing fancy,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 280rayt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed a night in the double room with attached bathroom. Basic hotel with an affordable price. Located directly across Gare Du Nord train station. The entrance to the hotel is flanked by cafes on both sides. Good for a night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Thsi hotel has friendly, helpful staff who speak English well. Really great. Good local knowledge and willing to assist with questions re sightseeing and other things such as where to eat. It is an older hotel, well priced for Paris, and though the rooms are clean the decor is a bit dated and no tea making facilites in the room or breakfast on site. What compensates for this is that immdeiately outside in the street there are several restaurants which are perfectly nice to eat at, and in the area there are also fast food outlets such as Macca's and Subway. The location is absolutely brilliant as it is immediatedly across the street from Gare du Nord and the Eurostar. Metro also there and accessable from footpath outside of Hotel. I was quite happy to stay at this hotel and would stay there again as I really only needed a safe place to sleep after a big days sightseeing and to be able to walk across the street next morning to the Eurostar.

Room Tip: Probably ask if room has a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Its easy to find Richmond hotel cause its situated across Gare du Nord railway station.

Room is good enough for me since we spent most of the time outside.
Yes, i confirm, the lift is very small but for asians its good enough. I like the toilet cause its almost as big as our bedroom (we stay in room 051).
Hotel is sorrounded with cafe and bars. Bus station is close by; 2-3 mins walking distance from the hotel.
Can take bus number 42 (2 € per person) and stop at tour eiffel...Walking distance to eiffel tower and other great tourist spots.
I love Paris!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank khails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
#1,243 of 1,804 in Paris
378 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Kyriad Paris 10 - Gare Du Nord
Kyriad Paris 10 - Gare Du Nord
#1,591 of 1,804 in Paris
373 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
#770 of 1,804 in Paris
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Entrepôt
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#578 of 1,804 in Paris
194 reviews
Avalon Hotel Paris
#895 of 1,804 in Paris
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richmond

Address: 15 rue de Dunkerque, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,482 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £54 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Richmond 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PRIME PARIS LOCATION Conveniently situated opposite the Gare du Nord and the Eurostar Terminal in Paris, and close to the Metro and RER trains, the Richmond is a great budget hotel offering business visitors and tourists a top Paris location for exploring the French capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing